MTS TV 2012 programming packages and pricing discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 11:43 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
BB50 is $70/month, correct?

I can get up to 400GB/month easily at 30mbps.
Mozza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-03-22, 11:59 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: St.Vital
Posts: 33
Yes but don't you need to have Ultimate TV to get 30mbps?
I got BB5o for $65.
mac2crack is offline  
post #18 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-03-23, 09:59 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,207
Bolt is up to 32 Mbps and is packaged with Ultimate TV. If you don't have TV, you can get Super MAX (25 Mbps).

Shaw has increased the price of BB50 with the 400 GB cap to $70.
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #19 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-07-17, 02:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 7
New to MTS TV, please explain

Hello,

Just recently ordered MTS classic Tv with 3 theme packs to go with my existing Lightning internet plan

I just don't know what I'm expecting here, I read about the speed increase with MTS TV for my internet still I don't -completely- understand what I'm getting here.

If someone could break down what I should expect getting MTS classic TV with my existing lighting internet.

Thank you for your help

Last edited by 57; 2012-07-17 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
Moss is offline  
post #20 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-07-17, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,207
Moss, your TV and Lightning internet will be delivered over the same phone line using VDSL connected to a fibre-optic node in your neighbourhood. Since this is a higher speed line, there will be enough bandwidth left to increase your internet speed from 7.5 to 9 Mbps.

I hope that answers your question.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #21 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-07-17, 11:57 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
To add to that, sometimes if you are at the far end (furthest from the VDSL cabinet) you may only get 2.5-5 Mbps download speed. It's just the nature of the technology. In these cases, if they were to override the auto detection and lock your box in at a higher sync rate, it may just experience high errors or dropped signal.

The classic tv box connects at one of three rates; 17, 20, or 26 Mbps, dependig on line conditions. The tv streams use 15 Mbps of that, so whatever is left will be used for Internet. Although they must limit it to 9, because at 26 there would theoretically be 11 left.

Sorry if that's too technical.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #22 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-10-30, 07:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 163
MTS has announced that as of Dec 4th there will be changes to channel packaging:

SD and HD Now Together
Channel groups are being reorganized to include both standard definition (SD) and high definition (HD) versions of channels (HD when it exists) In addition, all channel groups will now be sold individually.

http://www.mts.ca/mts/personal/suppo...cordionItem1-0

I'm not with MTS for TV right now, just looking, so not sure how much of a change this is.
KSPSlice is offline  
post #23 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-10-30, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,207
Channel packaging changes effective December 4, 2012



Dr.Dave is offline  
post #24 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-10-30, 08:09 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,207
Channels Moving as of December 4, 2012:

These channels are moving to different channel groups.
Code:
Channel Name	Current Group	New Group	Number  New Number
ABC Spark	MTS TV FreeView	Movie Picks	44	234
E!           	Movie Picks	Entertainment	113	113
NASA TV  	Super      	PrimeTime 2	227	110
PIX HD New York	Entertainment	Super      	1118	1223
PIX New York	Entertainment	Super      	118	223
Wild TV HD 	HD Discovery	HD Disc.&Sports	1185	1185
NASA TV will also be available as a Pick-and-Pay.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #25 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-10-31, 11:41 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
Lots of new channels, especially on the HD side.

It is concerning that all HD Discovery is being renamed to HD Disc.&Sports as that would seem to suggest Discovery HD will be one of the exceptions to the HD channel being included in the theme groups.
CoryB is offline  
post #26 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-11-01, 01:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 489
Looks like an improvement. good to see a per group pricing.

Glad to see they finally got rid of the HD Stater pack requirement. I would actually prefer if they kept it as an addon to the basic package but dropped the basic group price by $6. A basic service price of over $40 does scare away potential customers.

No mention of Showcase HD, i assume the same will apply.

Would be nice if Sportsfans was split into 2 smaller groups (to keep all channel group pricing consistant) maybe sportsnet only group?
Bunkhouse is offline  
post #27 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-11-02, 12:07 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 21
Where does it say that they are getting rid of the HD starter pack.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2012-11-02 at 12:43 AM. Reason: Unnecessary quote removed. Please don't quote the post immediately above yours.
kdawg824 is offline  
post #28 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-11-02, 07:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 489
The HD starter channels have been split into the basic, HD east, and the channel's own SD group.
Bunkhouse is offline  
post #29 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-11-02, 04:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 21
So are all the channels in the Basic group (TSN, NBC, ABC) staying the same and will we get the equivalent American channels in HD for free now.
kdawg824 is offline  
post #30 of 46 (permalink) Old 2012-11-02, 04:46 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,207
According to the chart in post 23, the U.S. HD channels are now part of Basic. They're also changing the channel numbers for TSN2 to 21/1021, so they must still be part of Basic.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome