Lost Internet and tv after storm an hour ago - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-18, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Lost Internet and tv after storm an hour ago

Did anyone else in Winnipeg? Our power went out for about 2 minutes. Since then our broadband light is fast blinking red and we have no wifi Internet or tv. I have power cycled it a few times. No luck. Anything we can try before calling mts.
Nodnerb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-18, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
There are a few outages around Winnipeg. I lost internet/TV for about an hour earlier. It's back now, obviously. I would assume things will come back online soon.
Mozza is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-18, 05:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Winnipeg mb
Posts: 261
There was a power failure during the storm in the area around the Gateway exchange in EK where the Satellite dishes for the MTS TV down link are located.

If if was the internet as well, that comes from your exchange to the DSLAM so there was probably an outage to the hydro line that supplies the DSLAM. Could be something as simple as the transformer for that block tripping off so you would not see an outage at your house if your not on the same transformer.
mbhydro is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-18, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks for the replies. Still down. We called mts and they said lots of our area is down. Hope it's back soon though. No tv and no Internet!!!! Aargh....
Nodnerb is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-19, 12:32 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Great explanation!

A few months ago I had just finished an install, and all of a sudden the same thing happened. Power still on, but loss of DSL sync. So I get all frustrated, thinking it is bad equipment, or something I did wrong.

Then it dawned on me. I'd seen hydro crews working directly above the DSLAM a couple blocks over. A quick call to the test centre confirmed there was an outage. Saved me a bunch of time troubleshooting for nothing!

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-19, 11:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
MTS DSL outage in started last evening for us (in Morden). Messages hinted that our account/password was invalid (yea, right). Started to come back around 07:00 this morning. Now it seems to be normal again. Makes me wonder how I can easily find out if situations like this are 'just me' or a wider impact...
darethehair is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-19, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Generally speaking if you check your DSL router and it looks okay and a power cycle does not fix it call tech support as chances are the issue is upstream somewhere. Things are a little more complicated with FiON however same general rules apply.
CoryB is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-08-19, 11:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Winnipeg mb
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by darethehair View Post
MTS DSL outage in started last evening for us (in Morden). Messages hinted that our account/password was invalid (yea, right). Started to come back around 07:00 this morning. Now it seems to be normal again. Makes me wonder how I can easily find out if situations like this are 'just me' or a wider impact...
You probably experienced an authentication server problem. If a server goes bad it can take some time to restore the backup of all the ID's to a new server.

For the rural users, I am not sure if MTS has authentication servers at the local exchange level, the regional exchange (in this case Steinbach) , or out of Winnipeg.
mbhydro is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome