WGN HD & NHL games - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-14, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Unhappy WGN HD & NHL games

Can anyone explain why any hockey game shown on WGN is not on the DH counterpart of the station?

The feed from the Hawks game last night even said HD on the on-screen graphics???

thanks
tobe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-15, 05:53 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
MTS carries 2 WGN stations in SD: WGN 9 Chicago (222) and WGN America (245). In HD, only WGN America is available. I suppose you were watching WGN 9.
Same problem for me to catch Smallville in HD.
fmr is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-15, 06:51 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West
Posts: 510
@fmr:
I know this is slightly off-topic, but what's the difference between WGN & WGN America? Are they in the same package deal, or do you have to pay extra to receive WGN America on MTS? I live in Whistler and have Shaw Digital, but my cousin wanted to know because he might be moving to Winnipeg and he's heard that MTS is better than Shaw Winnipeg.
CastleRockDays is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-15, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
thanks.....frustrating
tobe is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 08:01 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,464
WGN9 is the local CW affiliate for Chicago which shows 90210 and other CW Network programming. They do have the local TV rights to Bulls and Blackhawks games.

WGN America is a National syndicated programming channel. WGN America is not available on local cable in Chicago. They do NOT have the rights to show Bulls or Blackhawks games. They do have the national rights to show Cubs/ White Sox games.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2010-02-16, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: West
Posts: 510
ohhhh okay Thank you!
CastleRockDays is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome