MTS TV and TV Tuner - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
MTS TV and TV Tuner

I was wondering if someone would be able to help me set up my MTS tv with my computer tv tuner. I've plugged the television cable into the back of my computer and I'm not sure what the next step is. I have an IR blaster that I think I'm supposed to use, but I'm not sure how. I think part of the problem is that my MTS set box is in a completely different area of the house then my computer/internet. I'd appreciate any help that I could get!
Deanna081 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 12:36 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,086
The first thing we have to determine is whether you have MTS Classic TV or MTS Ultimate. MTS Classic uses one dark coloured STB for the whole house; MTS Ultimate is newer and uses a mainly silver-coloured STB for each TV. In either case, the computer tuner will be tuned to a set channel and the actual channel changes are done by the STB.

If you have MTS Classic and you want to use your PC for recording TV, I would suggest you consider upgrading to MTS Ultimate instead which includes a PVR. If you want to use your PC as an extra TV screen, tune the PC tuner to either 4, 8 or 11 and use the corresponding remote to change channels.

The IR blaster that comes from MTS is used to control a VCR that is adjacent to STB.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Thanks for your quick reply!

I just have the MTS classic tv. It's a black motorala box and I can have up to 3 tv's on it.

I just want to use my computer as an extra tv screen. Our main TV is in the family room in the basement and we can't afford another tv upstairs. The Acer computer I just bought came with a tv tuner already inside, so I thought this would be a way to get an extra tv. I'm not sure how to change the PC tuner to channel 4, 8 or 11.

The tv tuner for my computer came with a wireless antenna and it's own IR blaster that is supposed to plug into the computer. So I was trying to use the Acer IR blaster to set up the tv tuner.
Deanna081 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 05:04 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,086
If the Acer came with Windows 7 Home Premium, then it has Media Center which makes your computer act like a TV screen and has the controls for changing TV channels.

You should have received 3 remotes from MTS. For example tune your computer to TV channel 8 and use the MTS remote for TV channel 8 to change channels.

You won't need the IR blaster.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2010-04-24, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 8
Thank you so much Dr. Dave! It's working!

I feel a little silly that it was so simple to set up, but I got distracted with all the extra equipment they provided with the computer. And whenever I did a search on the internet, it seemed so complicated.

Thanks again!! Have a great remainder of the weekend!
Deanna081 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome