Rogers Residential Internet Pricing, Packages Discussion - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-01-17, 05:05 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Scarboro
Posts: 6,331
Does anyone here have a Hitron CGN3 modem that is working? It looks like they fail for everyone.
Wayne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 11:51 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,523
New packages/pricing up as of today.

New speeds/breakdowns.

http://www.rogers.com/web/content/internet-packages

seems to be some LESS usage, if a stand alone service
But when when you have the other TV & phone, get an extra 200g usage.

(also, may depend on what services you have.. promo pricing.. I was able to get the 30/5 package for $54 instead of $62, /w the 200g bonus... so vs my express + unlimited, I am paying $2.50 more. BUT higher speed, and 270g usage (where I only got unlimited as I was regularly around 150, so 270 will do me fine)

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
post #78 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 06:54 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 410
A few observations:

1. They have given their Internet a new name - now called Fibre. As far as I can tell, it is the same old Rogers broadband Internet - nothing new and nothing different. A new name to compete with Bell?

2. Modem is now included but even so, prices are higher - anyone surprised?

3. Yes usage is lower, but speeds are somewhat higher. For example Hybrid Fibre 30 gives you 70 GB usage (compared to 80 on Express) but 30/5 compared to 25/2 on Express.

4. They have removed the unlimited option with 3 services for $10 per month. It now costs $25.

5. Yes you can get extra usage for having 3 services (but not unlimited) but this also includes their so called TechXpert program - you know - the ones that tell you to reboot your modem or clear you cache! Good luck with that one.

6. On Rogers Redboard, they are still flogging the wifi modems with still no option for a stand alone modem. They are still not being upfront with their customers about how bad these modems are with respect to wifi.

Sounds like another con job to me! I will stick with my now grandfathered plan!
Hooter is offline  
 
post #79 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 10:12 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
The name is definitely to combat Bell, because lay people buy easily into Bell's misleading fibre optic marketing.

The prices are advertised with the modem rental included but they are still two separate line items. When you separate the rental fee, the prices for the new tiers are not that much higher.

Usage has actually increased. If you look at the prices without modem rental you'll see that the 60 tier is targeted to the current Express market segment.

It looks like they are aggressively trying to win customers back from Bell by luring them in with the free 200GB bonus if they have a three product bundle. It looks like the mindset is that fewer customers will need unlimited with the increased usage plus the bonus usage.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #80 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 10:39 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Woodstock, ON
Posts: 41
I bought the Hitron CGN2 about 2 years ago. I wonder if they will try and force me into getting the Hitron CGN3 for the Fibre 60 service when I am on Extreme Unlimited currently.
I think I may have to make a telephone call tomorrow about this.

I am not interested in having the internet drop connection as frequently as I have been reading about here tonight.
Spazmogen is offline  
post #81 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-10, 10:41 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
They will force you. The system won't allow you to upgrade to the 60 tier unless you have a CGN3. Also a firmware update has been released for the CGN3 in regards to the connection dropping issue.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #82 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 08:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,523
The 60 plan and above seem to be the better deals vs the previous.
Express change over, ends up about the same, maybe $2 more, but you are getting an additional 5 down and 3 up.

I flipped from express + unlimited as 80 would not be enough. But was given the +200g, which will give me more than enough (normally use 150 ish)

Only thing will be the modem switch. As I'm on the smc, needed to be changed

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
post #83 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 01:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,895
I called about the new plans. It seems I can't get it until my Netbox 3 plan expires in Aug 2015. Otherwise, it would be about the same for the Hybrid Fibre 60 as I'm paying for Express with 80 GB 35 down & 2 up I'm currently getting.

BTW, some here asked about how I was getting 35/2 with Express. When I got the PVR package, they changed my plan from Extreme to Express, with 80 instead of 90 GB, but my speed stayed at 35/2 instead of the 25/2 normally with Express.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #84 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 04:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,523
Tech left like 30 mins ago.
Everything seems to have switched over OK.

Speedtests show me getting 35/5.5.. so good for a 30/5 package.

MYROGERS not showing ANY plans at the moment tho :P Called in and appears it was all switched over ok.

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
post #85 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 05:28 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesK View Post
I called about the new plans. It seems I can't get it until my Netbox 3 plan expires in Aug 2015. Otherwise, it would be about the same for the Hybrid Fibre 60 as I'm paying for Express with 80 GB 35 down & 2 up I'm currently getting.

BTW, some here asked about how I was getting 35/2 with Express. When I got the PVR package, they changed my plan from Extreme to Express, with 80 instead of 90 GB, but my speed stayed at 35/2 instead of the 25/2 normally with Express.
Seems like another con job from Rogers! It is the Hybrid Express 30 that is the equivalent of the old Express plan with only a 70 GB usage allowance as compared to 80 on Express. Yes the increased speeds are good but anyone who does not see the new Rogers con job is really missing something!
Hooter is offline  
post #86 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 05:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,895
^^^^
Actually, for what I'm paying, they're only offering the HF 10 @$51.99. I'm currently paying $54.99 + $8 for the modem - $10 for the package discount for a total of $52.99 + HST for 80 GB @ 35/2. With FH 10, you only get 25 GB @ 10/1. I'll have to see what's available come Aug 2015.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #87 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 08:26 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooter View Post
Seems like another con job from Rogers! It is the Hybrid Express 30 that is the equivalent of the old Express plan with only a 70 GB usage allowance as compared to 80 on Express. Yes the increased speeds are good but anyone who does not see the new Rogers con job is really missing something!
If you have internet alone, yes, for around the same price, you get 10 less GB.
Its the way across all the new plans.

They are really trying to convince people to get their 3 services with rogers then.. to get the bonus 200g.

If I wasn't getting the bonus 200g for free, I would not have changed over.

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
post #88 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-11, 10:52 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooter View Post
Seems like another con job from Rogers! It is the Hybrid Express 30 that is the equivalent of the old Express plan with only a 70 GB usage allowance as compared to 80 on Express. Yes the increased speeds are good but anyone who does not see the new Rogers con job is really missing something!
Hybrid fibre 30 is not the replacement for the old Express. The 60 tier is. It's $1.50 more and you get a 40GB increase in usage and almost 2.5x the speed.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #89 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-15, 04:37 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 410
You are entitled to your opinion, but not everyone would agree with you!

http://communityforums.rogers.com/t5...d/15480#M15480
Hooter is offline  
post #90 of 153 (permalink) Old 2014-04-15, 09:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1,523
30/5 is the closest replacement for EXPRESS.. agreed, not sure why the 10g drop

the 60/10 package.. price wise falls in OVER extreme and UNDER extreme plus, with usage inbetween, but a BIG jump up speed wise.
60/10 is more of replacement in the range of extreme.

(I am the one who made that table :P)

GDKitty
Rogers Ignite Xi6, LG 47LV5400 LED TV, Yamaha
gdkitty is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome