Telus IP issues and Netflix?! HELP! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-06-07, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: East Van
Posts: 1
Unhappy Telus IP issues and Netflix?! HELP!

Hey, I saw on here that there are some Telus technicians floating around this message board and I was hoping for some insight..

Basically since this am, Netflix on both wired and wireless devices isn't working anymore due to a "location change". Called Netflix and was informed my IP was currently a US IP, and because of that my Netflix account is unaccessible.

Called Telus and went thru the whole ipconfig/etc's in DOS, my IP address didn't change and he said because of being an Optik subscriber the problem couldn't be fixed??

Just wondering if this is a Telus issue, or what? All insights appreciated. Thanks.
verumpacis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-06-07, 09:55 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,922
I'm not a Telus tech, but I may be able to help.

You can try one of the free location services such as:

http://www.ip2location.com/demo.aspx

If your locations shows as Vancouver Canada with Telus as your ISP, then the problem is with the Netflix location database.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2011-06-08 at 09:48 AM. Reason: typo
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-06-07, 10:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TELUS tech in the Fraser Valley, B.C.
Posts: 548
TELUS`s IP address blocks are identified readilly using ARIN Whois or another `Lookup` service. They are always shown as TELUS and Canadian region. Not sure why Netflix thinks your in the US.

TELUS will not roll your IP address to satisfy Netflix, it will make no difference anyway since it will just be another TELUS address and Netflix is thinking they are US addresses. Netflix is incorrect, TELUS addresses are Canadian region and that should be easily verifed by them. I`m having no problem with my Netflix.

Try this link, it should tell you right away where your IP address comes from and who its registered to (TELUS). All you have to do is click this link, http://ip-lookup.net/, then click on the link a bit further down that says IP owner info (Whois). It should tell you its a TELUS address, owned by TELUS, with the address shown being 7 3777 Kingsway, Burnaby B.C. You will also see a Canadian flag right under your IP address when you first come to the page, indicating yet again the country of origin for that (your) IP address.

- another TELUS tech
Wiremonkey is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-06-08, 06:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 31
when i tried my current ip address on http://ip-lookup.net/, it shows multiple owners:

African Network Information Center NET154 (NET-154-0-0-0-0) 154.0.0.0 - 154.255.255.255
Telus Corporation PSINET-B2-5-SWIP (NET-154-5-0-0-1) 154.5.0.0 - 154.5.255.255
PSINet, Inc. TELEUS-154-5 (NET-154-5-0-0-2) 154.5.0.0 - 154.5.255.255

some geo ip website showed that i am in washington dc, and speedtest.net shows that my ISP is PSINet... I heard that telus just acquired this ip block (154.5.x.x) from someone else so some geo ip servers might not have updated their information. But there is nothing user/telus can do about it.
rewrite is offline  
Reply

Tags
netflix , telus

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome