Internet Data & Go WiFi Device Increases - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-18, 09:35 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AB
Posts: 1,007
Internet Data & Go WiFi Device Increases

A couple of days back we bumped up data levels on our Internet packages some details of which are here: https://community.shaw.ca/docs/DOC-4629

If you want to see your difference, logging onto My Account will tell you specifics.
Shaw Champ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 01:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
after a out cry from customers when their data was it taken away paying more for less. so big of Shaw do this.

Last edited by elvis71; 2015-05-19 at 07:35 PM.
elvis71 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 06:00 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 177
Indeed, it just puts my quota back up to where it was before the quota boost was stripped out of the "Friends" program.
ertyu is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-19, 11:35 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,329
150 GB is still less than what I had under Shaw Friends (125 + 50 = 175 GB).

The number of WiFi devices able to auto-connect is moot. Mostly, our 2 cell phones auto-connect; beyond that, it makes very little difference whether Shaw allows us 3 or 10 devices.

I remember when ShawGo WiFi first started, customers were supposed to be able to achieve the same connection speeds on ShawGo WiFi as they did at home; is that still the case?
tux is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 02:43 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 750
*golf clap*

Shaw giveth, Shaw taketh away, then giveth again, then...

All to the final end of costing the consumer more....while padding the insane yearly incomes of some. Are we supposed to be happy with this? I'm not sure any more.

/rant
GamerGuy is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 06:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by tux View Post
150 GB is still less than what I had under Shaw Friends (125 + 50 = 175 GB).

The number of WiFi devices able to auto-connect is moot. Mostly, our 2 cell phones auto-connect; beyond that, it makes very little difference whether Shaw allows us 3 or 10 devices.

I remember when ShawGo WiFi first started, customers were supposed to be able to achieve the same connection speeds on ShawGo WiFi as they did at home; is that still the case?
Opps, you're right, I already forgot it was 50GB and not 25GB, so it's not even back to the level it was before.
ertyu is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-20, 06:24 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 718
I'm on BB50 and my account says I get 500GB a month.
buckycat is online now  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-21, 05:45 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckycat View Post
I'm on BB50 and my account says I get 500GB a month.
Weird, I'm on BB50 as well, but my account shows a limit of 450GB. Wonder why they're different?
mstreeter is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-21, 09:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Victoria B.C.
Posts: 66
Our account with BB50 shows 450GB limit as well.
pwh2112 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-22, 07:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 718
Just double checked, still says 500
buckycat is online now  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 03:46 AM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,741
That's an interesting anomaly.
My account is like most other folks here, on a BB50 plan and showing 450 GB of usage available.
downbeat is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 11:34 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Surrey
Posts: 25
Same here, BB50 and 450GB data 'allowance'
regs is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 01:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 38
A question for you all: Am I wrong in remembering that the limit for BB50 used to be 400GB/month? With Shaw friends (before it was cancelled) that meant you actually got 450GB, but since about January, it was back to 400. Please, someone correct me if I'm wrong!
mstreeter is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-05-24, 11:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 71
I checked my as well, BB50 with shaw friends & it is 450GB
sonyxbr is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-06-17, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mission BC
Posts: 718
Mine now says 450GB after showing 500GB for a while.
buckycat is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome