Any Higher Speed Plans In The Future? - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-05, 09:05 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
the 50Mb service appears to share the bandwidth with the TV service. I get faster speeds when all the TV's are off. If a couple TVs are on I see my speed go down to about 30-35Mb.
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-05, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrownBullhead View Post
Does anyone know if Island Lakes (Bishop Grandin & Island Shore) will become Lightning 50 anytime soon?
When I entered my home phone on the HSA plans site page, it showed Lightning 20 was the highest available for my area. But, when I phoned MTS on 11-04-2013, both tech support and then sales said I could get "Lightning 50" home internet (without MTS TV, etc). They have me scheduled for 11-23-2013 install. They say I will be upgraded from the 3800HGV to a new "Pace" device. Will report back on install day with the results!
BrownBullhead is offline  
post #48 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-05, 10:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
Thanks, SomeRandomGuy, but I only have phone and internet with MTS, so I know that it isn't from that.
mrgordos is offline  
 
post #49 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-05, 10:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
CoryB, they have 2 lines coming into your house and then they splice in 2 wires from the second line to 2 wires that aren't used in the original line that was already going to the modem. So you still only have the one wire plugged into the modem, using the original inner wires (not sure how many are used in a single line scenario) with the 2 additional wires they spliced into the line.
mrgordos is offline  
post #50 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-06, 01:04 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
^^^ Exactly. The second pair (if they used a premade 2 pair patch cord) is an orange pair.

If you try the MTS FTP test.exe file download, let us know what you get.

If one of the lines was bad, or not up to snuff, the modem would be intermittently dropping sync to try syncing at a lower rate. This may not be noticeable if you aren't using the internet at the time. If you were looking at the modem, one of the the solid green lights for Line 1 or line 2 would start flashing red momentarily.

You can check the stats in the user interface (at the 192.xxx.xxx.xxx address, which is different than most routers) under "broadband." Just look for "Link Retrains" I think, and the time since last event.

HTH

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #51 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-06, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
Macman, I sent you a couple of PMs. I downloaded the test.exe file and the average speed of the download was 5.2MBPS which works out to 41.6 mbps. One of the PMs I sent showed what I see in my user interface, can't see anything like you describe, thx
mrgordos is offline  
post #52 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-06, 03:51 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Based on the old MTS Lighting Bolt and Lighting Max plans I think we have the following:

Max DSL speed on a single line with ideal conditions is 32 Mbps.
TV bandwidth requirement (estimated) 7-15 Mbps.

This means a pair-bonded connection has a theoretical maximum of an estimated 64 Mbps, however some of that is lost due to the bonding overhead.

Add in the allowance for TV space and we arrive at close to the 50 Mbps of Lighting 50.

Keep in mind that there is additional overhead on the Internet connection which will reduce your top end speed.

Ultimate TV service can have 0, 1, 2, or 3 channels on at once, and by "on" that includes PVR recording. Each of those channels can be SD or HD, with HD reducing available bandwidth more than an HD channel.

Based on these observations, if you want to test your maximum connection speed, first max sure all tv channels and pvr recordings are off. Also, if you absolutely need to have some tv on and still achieve the highest bandwidth possible try to limit it to a single SD feed.
CoryB is offline  
post #53 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-06, 06:46 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
CoryB, I don't have tv service with MTS, I'm with Bell. From what I can see on my modem interface, Line 1 has a rate of 28767 kbps and line 2 has a rate of 25231 kbps. These are not max rates. Below is what I get on my user interface screen on my modem



DSL Details

Modem Type: Built in modem - ADSL/VDSL

DSL Line Line 1 (inner pair)





Down Up
Rate: 28767 kbs 2694 kbs
Max Rate: 58516 kbs 10870 kbs
Noise Margin: 18.9 dB 23.9 dB
Attenuation: 19.5 dB 17.3 dB
Output Power: 14.5 dBm 1.2 dBm


Protocol: G.993.2_8d
Channel: Interleaved
DSLAM Vendor Information Country: {46336} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {41971 }
Rate Cap: 58127 kbs
Attenuation @ 300kHz: 10.0 dB
Required Impulse Noise Protection: 0
VCXO Frequency Offset: 21.3 ppm Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok

DSL Line Line 2 (outer pair)




Down Up

Rate: 25231 kbs 2694 kbs
Max Rate: 51404 kbs 10341 kbs
Noise Margin: 17.6 dB 22.5 dB
Attenuation: 20.2 dB 16.9 dB
Output Power: 14.5 dBm 1.0 dBm


Protocol: G.993.2_8d
Channel: Interleaved
DSLAM Vendor Information Country: {46336} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {41971 }
Rate Cap: 51013 kbs
Attenuation @ 300kHz: 10.2 dB
Required Impulse Noise Protection: 0
VCXO Frequency Offset: 72.6 ppm Ok
Excessive Impulse Noise: 0 Ok
DSL Aggregated Information

DSL Line

Down Up

Rate: 53998 kbs 5388 kbs
Max Rate: 109920 kbs 21211 kbs


Protocol: G.993.2_8d
DSLAM Vendor Information Country: {46336} Vendor: {BDCM} Specific: {41971 }
mrgordos is offline  
post #54 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-07, 01:24 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
I replied to your PMs It looks decent from here but I can't confirm u

I'm not sure if there is really any overhead or if some automated system throttling the speed to the specific plan. I only assume this because of all the speed tests I do, I usually see just under the "up to" speed. (eg. 9.8 on a 10 meg plan)

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #55 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-07, 11:08 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
Thanks alot, Macman, I appreciate your help. I have also noticed that some pages load slower than before when I had the lightning 20 plan. For example, my homepage is the Winnipeg Free Press site, and when I open my browser it takes about 10 seconds to load now when it used to load instantly before. Once my browser has been open for awhile the page loads instantly again ie: if I go back to it from another site. This isn't the only page that I have noticed this happening on, but again it isn't a consistent thing with all sites that I visit.
mrgordos is offline  
post #56 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-07, 10:02 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
I guess it could be a problem somewhere on their end. Since you're now running through two VDSL2 ports, maybe something there is causing higher pings/slower response?

Did you say you rebooted the RG/modem? That might not renew your IP address. Total shot in the dark, maybe a new IP might help. Might need to call tech support though. There is a way to do it in the interface but we only do that when swapping RG's.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #57 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 01:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 97
I contacted support chat today and they had do a speed test to the telus server in Edmonton as well as do the download from the fps.mts.net site you gave me. Unfortunately, I was cut off from the first chat session, and the next rep got me to use a different speedtest company( I think it was called speakeasy.com/speedtest?) with a server in Chicago. The Edmonton test results I have provided links for. The ping is identical in the 10 results I have below and the upload is very close, but as you can see the downloads are as much as 15mbps different. The mts test.exe was coming in at 40mbps and the testmyspeed results were from 38mbps to 47mbps. They checked their end and said there were no problems and have scheduled a service call for next Wednesday to check the lines. It is just strange that the ping and upload are so consistent and the download so up and down. I agree with your comment about the speeds being just under the " up to speed " since that is how my lightning 20 was, always 19.1 at the absolute lowest since I got it in April. Anyway, here are the results:
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086102813
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086127619
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086132842
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086137517
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086138415
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086148447
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086151766
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086159391
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086160189
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/3086161173
mrgordos is offline  
post #58 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 11:06 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Ok no more lighting 20?

I think they just done away with the 20 and went to 25/mbs 2/up or so my account says I now have lighting 25

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2013-11-08 at 11:36 AM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
mcmanone is offline  
post #59 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 11:39 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,939
mcmanone, this was posted in another thread a few days ago, so it makes sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkman00 View Post
MTS Lightning 20 .. gets boost to 25 .. (in about a week or so) .. for the same price...
so in about a week or so ... the speed for that plan will be:
25 / 2
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #60 of 113 (permalink) Old 2013-11-08, 11:50 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
lol thanks.
mcmanone is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome