Rogers combine dual band wireless into one ssid - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-11-20, 01:07 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,358
Rogers combine dual band wireless into one ssid

I used the Rogers CGN modem with 150/15 plan. I used the gateway mode which used to have 2 wireless bands (2.4 and 5 G) with 2 ssid . Yesterday, when I opened my pc, there is a message that Rogers has combined the dual band (2.4 G and 5 G) into one ssid . While this works for most of my Apple iPhones , but I have a iPad (3rd gen, I think), it connects to the modem, but the connection is intermittent. Not only that, the speed has reverted to 2.4 G. Before this change, my older iPad was using 5G. I have not called Rogers yet, but want to know if any of you have run into this situation.
It seems that my iPad is on the 2.4 g ssid but continues to try to connect to the 5 g ssid

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]

Last edited by e268; 2019-11-20 at 01:43 AM.
e268 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-11-20, 07:47 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,014
Are both bands still available? Can you force a connection on one band or the other?

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-11-20, 11:01 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,278
Does this have to do with turning band steering on or off?

https://www.rogers.com/customer/supp...da-4582-modem#!

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2019-11-21, 12:41 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto,
Posts: 1,358
Thanks James and 57. Yes, it seems to be bandsteering. I found out that my wife’s older laptop had a speed of 15/5. My Sony viao laptop used to connect to 5G and have a very good speed, but after the change, it can only do 25/5. So after testing for a while, and got fed up, called Rogers, and the service rep immediately turn it back for me, without even asking for diagnostic. He also said he will optimize both bands. There is marked improvement on the 2 bands. My wife’s laptop is now 40/15, and my laptop is 60/15. My iPhone and iPad can do 220/16 (used to be 190/16).

Yammy RXV2400 & CDC815, Celestion DL8 fr Mission 73Ci ctr Sansui rear Velodyne CHT8, Vaio TT180, [email protected]
e268 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome