PVR HD failing? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-10-16, 12:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
PVR HD failing?

Just a quick question - I noticed tonight for both recordings I made (Jets and Bombers, shouldn't have bothered!) there were a few "jittery" moments, and at one point in one recording the time stopped moving even though the video was playing (after I had hit pause and then resumed). Also, fast forwarding was broken in one recording for about a 15 minute stretch.

Any chance that these hard drives have a short lifespan? I've had this box for over two years now...
Mozza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-10-16, 10:58 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
I noticed tonight for both recordings I made there were a few "jittery" moments, and at one point in one recording the time stopped moving even though the video was playing
I've seen this happen many times on mine. It seems to be related to the start point of the fast-forward. If I forward at single-speed for a bit, then I am able to go to 2, 3, or 4 times speed. I don't think it has anything to do with the health of the hard drive.

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-10-16, 01:38 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,696
Mozza, did you try the 30-second skip to get over the bad spot? I don't think it's necessarily your hard drive. It sounds like glitches in the data stream. I've occasionally had similar problems since I got MTS TV. (I had just as many, if not more problems with my Shaw PVR).

The hard drive in the VIP1216 is the Seagate ST3160215ACE which is specifically designed for 24x7 operation in DVRs/PVRs with an annualized failure rate of less than 1%. Of course, any drive can fail.
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2011-10-17, 11:55 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
This reminds me of the sort of issues I used to have with boxes on low grade cables. Make sure your cables are up to spec as that may be contributing to your issues.
CoryB is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome