MTS TV - Ratio Adjustment problem - Fixed by changing channels - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
MTS TV - Ratio Adjustment problem - Fixed by changing channels

Hi folks,

Just purchased a new 50" Plasma LG TV (LG50PC5D). Can view shows nicely using my satellite provider, however, when viewing through my MTS cable provider the screen is cut off at the top and bottom.

I've tried changing the aspect ratio on the MTS box from 4:3 to 16:9 and it didn't change anything.

MTS tells me it is a fault of the TV. The TV sales guy (from Visions) tells me it is a fault of the MTS box and has offered to replace my TV but I would have to 'down grade'.

Who do I believe? Any advice is greatly appreciated!!!!
cinderalla4fun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:12 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Are you using MTS' HD service, or just the regular ones?

I never had a problem with MTS SD service.

What input are you using?
Mozza is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:19 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,328
Have you invoked one of the stretch/zoom modes on the TV itself? Perhaps the following will help:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17711

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=17704

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=57741

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Hi Mozza, thanks for the reply, I have MTS regular. What do you mean by 'inputs'. Sorry, I'm Tech challenged

Last edited by cinderalla4fun; 2007-10-19 at 01:29 PM.
cinderalla4fun is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
57, thanks for the links. My TV has several ratio adjustment options (set by program, 4:3, 16:9, horizon, zoom 1, and zoom 2). . .and I've tried them all. Any other thoughts?
cinderalla4fun is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:38 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,328
How much of the image is "missing"? What is the make/model of the MTS box? Does it have stretch/zoom capabilities? If the amount of difference in the image is small, then it may simply be a difference in the STB's output. If the difference is major, then a zoom/stretch mode is invoked, either in the TV or the STB, or some setting is incorrect.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 01:46 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 70
I have the exact same LG tv and use the MTS HD service. I do not have this problem.
81omega is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 02:05 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
81, Do you have the MTS HD set top box? I didn't want to have to purchase an HD STB at this time, but do you think that might be my only option?
cinderalla4fun is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 02:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
57, The top and bottom portions of the image are missing, ie: can't see the baseball scores on top, or cant see weather info on bottom of weather channel.

Can I ask you if it is imperative for me to purchase an HD STB to resolve this problem? or should I just look at getting a different TV.

PS: The sales guy is offering us a Sony 50" Grand Wega SXRD as an exchange.
cinderalla4fun is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 03:11 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,328
You didn't provide a make/model of the STB, but I assume by your comments above that it's an SD STB. If it is, then the issue is likely that one of the zoom modes on the TV has been invoked. What method have you used to connect the STB to the TV? S-video, composite video?

There MAY also be a setting in the user menu as to what you want to do with various incoming signals....

There is probably nothing wrong with the TV, only in the settings somewhere - as you say, the Satellite signal is OK.

The Sony SXRDs are fine TVs.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Everything is fixed!

Hi Everyone, I took a chance and telephoned MTS again, got a different service rep, really nice guy, didn't exactly have an answer for me but took the time to ask some more senior people. They suggested that when I change the ratio on the STB I need to change channels a few times, and wouldn't you know it. . . .it worked I just phoned MTS, spoke to a supervisor there to convey my gratitude.

Thanks everyone for your advice.

PS: Love this site!!!! and will visit again in the future when we decide to upgrade further and get an HD STB
cinderalla4fun is offline  
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 03:37 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,328
That is one of the weirdest things I've ever heard, but glad it worked.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 2007-10-19, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Actually, depending on what the STB "buffers", that might make sense. Glad it worked.

If you're thinking HD, MTS isn't the best choice right now. Otherwise, MTS TV is great for SD service...
Mozza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome