New Shaw Internet 300 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-10, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 487
New Shaw Internet 300

just noticed this

https://www.shaw.ca/internet/highspeed-300-2yvp/

Internet 300 with 2-year ValuePlan
Get the most from your Internet service

Whether you're a gamer or a binger, our fastest Internet delivers superior performance and speed for the people who need the best. And with a 2-Year ValuePlan, your rates are guaranteed for 24 months.
Promo for 6 months
$ 55 00* /mo
Intro offer for 6 months
on a 2-year ValuePlan^
$105.00*/MO for months 7-24
Regular Price $120/MO
mike10 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-11, 03:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
I do wish they increased the upload speed above 20Mbps for this plan (cloud backups would benefit).

That said, here's my Speedtest results (note you will need the new Arris XB6 modem with this plan: the older Hitron won't work)
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/4066059305



Sent from my SM-G965W using Tapatalk
BGY11 is offline  
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-12, 04:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,811
So I'm on 150 and a value plan that will end in 2019 and if I calcualte with no deal next year I will pay 2340 over 2 years but if I go with the 300 plan and deal I will pay 2220 over 2 years.....hmmmmm. Crap! New customers only and I would have to live with Telus 6Mbps for 90 days. Yuk!
gzink is online now  
 
post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-12, 07:03 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,692
@gzink you don't have to be a new customer to get the 2 year value plan. Existing customers don't get the 6 month promo.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-12, 08:57 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta
Posts: 326
I just got the speed upgrade. I have been a customer since 2011 on and off and I was able to get a nice deal.

Speedtest by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test
querty-m4n is online now  
post #6 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-14, 03:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,811
I'm to frugal to do it without the promo.
gzink is online now  
post #7 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-16, 07:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,863
gzink, my value plan is just up and Shaw is now giving me 150 @ 88 month for 12 months. While I am happy with that, I am not happy with my Hitron. I am debating signing up for a new 2 yr value plan if only to get the new Arris modem. Either that or buy my own router and bridge to the modem. I never get the advertised speeds.
Nanuuk is offline  
post #8 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-19, 03:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 21
Quick question....does a Shaw Tech need to come out and install the new modem and set-up 300? I'm on 150 with the Hitron modem in bridge modem. I would rather like to pick up the modem and install it myself.
Abdawg is offline  
post #9 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-20, 03:49 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 73
I use my own Netgear Giga router and get bursts to 170 with the Hitron in bridge mode.
I use the second IP for a separate router for my Smart TV.
Note you can also have just one port hardwired on the Hitron and
still use it's WiFi.
zapattack is offline  
post #10 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-07-22, 09:44 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 240
I just upgraded to Telus Fibre for my internet. The speed is 300 mb up AND down. Price is $55 for first 6 months and then $110 from there. ( 150 mbs plan was $90 ongoing)

If you should be lucky enough to be in a fibre service area, this might be an alternative to the asymmetrical bandwidth offered by Shaw.

btw: I have my own Netgear router attached directly to the ONT fibre modem supplied by Telus....I opted to not use their supplied 3200 unit for WIFI.
skifan is offline  
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-10-25, 12:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8
@Abdawg
Depends, but you can choose to ship to your place or pick it up at your local shaw store.

@mike10
Sounds great! I can provide a digitalhome promo for internet 300, you can DM me for details.
ShawGo is offline  
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-10-25, 07:24 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nanuuk View Post
gzink, my value plan is just up and Shaw is now giving me 150 @ 88 month for 12 months. While I am happy with that, I am not happy with my Hitron. I am debating signing up for a new 2 yr value plan if only to get the new Arris modem. Either that or buy my own router and bridge to the modem. I never get the advertised speeds.
Old post but thought I would reply anyway. I get 180'ish on the 150 plan when wired to the supplied modem. And that is in a semi rural area.
gzink is online now  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-10-27, 02:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,863
Oh, I get the 150 hardwired, but not through wifi. My house is 1973 vintage and the walls/ceilings degrade the signal. That, and the Hitron drops every now and again. So, my son bought me an Amplifi wireless router (without mesh point package) and bridges from the Hitron. Now I have a steady signal in all parts of the house, no drops (so far). I don't get the 150 speeds via wi-fi but anywhere from ~75 to 110. I;m thinking that when my year is up, I'll downgrade my package to internet 75.
Nanuuk is offline  
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 2018-10-27, 06:54 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,354
Quote:
My house is 1973 vintage and the walls/ceilings degrade the signal.
Interior walls and ceiling should not be significantly different in construction than current houses. Go back before 1950 and there will often be some differences such as plaster and lathe instead of drywall. Even that will not make a significant difference for wifi. Wifi signals will degrade though any construction materials including wood and drywall. 5GHz will degrade more that 2.5GHz.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 2019-12-11, 12:49 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 953
Just got this set up last week. Before I reach out to Shaw, what is reasonable to expect for speed? I know it's advertised as 300, but what is an acceptable number?

I ask because I've done several tests and I've never seen over 85, most often it is in the 70 range.



This is hardwired to the modem. WiFi tests have been similar, in the 70-80mpbs range

Last edited by spitoon; 2019-12-11 at 12:49 PM. Reason: Fixed image link
spitoon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome