Problem watching pay per view movies - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 12:03 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
Problem watching pay per view movies



The last 4 movies I've rented over the past couple months have been problematic. One would freeze every few seconds, if I paused for 10 seconds or so it would go without freezing for around 5 minutes, without pausing it would freeze every 5 seconds. The second would freeze every 5 minutes or so, both would only freeze for a second or two but very annoying. The last 2 movies I rented did not freeze but would I would lose sound every 15 minutes, pausing would help a bit. So I phoned MTS and they said they would re-set my box, I don't think they did as I was watching tv the whole time and not once did the box shut off.

So is this a case of my internet signal not being fast enough, not enough bandwidth??

I am on the Lightning 10 plan.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated.

That is all.

Thanks.
bigdoubledee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 09:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
The issue you are describing brings back some bad memories for me.

There used to be an issue that was specific to the type and quality of cable your box was connected with. The simple way of checking is determine if the cable has a square or round end, the round ends are the one that typically have the issue. Also, the issue is most likely to occur if an existing cable was used over a new run.

If you match those "bad" criteria your wiring is likely not meeting the service standard for MTS Ultimate TV and likely should not have been passed the initial install. Perhaps one of the other people there with more knowledge of the current best practices can comment further.
CoryB is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-05-25, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 71
I have fibre optic here so don't know if that matters. It worked fine the first year I had MTS, just started doing this the past couple months.
bigdoubledee is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2013-05-26, 01:22 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Fiber runs from MTS to our house, once inside the fiber connect to the MTS router which provides the signals to the tv. The wiring from the router to your tv is about 99.9% likely to not be fiber and is what actually matters. Also, being fiber it is likely you are in a building that is less than five years old however your wiring could still be the issue, ie someone put a staple through the wire while installing it. Also, if it was newly installed wiring it was less likely to be tested sadly.
CoryB is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome