Rogers Hijacking failed DNS lookups - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
Rogers Hijacking failed DNS lookups

Rogers made an interesting change today. They killed the internet for all non public DNS settings. Thanks Rogers. They did this to spam us with advertising when we type in a wrong IP address. I called the help desk and they said well just use a public DNS server (I pay rogers to provide this.) But even though I tried several DNS 3rd party providers but most of my VPN applications do not work.

I surfed around for other DNS servers but all seem to provide the same DNS SPAM type services. I can't believe I Pay Rogers for this service and they did this without asking us and they refuse to turn it off.
TVJunkie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 04:05 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Yep its true.



I just canceled my Rogers Internet Service




Last edited by hugh; 2008-07-18 at 05:11 PM.
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
Can't beleive this

They said the solution is to select a cookie to revert the URL and OPT out well that helps for a browser but not my 20+ applications. Do they provide an alternative DNS server no.

I would shut my account but I just purchased an IPHONE.

The "official reason" is to help us dumb users who type incorect URLS

but notice all the links are just pages of pure spam.

http://www20.search.rogers.com/searc...qusJ1hUiCodku1
TVJunkie is offline  
 
post #4 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 05:02 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,768
Doing this without an opt-in is just another indication of the lack of respect that Rogers has for their customers.

And it is further proof that they don't consider themselves a telecommunications carrier... they obviously feel free to step all over your traffic to throttle, inject and redirect whatever they like.

If that is the case, they should lose the legal protections normally provided to a telecommunications carrier (eg. immunity from being prosecuted for illegal content available via their network).

And just when the heck is this government going to take a stand on how we're being treated by our ISPs?

Mike / technut
technut is offline  
post #5 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 05:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,579
Unbelievable.
I can't believe they would be doing this with all the net neutrality awareness lately. I agree with technut. I think they believe they can do whatever, whenever, to whomever they want.

I can't wait to see what Rogers is going to come up with next. Perhaps they'll start spell checking my email for me, and insert hyperlinks where they feel it's appropriate ????
99gecko is offline  
post #6 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 175
Yeah this pissed me off. I noticed this morning when using world wide web and then I guess I have been using a old favorite url to this site and I kept getting Rogers/Yahoo blowme & cheese sandwich crap. Its a real shame that Rogers thinks its okay to screw around with my internet signal, but its not okay for me legally to screw around with theirs


time to look at another unmolested internet connection , Hello CRTC whats wrong with this picture ?
tbusa is offline  
post #7 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 450
Horrible.

I just use www.opendns.com though... it's a lot faster anyway.
Anteater is offline  
post #8 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:22 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Regina, SK, CA
Posts: 620
Easy enough to get around. Use your own domain server.

A spare 486 or better, any Linux or BSD distribution (run without a GUI ideally, especially if your machine doesn't have much RAM) and a copy of bind (which is easy to install) and you will never need to depend on anyone else's DNS ever again.

I've run my own server locally for a few years (primarily because I need to host the DNS records for my domain names) and I wouldn't go back.
PhotoJim is offline  
post #9 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:43 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Well consumers shouldn't have to workaround. The truth is Rogers said they would use their sniffing technology strictly to inform users who were approaching the cap, now its for failed searches and it will only continue to get worse.



hugh is offline  
post #10 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
OpenDNS does not work

OpenDNS also uses URL checking and did not resolve my problem. Sure I could probably bring up a linux box and provide my own DNS server. I could even write a DNS server and run on my router but why should I. I pay Rogers lots of money VIP TV, I subscribe to almost every package they have 2 cell phones home phone and high speed internet. I have no issue paying people to provide a service but now Rogers has basically said I can't even pay them to provide a service without being spammed by advertising and interrupting my normal internet connection. I have called bell and asked for a fiber connection and in the mean time all rogers has done is say sorry for the inconvenience.

I asked them ( A multibillion dollar org) to provide an alternative DNS service and they said no this is our new policy. I am sure some VP put a business case together saying look we can make 10M a year on advertising to dead URL's without realising they would lose 20M in customers.

What really annoyed me is they won't even open up a problem ticket for me as they say there is no problem.
TVJunkie is offline  
post #11 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 73
And this is a serious issue for everyone...why?
Beck123 is offline  
post #12 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 06:55 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 177
Yup ... had the same problem as tbusa (using an old link). Finally found the forum again by doing a Google search cause I thought maybe Digital Home had gone done. This looks like a slippery slope that I'm not happy to be sliding down. :-(

Cheers,

jayson
jayson is offline  
post #13 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 07:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pickering, ON - Rogers Digital
Posts: 97
Well for me, I'd rather just be told that the URL I typed in either doesn't exist or was spelt wrong...I don't want to be bombarded with ads and useless 'search results'.

At least Adblock for Firefox blocks that one ad at the top of the page
Snake785 is offline  
post #14 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 476
Temp Fix by SDFS

I used the temp fix SDFS posted of 4.2.1.1 for DNS on the wireless page when they hijacked that. It allowed my VPN to work but it's really slow but I am not sure if thats the DNS or just Rogers new throttle on encrypted packets http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...t=87844&page=2


I wonder what is next on Rogers fun list so I though I would give them some ideas


Phone Spam
When I dial a friend instead of hearing a ring tone why don't you play me an advertisement until my friend answers. You can use the demographic information from my web surfing and TV watching to know how to target me. When I call rogers to complain get rid of that music on hold and play me some more adds. Don't forget to text me with some ads just in case.

TV Spam
When I fast forward, rewind, press list, guide or pause my PVR minimize the screen and play commercials until I press play again. When I change channels don't forget the coke logo on the channel bar. When I watch 480p make use of the black lines for even more advertising.

Internet
The email idea above where you automatically submit links on the emails I send and receive. Don't stop there hot link every page I look at, come on you have the power. How about framing my web pages with ads thats easy. You can even put an advertisiment page between every link I click on. As for companies who don't advertise with you just redirect there web pages to the ones who do.

Ted Rogers I am sure your VP's will have fun with these and a lot of other ideas they can dream up but I don't care any more, I made up my mind I am switching to Bell.
TVJunkie is offline  
post #15 of 160 (permalink) Old 2008-07-18, 08:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 3,185
Quote:
And this is a serious issue for everyone...why?
Because Rogers is in a clear position to abuse it access to its customers and this activity definitively allows them to usurp any and all would be competitors in the advertizing space.

I, for one....

JUST CANNOT REPEAT HOW INSANELY HAPPY I LEFT ROGERS 4 WEEKS AGO!!!!!!!!

And even though I have already left them, I will be forwarding this information on to my MP.
que3jxp is offline  
Reply

Tags
dns , hsi , net neutrality , rogers

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome