MTS Internet Speed Discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-08-17, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
There is definitely something going on as my Lighting plan has been far exceeding the downstream amount for about a month now.
CoryB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-08-17, 10:58 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,696
I'm still getting the "normal" speeds on Lightning with Ultimate TV.




Real-world results are VERY consistent at 7.5 Mbps down on ftp://ftp.mts.net/ and 2 Mbps up on Google docs measured with Windows Task Manager. (about 945K Bytes/sec down, 245K Bytes/sec up).

I've used these real-world tests for over a year and they're much more accurate and much more consistent than speedtest.net.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-08-17, 05:33 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Wow, what plan gets you those speeds?!

Yeah, my upstream was always 100% consistent at 1.85 Mbps until Tuesday afternoon. On the weekend, I had an outage (MTS had turned off my entire service accidentally) then they moved me to a different box outside Monday to get my service going. My speeds were perfect Monday, but then Tuesday is when the upstream went down, in the late afternoon, and it's been the same.

It's not a HUGE drop, but from 1.85 Mbps to inconsistent 1.0 - 1.36 Mbps with every test.

On my iTouch I was able to get 215 KBs (which is close to 1.8 Mbps) once, but that was it. Downstream is better than ever though, and my margins seem very good (no errors showing on the box, margins are better than I ever had), so it seems like maybe something from the box on the street going out?
no123one is offline  
 
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-08-18, 05:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
When my upstream dropped they found a poor connection outside my house. The upstream on my connection profile, according to the Actiontec modem, was only 512kbps. It should have been around 860 or so. Supposedly if there's communication issues on the line the connection profile automatically drops to a lower rate.

See if you can find out what yours is.
Earthworm is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 2011-08-19, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 61
Thanks EW.
I have an appointment for a tech to come by this afternoon...
But, as of last night, during that huge storm, my upstream started working properly again, and it's still fine this morning.

(This is the lightning plan on regular MTS TV)



Keeping my fingers crossed.
no123one is offline  
Reply

Tags
mts internet , mts internet speed

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome