Change ip on 2WIRE - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Change ip on 2WIRE

Any way to change the static IP on the 2wire page?

I was looking around there and I didnt want to touch anything..

thankls
tobe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 09:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SaskTel
Posts: 1,101
do you mean for the internal gateway address?

if so, yes
Tikker is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 09:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tikker View Post
do you mean for the internal gateway address?

if so, yes
well I mean the old way when we signed in through pppoe it changed every time. I saw the ppoe option on the 2wire page, selected it and everything stopped....TV INTERNET etc. So I put it back. All is fine now.

Basically we are always online with ULTIMATE TV, is there a way to manually connect and disconnect OR does that happen when we turn our computer on and off?

Im not sure what you mean about the internal gateway address either.

thank you for your patience
tobe is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-17, 01:26 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
The PPPoE isn't used anymore, as you found out. The computers/devices hooked up to the 2Wire get their IP's automatically (DHCP, like Shaw). If you are thinking that you want the ability to control the internet connection, I'm thinking the easiest ways are 1) like you said, turn off the pc 2) physically unplug the ethernet wire from the pc 3) disable the network connection in the pc settings

Other than that, I don't know. But yes, it is always on with this new system. The 2Wire has a built-in firewall, though I'm not sure it's on by default. I think the best bet is to do a test like the one from grc.com called ShieldsUp.

Macman is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-17, 05:35 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,329
DHCP assigns a specific IP addresses for a specified period of time, based on the MAC ID of the network adapter.

Disconnecting your network adapter until the lease expires, connecting a different network adapter, or manually changing the MAC ID of your network adapter, are all ways to receive a different IP address from a DHCP server.

I won't go into detail about how to change your MAC ID, but in Windows and on most routers, this is a rather trivial process.
tux is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-17, 10:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman View Post
The PPPoE isn't used anymore, as you found out. The computers/devices hooked up to the 2Wire get their IP's automatically (DHCP, like Shaw). If you are thinking that you want the ability to control the internet connection, I'm thinking the easiest ways are 1) like you said, turn off the pc 2) physically unplug the ethernet wire from the pc 3) disable the network connection in the pc settings

Other than that, I don't know. But yes, it is always on with this new system. The 2Wire has a built-in firewall, though I'm not sure it's on by default. I think the best bet is to do a test like the one from grc.com called ShieldsUp.

thank you macman and all who answered!
tobe is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-24, 05:53 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
I think you're talking about the WAN IP (the one MTS gives you). The IP isn't static, although it's "sticky". Essentially, you'll generally keep the same IP as long as your 2Wire RG isn't having network problems or is unplugged for an extended period of time (more then 48 hours). It's also possible it can change if MTS changes their network configuration or does maintence.

The short answer to changing it on your own is that it's not really possible, unless you're willing to leave your modem unplugged for awhile.

When it comes to security, which I think is your concern? The 2Wire RG has a built in firewall that is enabled by default. If you wanted additional security you could also run a software firewall on your home PC. Changing WAN IP addresses, does not really increase the security of your PC.

If you're concerned about security, I recommend the following:

1 - Ensure Windows Update is enabled and runs often
2 - Ensure Adobe Reader, Flash and Java are up-to-date
3 - Use Internet Explorer 8, Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome
4 - Use a hardware firewall (IE router, included with Ultimate TV) or a software firewall in place of, or in conjuction with
5 - Use Microsoft Security Essentials (free anti-virus/malware) and ensure it is up to date
6 - Ensure you use secure passwords (at least 8 characters, consisting of numbers, letters and special characters - and not containing any words that can be found in a dictionary). Passwords should never contain or be the same as the username.
7 - Do not use the same password for everything (your facebook account, should not have the same password as your e-mail and online banking).
davidb1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome