Any Higher Speed Plans In The Future? - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 11:55 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgordos View Post
mcmanone, did they just reprogram your router from their end? Or did you have to get a service call? I just ordered the 50 plan and was told that my modem had to be replaced, since apparently the Residential Gateway (RG) Model 3801HGV-B isn't capable of getting anything above 20mbps. I'm kinda confused since I just got my MTS service in April and thought I had the newest router. Which router do you have? The earliest service call date isn't until October 30th which is ridiculous!
Sorry Yes they sent out a tech with a pace-5161N but then they also had to reprogram it from there end as it was set to a max of 35MBS down and 2MBS up.
mcmanone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
DSL Pair bounding

So I take it I am not using the bounding thing as I am using only one line not two so if that's the case I could if possible go over 100mbs by using two vdsl ports?

DSL Line Line 1 (inner pair)
Down Up
Rate: 52999 kbs 5295 kbs
Max Rate: 66452 kbs 10193 kbs
Noise Margin: 10.3 dB 14.9 dB
Attenuation: 8.7 dB 10.4 dB
Output Power: 14.3 dBm -24.9 dBm

Protocol: G.993.2_8d
Channel: Interleaved
DSLAM Vendor Information Country: {46336} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {41971 }
Rate Cap: 66337 kbs
Attenuation @ 300kHz: 3.6 dB
Required Impulse Noise Protection: 0
VCXO Frequency Offset: 31.6 ppm Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
mcmanone is offline  
post #63 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 03:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmanone View Post
Sorry Yes they sent out a tech with a pace-5161N but then they also had to reprogram it from there end as it was set to a max of 35MBS down and 2MBS up.
just got mine installed this morning - to both mine and the installers surprise he didn't have to pair-bond the lines to get to 50.
My modem was (like yours) provisioned to 35/2 out of the box and had to call it in to get it to 50/5 - I am not at home right now as I had to come to work *lol* but will post a speedtest later after I get the wireless and the rest of my LAN setup.
enroh is offline  
 
post #64 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-09, 08:40 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Cool ya I am sure I didn't need pair-bonding as well so they could offer faster speeds if they wanted too.

Last edited by 57; 2013-11-09 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
mcmanone is offline  
post #65 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-09, 04:41 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
VDSL2 + profile

Ok so why is MTS using the 8d profile when they could use the 17a or 30a to go faster?
The standard defines a wide range of profiles that can be used in different VDSL deployment architectures; in the central office, in the cabinet or in the building for example.
Profile Bandwidth (MHz) Number of carriers Carrier bandwidth (kHz) Power (dBm) Max. downstream throughput (Mbit/s)
8a 8.832 2048 4.3125 +17.5 50
8b 8.832 2048 4.3125 +20.5 50
8c 8.5 1972 4.3125 +11.5 50
8d 8.832 2048 4.3125 +14.5 50
12a 12 2783 4.3125 +14.5 68
12b 12 2783 4.3125 +14.5 68
17a 17.664 4096 4.3125 +14.5 100
30a 30 3479 8.625 +14.5 200
mcmanone is offline  
post #66 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-10, 02:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Maybe cost of hardware? (ie. VDSL2 hardware in the cabinets, not the modems) Maybe that's all the current stuff is capable of?

It's interesting how providers operate so differently from each other. Someone else (Telus?) delivers TV on hardware that can do both ADSL2+ *and* VSDL2. And not only that, they're capable of switching between the two on the fly. I've only ever seen VDSL2 for TV here.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #67 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-10, 02:54 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Any Higher Speed Plans In The Future?

News to me! Interesting

Edit: this app must be acting up cuz my reply above was regarding lightning 20 moving to 25. Argh technology

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #68 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-10, 08:57 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
That's cool ya I also think bell at one time was using adsl2+ but not sure.
mcmanone is offline  
post #69 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 12:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 469
Well, my profile on myaccount us now showing lightning 25! Haven't had a chance to try yet but sounds promising


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Currently with MTS(All services TV,Internet, Home phone and Cell phone)
gordon1111 is offline  
post #70 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 11:45 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmanone View Post
Ok so why is MTS using the 8d profile when they could use the 17a or 30a to go faster?
I'm not aware of any telco in Canada that is offering VDSL2 speeds faster than 50 Mbps. I did a search to see if any telco is using the faster profiles. I found this page describing British Telecom, which uses profile 17a. The best speed they can offer is 76Mbps and even then the speed drops off significantly beyond 300 meters (take a look at the graph).

For anyone interested, MTS had VDSL for TV from the very beginning (now called Classic TV). They installed VDSL2 hardware in the cabinets when they rolled out Mediaroom (originally MTS Advanced TV, now Ultimate TV).

When Telus rolled out Mediaroom, they tried to make do with their existing ADSL2+ network. They've since upgraded most of their network to VDSL2 with line speeds comparable to MTS.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #71 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 11:49 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Yeah, I was surprised when I saw people posting a long time ago that their Telus service was running at 15 Mbps (ADSL2+) considering MTS was running at 35 Mbps (or 28 for long loops/poor lines, before pair bonding)

I don't know how they were accomplishing this AND internet at 15.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #72 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 09:59 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Fairly sure MTS is still running both ASDL2+ and a flavour of VDSL, in the past they were also using ASDL but that goes back to their original high speed roll out.

Based on the amount of effort, and presumably money, spent in the TV roll out which introduced VDSL it required a level of service that could not be provided by ASDL2+ at the time.
CoryB is offline  
post #73 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-11, 10:07 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 469
Lightning 25 speeds

Hey all,
just curious if anyone has any idea when lightning 25 will take effect, and if so how do you obtain it by unplugging hardward etc. Thanks

Currently with MTS(All services TV,Internet, Home phone and Cell phone)
gordon1111 is offline  
post #74 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-12, 12:15 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Hmm I wonder too as my brother has lighting 25 but still topping out at 19.86 MBS and have rebooted a few times.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2013-11-12 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Unnecessary quote removed. Please don't quote the post above yours.
mcmanone is offline  
post #75 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-12, 12:51 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 469
It's now working for me getting 22-23mbits spoke with mts this morning they said it's happening in batches no need to reset equipment


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Currently with MTS(All services TV,Internet, Home phone and Cell phone)
gordon1111 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome