Telus Highspeed security - no 64 bit version - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-22, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,768
Unhappy Telus Highspeed security - no 64 bit version

A quick FYI for those out there with Telus ADSL... their current security suite (free with service) does not work on any of the new 64 bit PCs.

I found this out the hard way when I was trying to install it last night on my new computer. The tech I spoke to said it wasn't available and he didn't know when.

I guess it's AVG for now...
PrimeBane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-22, 07:31 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,920
64 bit PCs or 64 bit operating systems?
A 64 bit PC can run a 32 bit operating system.
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-28, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,768
Sorry... 64 bit OS.
PrimeBane is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 12:22 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 76
Comodo Internet Security/Firewall/Antivirus have 64 bit for XP/Vista, Avast Antivirus home edition is 64 bit too, both are free.
Chiu.0606 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 02:26 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leduc, AB
Posts: 1,105
Quote:
...both are free.
Not to mention 10x better than any garbage telus/shaw/any other ISP dredged up to give away! Comodo and Avast are a great combo, I've never even glanced at the "security suite" shaw offers. Highly recommended!

Epson EX71, Tosh HD-A2, Denon AVR590, Athena P4100, Infinity P362,C250,P162. RCA L42WD22, Pio VSX1016, Athena LS50
DJDiggler is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 09:21 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,670
Not sure what security package Telus is rebranding. As an aside, Shaw's is F-Secure which is a pretty well respected security suite. If Telus is rebranding a similar grade product, I wouldn't call it garbage.

On the free side, I would take a look at Microsoft's new Security Essentials. It is has an extremely small footprint, does not seem to have any system performance impact, and the beta drew rave reviews from some fairly well respected places. Comodo is excellent, but use the advanced setup, not the basic.
JohnnyCanuck is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,768
I believe Telus uses Zero Knowledge (I know, kind of ironic isn't it? )
PrimeBane is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 05:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,920
Two images come to mind, Sergeant Shultz on Hogan's Heros and also those 3 monkeys. ;-)
JamesK is online now  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-10-01, 02:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Quote:
Comodo Internet Security/Firewall/Antivirus have 64 bit for XP/Vista, Avast Antivirus home edition is 64 bit too, both are free.
I use, Comodo Firewall and Avast AV for 64 bit XP. For 32 bit XP systems I use Online Armor and Avast. All are free. Comodo is actually a security suite (firewall + AV) but the AV is a little weaker than Avast. Secunia PSI is also a good security product to have installed.

I would never install software provided by an internet provider without a careful review of it's usefulness. I've seen a number of XP systems bricked by install disks. The "free" software is often not needed and is usually loaded with adware.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2009-10-02, 02:53 AM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Near the Hills
Posts: 632
Small & Fast

Quote:
On the free side, I would take a look at Microsoft's new Security Essentials. It is has an extremely small footprint, does not seem to have any system performance impact, and the beta drew rave reviews from some fairly well respected places. Comodo is excellent, but use the advanced setup, not the basic.
I dumped all the big commercial and ISP crap.

Lovin' Sunbelts VIPRE.
Beuaty is it works on all my servers 2008 & 2003 as well as all clients, XP to 7 and 32/64 bit.
Great deal on unlimited home site license for us geeks with a load of computers as well.

BTW, just been offered the Telus highspeed.
Moose57 is offline  
Reply

Tags
64 bit , security , telus

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome