Level Grade Box - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 11:44 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 162
Level Grade Box

Hi all... I recently received a notice in the mail from Bell telling me that they will be putting in a "Level Grade Box" on my lawn very soon to improve service.

My question is what will they improve?? is it home phone? Is it internet? Is it finally the Fibe they promised me 3 years ago??

I am not too thrilled to have this thing on my lawn but I assuming I have no choice in the matter. I realize that it is within the City boulevard area.
giovanni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 12:46 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
Searching the internet found the following:

https://www.ies.sk/sk/images/stories...ll/GLB1111.PDF

Looks like an access point that is level with the ground. They recently installed these in my area. They may be about to install Fibre in your area. This usually involves "horizontal drilling" with minor "holes" at some properties.

https://www.google.com/search?rlz=1C...w=1231&bih=942

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 01:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 162
Thanks...

The size of the box they are proposing is 0.8m x 0.6m, so it is quite large.

Would this be the likely size for a Fibe upgrade?
giovanni is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 02:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,830
It's probably better than them putting a pedestal in the middle of your front lawn like we have around here. Those things are ugly and are constantly being vandalized.

I doubt Bell would do this unless it's an upgrade to fibre optic cable. I'd guess that the area will get fibre to the home. Something to look forward to. Plus it's 0.48m^2 less lawn to cut.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 02:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 162
Yes I understand. Fibe would be great because we dont have it in my area as of yet.

The only beef I had with them is that they gave me rough location of where it is going and it will be right in the middle of my lot. I have placed a call to see if i can arrange to get it to the side of the lot.
giovanni is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome