MTS Ultimate and Slingbox - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-26, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
MTS Ultimate and Slingbox

Hi folks, looking for some help here. i am trying to set up a sling box 350 with my MTS Ultimate TV and having some trouble. When I go to the Slingbox site I get a message that " We can't find a Slingbox"

"We're searching for a Slingbox, but can't find one on your Network, or in your Sling Account"

I have gone into the 2wire and created a pinhole for the Slingbox. What I am wondering is if anyone has had success getting the Slingbox to work and if there are further settings that I need to adjust.

Thanks for your help.
general224 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-28, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Just an update I was able to get it working it will be nice when away from home
general224 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-28, 11:33 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Were you able to get it to change channels remotely?
Mozza is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-29, 10:15 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,816
It would be interesting to know what you changed to make it work, in case someone has a similar problem.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-29, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
Yes full functionality can change channels select from pvr pull up guide.
general224 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-29, 02:26 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4
I was not able to make it work through my switch I had to connect it directly to the 2wire rg
general224 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2012-12-30, 07:12 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Sounds like a port is blocked somewhere between the switch --> 2wire --> Internet.
CoryB is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2013-01-02, 09:16 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
I hooked one up last year to my MTS service. it works great, but you need to set it up in a slightly different order than what the Slingbox instructions say.

Once you add the Slingbox to your router, you have to manually go to the router, and add a port forward (Slingbox shows up as a pre-defined option), then you can follow the installation instructions.
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome