Bell Home Hub With No Cell Phone Reception - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-12, 10:03 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Bell Home Hub With No Cell Phone Reception

Hey guys, I live in Central Ontario (north of Barrie) and is in the process of moving into a cottage.

Now the cottage essentially has little to no cell phone reception in it. The DB is - 116 to - 130 so essentially a dead zone on all 3 floors.

Bell said that they offer internet for the cottage however because there's only copper wiring and not fiber optics yet my only option is the bell hub 2000.

Now they claim I get up to 15mbps download speed and up to 10mbps.

My worry is that because I have no cell reception so the hub 2000 will not work very well and have a very poor internet connection and speed.

Does anyone have any experience with this or could help me with this. Thanks so much everyone. Cheers
geridious4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-12, 10:27 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,642
why would the home hub 2000 not work well? it has nothing to do with your cell reception, it uses Digital Subscriber Line, and it gets signal from the copper phone lines. I live in greater toronto and dont have fiber coming to my house but I have copper and can get speeds of 100 mega bits per second over a copper connection, how is this poor? thats a piss poor example u gave
17671 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-12, 10:47 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,089
What does cell coverage have to do with a wired Internet connection? Also, with ADSL, upload is usually a fraction of download, so I don't understand how you'll get 10 Mb up. 1 Mb is more like it. However, should you get a decent Internet connection, you may be able to WiFi calling, if your phone supports it. This will give you a good, solid connection for your cell phone.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-03-12, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Toronto East Downtown
Posts: 298
Geri
Now they claim I get up to 15mbps download speed and up to 10mbps. All depends on your distance from the fibre box (FTTN) or central office. And yes, service is likely to be a max of 15/1. I'm on FTTN and get 25/10.
Go for it.

Sony KDL40W3000, Denon S740H AVR, Firestick, Synology 209, ASUS PC, Sony BDPS350, turntable, two-zone speakers
Norman_C is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome