Help with a hand shake issue - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-08, 08:04 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Help with a hand shake issue

Hi folks. I am hoping for some help. I have developed what I believe is a handshake issue between my VIP1216 and my Onkyo 806 amp. The entire set up has been together and worked flawlessly for over a year now. I have high end HDMI cables to all units. About 3 or 4 weeks ago (coincidental to a software download I think) I started having issues. It now takes multiple attempts to turn my system on. First attempt usually gives all 3 (TV amp and STB) all on but either no sound or non-Dolby sound. Second attempt will give correct sound but a 4-3 picture vis 16-9. Third and subsequent attemps are variations on the theme until I finally get the correct sound and picture combination. I have switched all the HDMI connections around, done both soft and factory resets.
I had an MTS tech come and look at the situation. He found an error code that he said he had never seen before. Did not know what to do with it and left. This is a very disapointing effort on MTS part but leaves me with a frustrating situation.
I am lost as to where to go next. Has anybody seen this before? Is there a solution.
Thanks
snowbear is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-09, 12:55 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,311
Here's the FAQ on HDMI issues and a list of things to check. Perhaps there's something there that will help. My first guesses would be:

- turning things on in a specific order (AVR or TV first for example)
- turning off any HDMI link features on any devices.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=71112

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-09, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
I have an newer Onkyo Receiver and I do not have the problem you have, but I notice my Receiver does take time to turn everything on. I use a Harmony One, so everything turns on at once (not sure the exact order).

What I do see is that the Receiver seems to turn on first, and when the STB turns on it automatically reconnects, then when the TV turns on the Receiver does another handshake. What I see is a blank screen, I hear the audio come on, it goes off, then back on again with picture. All this takes a few seconds and coincides with the Harmony One turning on everything. The Onkyo seems to detecting each device and re-handshaking automatically to ensure it is connected correctly.

It appears to work as in should.

If you are using a Harmony, try turning on the devices in the following order
TV, STB, Receiver.

hope this helps
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-09, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Thanks much guys.. SRG - I reordered the sequence on my Harmony 880. Seems to have done the trick. many thanks. Frustration level is now returing to normal
snowbear is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-09, 02:42 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
excellent, glad I was able to help
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Dissapointment. I spoke to soon. Woke up this morning to the same troubles. 6 attempts before a good start.
snowbear is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 10:16 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,696
@snowbear, it might be a good idea to turn on the devices manually in a particular order for a while to see if you can get it to work consistently. I know that seems like the dark ages when you have a Harmony, but HDMI is a complex protocol and can be very troublesome, especially with an AVR in the middle. If you can get it to work consistently, then you may be able to pllay with the timing.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 10:43 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
if as Dr. Dave indicated you can find an order that works, you may need to put in a delay between IR codes in the Harmony to allow each device to fully turn on before the next device is turned on. I think it is in settings, but can't remember exactly where.
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-10, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Thanks for the help guys. I will keep working on it. I will let you know if I am successful
snowbear is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-11-16, 01:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Still no luck. In random order I have tried>>> Removing the Viera link, removing,cleaning and reversing all HDMI cables, switched the order each unit turns on, applied delays of between 1 and 10 seconds to the Harmony One timing. As yet it is still a crap shoot and about 6 tries to get everything up and running correctly.
snowbear is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-12-02, 09:01 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 30
Success finally. It took a complete re-wiring of all the hookups. My STB now has inputs to both the amp and TV. Huge thanks to Tim Parsons at Center in Regina. He had seen the problem before and had the knowledge and patience to run me thru the work around via a phone call.
snowbear is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2011-12-02, 09:19 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Awesome news. Congrats!
Mozza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome