Porting out landline phone to cell, but keep TV and Internet - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-06-10, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 17
Porting out landline phone to cell, but keep TV and Internet

Hi,

I currently have Bell Home Phone and Bell Fibe TV and Fibe Internet (gigabit).

If I port out my landline to a cell provider (not Bell), will I have any issues with my Internet or TV?


Thanks!
Monica4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-06-10, 02:21 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,299
Did that a couple years ago.

On the date they tell you, phone went dead and number showed up on cell.

Zero problems.
dsspredator is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-06-10, 02:29 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,504
You may lose any current bundle discounts. If an introductory offer is in effect, there may be a penalty for cancelling early. Porting the number to a Bell cellular plan may prevent that or it may provide a opportunity to obtain other promotional discounts. Otherwise, it should not be an issue.

Be sure to let the new provider cancel the Bell phone. Do not do it yourself. The new phone provider will be able to secure an orderly transition of the phone number and service.
ExDilbert is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-06-12, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 17
Thanks guys!
Monica4 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-06-13, 03:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,681
other than losing discounts there should be no problem porting out a landline, infact I am in the process of porting out my landline to a VoIP provider, just waiting for the ATA adaptor to arrive, im buying one off a friend.
17671 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-13, 10:53 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,681
Just an update. Since my Landline number was "Long Distance" to many of my family members, I decided to NOT PORT it out and simply cancel it, It is now being reserved as my dryloop number. I have since decided to simply get a NEW number for my VoIP line with the 416 area code, which is not uncommon to have in the 905 GTA region, as its still local, and my family can call me without incurring long distance
17671 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-13, 12:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,504
With VoIP I believe it's possible to locate your number anywhere, regardless of area code.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-13, 12:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,681
Yes it is possible. I have a VoIP Phone that I once used for a past business partnership. When I would travel, before iPhones and Blackberries and Wi-Fi were popular I would take the VoIP office phone and AC plug with me and when I arrived at my Hotel I would plug it into the Ethernet Jack at the Hotel, and I could make and receive calls as if I was still at my home office. Then my VoIP Hardphone slowly became replaced by a VoIP App on my Smart Phone/Tablet when Smart phones became more popular.
17671 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome