Rogers Residential Internet Pricing, Packages Discussion - Page 10 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #136 of 153 (permalink) Old 2016-08-26, 11:15 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonR View Post
You may be right there, but trust me, before I switched to Ignite 100, I had to AirPlay stream from iPad to Apple TV, in order to get a smooth stream. Streaming from my Mac would always be choppy, still watchable, but definitely not as smooth.

Now, and I really don't know the reason why, AirPlay from Mac to ATV is free of any hiccups. The only thing that has changed is my Internet plan.
Did you have to switch from the swiss-cheese (outside) Rogers WiFi router to the newer book-style one? It could just be the newer router has better WiFi coverage.

Cisco 8642 500Gb PVR
coghlan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #137 of 153 (permalink) Old 2016-08-27, 02:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 465
I did get a new router (Hitron CGN3ACSMR), so that was an upgrade from the old Hitron CGN2, the swiss-cheese one, lol.

However, there is one more thing that I forgot to mention, and that may have been the root cause. With the old setup, I also had a Cisco Linksys E2500 N600 router, so I was running in bridge mode.

Now, with the new router, I left it in gateway (tried running it in bridge, but my E2500 was for some reason cutting down my download speeds to about 25-30 Mbps, instead of 120-130 Mbps that I get with CGN3 in gateway).

With regards to WiFi coverage, in both cases, my Mac was only about 3m away from Apple TV (and the router), so that shouldn't have been an issue. But that old bridged setup may have been the cause of choppy AirPlay playback, probably because of E2500 acting up.

Anyway, long story short, I'm good now. Taking E2500 out of the equation is what most likely fixed the choppy playback, and probably nothing to do with increased speed and bandwidth.

Last edited by DonR; 2016-08-27 at 01:18 PM. Reason: Changed to correct terminology (Mbps, not MBps)
DonR is offline  
post #138 of 153 (permalink) Old 2016-08-27, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 1,036
A friend has/had one of those 2500 routers and they are slow by modern standards. She replaced it with a TPLink Archer C7. I have a Dlink 868 which is a couple of years old and certainly not state of the art anymore but it still keeps up with Ignite 100 with the Rogers modem in bridge mode. On a wired PC to 868 to CGN3ACM all on Cat 6 cables it shows the OOKLA speed test averaging 135 Mbps


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
timlocke is online now  
 
post #139 of 153 (permalink) Old 2016-08-27, 01:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 465
I was thinking of getting a new router so that I could put my CGN3ACSMR in bridge mode, but the fact that for now it works perfectly fine in gateway is one of the reasons I'm still hesitant to go that way. The other reason, of course, saving a $100, or so, seems like a good idea too.

Also, I should have used Mbps, instead of MBps, when referring to download speeds, in my previous post.
DonR is offline  
post #140 of 153 (permalink) Old 2016-08-27, 08:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 348
Thumbs up Rogers offered me even BETTER deal

Well, I called Rogers again today and explained that, since I only had a discount on my internet service and not VIP cable, there's nothing stopping me from switching to another ISP, as there are many now in the $40 price range, and I don't really need 100 Mbit/s.

The first person said that she could reduce my *all-in* current bill of $197 by a grand total of about $4. I said no thanks, so she put me through to retentions.

The next guy I spoke to didn't fool around. I told him the same thing: paying the full rack rate for VIP and have only a discount on internet, and Rogers needed to do better.

The CSR told me that I'd have to sign up for 2 years (with $400/$200 max penalties for cancelling), but my new *all-in* price for TV/internet would be more like $150.

I said, "*sign me up*".

Still waiting to see my first bill to make sure there are no surprises, but looking good!
bbakernbay likes this.

Cisco 8642 500Gb PVR
coghlan is offline  
post #141 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-01-04, 04:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 31
I had almost the same experience today. We have TV, Internet 30 MB’s and free Home Phone and I called to say Bell Fibe just installed in our condo and they offered a good deal. Anyway after 10 minutes the Agent said Rogers could reduce my monthly bill by $5! I was stunned and told them I was heading to Bell do see what they could do. $5 was insulting.

I just missed out on Bell $100 Visa Card deal but they offered me an acceptable deal including 1 Gigbyte per second Internet and movie channels free for 2 months with included PVR at less than I was paying. 2 year contract with penalties to cancel.

I get back home and phone rings and same Rogers Rep said they just released a better offer and the monthly charges would be even lower now.

An hour later Rogers Loyalty phones and said they understand I wasn’t satisfied with their previous offer and now offered a very substantial discount to keep my business. I said too bad, I just signed with Bell, you are too late even though Rogers new price was now better than Bell.

Pisses me off that they stick it to their existing customers and lose out on nearly $2,000 a year in income plus overhead in refurbishing modem and PVR and spend huge $$$ in trying to acquire new customers (suckers).
Gentleman and metalhawk like this.
bbakernbay is offline  
post #142 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-01-04, 08:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,778
Services can be cancelled without penalty if done soon enough. I believe the cutoff is up to 14 days after installation. Doing it before installation will sometimes result in a call back with a better offer.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #143 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-02-07, 10:47 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 66
I'm considering dropping cable TV and going internet only. Currently have a CGNM-3552 modem (commonly referred to as the CGN3?). However, the internet packages are now branded as "Ignite". Would I need to replace the modem? My current plan is limited to 60 Mbps, and all the current plans are at higher speeds.

[edit] nvm, found a rogers forum discussion indicating that the CGNM-3552 will support higher speeds.

signatures are stupid
thegrommit is offline  
post #144 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-02-07, 02:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,778
Modem rental is included in Ignite internet prices. Rogers does not support modems that are not purchased or rented from them. Unless you are currently with Rogers you will most likely need to switch to a Rogers supplied modem/router. If it is a Rogers supplied modem, it's most likely no change will be needed.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #145 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-10, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 503
30/5 plan

Just checked what broadband plans are available through Rogers.

It seems they eliminated the 30/5 internet only plan. Interesting.

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
post #146 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-10, 09:11 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Port Stanley, ON
Posts: 503
bbakernbay:

I went through the same thing with Rogers a few years back. Had a well researched competing offer from a TPIA and gave all the intimate details of the offer to a Rogers rep on the phone. I could even hear the sound of the rep typing the intricate details of the offer I had. After wasting countless hours on the phone with the rep and even retentions, no deal.

Funny thing, I never looked back and have no regrets.

Delhi SFA 1483, Antennacraft Suburban VHF, CM7778
Gentleman is offline  
post #147 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-16, 03:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 31
I got a big shock today in an email from Rogers. They are billing me $1,000 or thereabouts for not returning their modem, receiver and remote after I switched to Bell Fibe on January 8th.

When the Bell Tech finished the install he said he can arrange to return the equipment to Rogers through their internal system. I said okay if that is what is done although I remember having some misgivings but took him up on his offer. He took the modem and receiver and I still have the remote so I will return that myself to a Rogers Store next week.

I called Rogers and they said that is an issue between Bell and myself. I called Bell and gave them the Order Number and they agreed to open Case Management Report. How is this going to be resolved 10 weeks later who knows.

I am going to put my credit card on Suspension so Rogers doesn’t grab the $1,000.

Has anyone had similar experience?
bbakernbay is offline  
post #148 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-16, 05:57 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,989
I'm sorry for your issue, but why would you think it's handled that way? Did you check with Rogers at the time? You left $1000 of equipment with a complete stranger?

You should have returned the equipment to Rogers (preferably at a Rogers store) and get a receipt for said equipment in case something goes wrong down the road and the equipment is "lost" in Rogers' system, which also happens. Did you get some sort of receipt from Bell? Rogers don't usually care about the remotes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbakernbay View Post
I am going to put my credit card on Suspension so Rogers doesn’t grab the $1,000.
That may not be wise if Rogers decide to use a collection agency which would wreck your credit rating.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #149 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-20, 03:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 31
After hours of calls, emails the issue of the missing modem, router and receiver/PVR seems to have been solved today. The Bell Supervisor acknowledged that Bell Technician mistakenly took my Rogers Equipment and left it on a shelf in their shop from January 8th until today when I drove from Kitchener to Guelph to retrieve it this morning and then return it to Rogers for credit of $944.33

Why he ever offered to do this as a Bell Customer Service is beyond me and never follow through it admit his mistake and just leave it on a shelf in a shop is baffling. I should have known better yes but that is 20/20 hindsight. I am sure everyone has been updated on the fact of never to accept Rogers equipment.

The Rogers Rep I spoke to an hour later who was calling the second consecutive day asking when and how I was going to settle my $944 outstanding amount was exceptional and spent 45 minutes following up the return and ensuring the amounts were properly credited. She even waived the Late Payment Penalty Charges. Thank you Antoinette from Rogers Wireless, you were the absolute epitome of Customer Service.
bbakernbay is offline  
post #150 of 153 (permalink) Old 2019-03-20, 04:03 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,989
@bbakernbay : Thank you for the update. What luck that the Bell Supervisor found the equipment on a shelf, after a couple of months, and that you were able to get a full credit.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome