MTS from SHAW - Likes & Dislikes - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
MTS from SHAW - Likes & Dislikes

1. Price - I switched because of one of the promo deals - 12 months
for internet & Ultimate TV for $45/mth, first month free.
Vs the $100 mth for Shaw - altho to be accurate - MTS another $3 for
TSN, & others in HD, and $6 for the time shift west HD.
Still considerable saving over the year.

2 - Channel changes up/down faster

3 - Local Radio stations

4- FF/RW buttion very fast

5 - Get Sportsnet East - Shaw dropped it a while back.
All Sportsnets in HD
watchtoomuch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
MTS from SHAW - DISLIKES

This will be a longer list - altho lets call them changes to be made in the
future.

1 - BIG one for me - for day +/- button on the guide. I really miss this.

2 - NO 4/3 overide - I use a 36inch HD CRT (more common according
to the installer than I thought) - With Shaw you could output 1080i
for the HD and get a 16/9 picture with an overide so that an SD channel
filled the screen - with MTS I get a 4/3 picture inside the 16/9

3- Picture in Picture not as good - well used that way too much anyway.
Probably good for me to just watch one thing at a time.

4 - Double theme groups - MTS brags about their smaller groups but I
just wanted one channel - they moved it to a double theme group with
nothing else I wanted.

5 - No info on songs on music channels - with Shaw I could press the info
button & get the name of the song & artist & album - MTS doesn't even
display this at the beginning of the song.

Well I don't want this to time out on me, so I'll post now & start a second one
watchtoomuch is offline  
post #3 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 05:24 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
MTS from SHAW - DISLIKES part TWO

6 - Only 1 favorites list possible - with Shaw I could have one, my wife
could have one.

7 - Like that I can record the Radio channels - but when you play them
back can't pause, FF, or restart where you finished watching (listening)
previously.

8 - No clock on the box ( OK, that's just nitpicking, but I miss it)

9 - Our budgie (bird) misses the analogue tuner - we had the TV on a timer
for him when we went away for a day or two - Our TV time only works
with the TV tuner - thought I could use the RF output on the box to feed it
but the box goes into Standby mode after a period of time.

10 - Remote too powerful - I think I saw a post before saying it didn't work
from more than 6 feet away - not a problem for me - but the volume buttons
jump the volume up or down 3 steps instead of just 1. I tried to get it to
learn from the Shaw remote & got it to 2 steps down on both remotes, & 1
step up on 1 remote & 2 on the other. Acceptable.

If anyone thinks I'm unhappy with MTS - no its good, esp at the price,
I just hope some of these things will change in time.
watchtoomuch is offline  
 
post #4 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 05:29 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
And if anyone has any work arounds or can tell me what I'm doing wrong
please post.

Esp about the day +/- for the guide.
I'm used to going in on Sunday for example, going to Thurs guide &
setting up my recordings - take forever to get there with MTS>
The best workaround I'v found so far is to go to one of the channels
I want, left arrow all the way to the station, hit OK & then page up
or down untill I get to the day I want - faster then using the whole guide.
then can use the left/right arrows to get to other stations if they're side by
side.

I guess I'll have to get used to using series recordings, but I'm a cynic
and figure I'll miss something or get to may episodes recorded.
watchtoomuch is offline  
post #5 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 08:45 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Guide Day +/-
When in the "Guide" screen, press the "Enter/Zoom" button on the remote. This will bring up a side menu allowing you to jump to later times "tonight, tomorow, etc".

4:3 Over-ride (STRETCH)
When the set top is outputting in HD (720p/1080i), press the "Enter/Zoom" button on the remote. This will bring up a side menu allowing you to "stretch" the 4:3 pricture on SD channels so they fit the full screen.

Information on Galaxie Radio channels
- Currently not available, from what I've been told, sometime in the new year (Guessing this means late January/Feb sometime?). I was told the caller ID should come with this, or around the same time.

I did notice not being able to fast forward and rewind recorded radio stations. Apparently, it has to do with the fact that they're programmed as "radio" and not a normal tv station on MTS's side, so the features isn't there by default. According to a support rep, they would look into seeing if this could be added at some point, but he stated that it's unlikely it would be done soon as they're working hard on things like caller ID and such first.

A note about the set tops, MTS doesn't really get too much say in the matter as they don't make them (same with Shaw), they can choose between a few different models/companies. But I notice there seems to be a trend with all set tops to get away from showing the time? I don't know why this is, as I find it something useful. I notice the "silver" is another thing, no more black set tops it seems.

I also dislike the "double" theme group, I get why it's done in cases (more $$ and I notice they have more expensive channels), but I wish there would be another option, like 2 expensive channels I want as 1 theme group instead of getting 2 with a bunch of channels I don't want and costing 2 theme groups).
davidb1 is offline  
post #6 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 10:05 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,480
1. The FF/REW button jumps forward/back a day at a time in the guide.

9. You can set the time on the TV manually. To wake up the STB, set a short scheduled recording.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #7 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 12:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 31
Thanks for your help.

Dr.Dave & David

I could have sworn that I tried the FF/RW button to jump the guide a day
and it didn't work - even last night after reading this. But this morning it
works so maybe I was just trying the skip forward/back button.

The enter/zoom button also works as David said & brings up the guide at prime time (7 PM)
so that can be usefull & gives you more options.

I reread the manual just now thinking I missed those options - but if its
there I still don't see it. Even the installer didn't know there is a way (well 2 ways) to jump the guide by day!!

So really BIG THANKS for that info

Tried setting a recording for 6 AM this morning but when I turned the TV on
at 8 AM the setbox was showing the "press OK button to watch" so will
have to experiment more with this - maybe 3 recordings at the same time will
wake it up and keep it awake for at least 6 hrs.

4:3 - Knew about the stretch button but that just stretches it horizontally
in the 16:9 picture giving you a distorted picture (which I hate)
I know you can go into setting to change it to a 4:3 SD display but thats
16 buttons to hit to get it to do that & 22 buttons to change it back.
For the little SD I watch now I can live with the smaller picture.
watchtoomuch is offline  
post #8 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
4:3 - Knew about the stretch button but that just stretches it horizontally
in the 16:9 picture giving you a distorted picture (which I hate)
Shaw's did the same thing, by the way.
Mozza is offline  
post #9 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 04:16 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,480
Quote:
I could have sworn that I tried the FF/RW button to jump the guide a day and it didn't work - even last night after reading this. But this morning it
works so maybe I was just trying the skip forward/back button.
My sister had Ulimate TV installed a couple of weeks ago and I had a few minutes to play with it. I found it by trial and error and confirmed it in the AT&T U-verse manual before I posted.
https://uma.att.com/assets/files/U-v...ture_Guide.pdf

Quote:
Tried setting a recording for 6 AM this morning but when I turned the TV on
at 8 AM the setbox was showing the "press OK button to watch" so will
have to experiment more with this - maybe 3 recordings at the same time will
wake it up and keep it awake for at least 6 hrs.
Sorry... didn't think that one through. 3 recordings might work.

Quote:
Only 1 favorites list possible - with Shaw I could have one, my wife
could have one.
With MTS you can hide the channels you don't get or never watch so you don't have to depend on the Favourites List to get rid of the clutter.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #10 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 09:52 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
FYI, "Stretch" if done by pressing the Enter/Zoom button on the MTS remote does not stretch 16:9 (HD) feeds, it only stretches the 4:3 feeds to fill the entire screen. This is the exact same function that Shaw has on their set top.
davidb1 is offline  
post #11 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 09:54 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
And when you are in the guide customization screen, the MTS Ultimate TV system shows you a picture-in-picture of the channel you are selecting, and if no image shows up then you don't have that channel! Makes it a lot easier to know if you have it or not.

If your set top is not set to output HD (720 or 1080), the zoom/strech feature will NOT stretch an HD channel. Just FYI

EDIT: You beat me to it!! Hehehe...
Macman is offline  
post #12 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-10, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 338
When having the remote "learn" the volume keys tap the remote you are learning from instead of holding the button like the instructions tell you. I found when going through this the non-MTS remote was sending volume commands so fast the MTS remote was registering multiples as a single command.
CoryB is offline  
post #13 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-11, 03:00 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Bang on, CoryB. I've tried both methods, and I didn't remember which one worked best. I may have found one way to work good on some brands, and the other way on other brands.

I've had to get used to programming all 5 of MTS' remotes that they offer, so I've found a LOT of different little nuances over time. Ugh!
Macman is offline  
post #14 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-11, 11:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Dr. Dave,

That pdf you posted! Check out page 19. For remote access to your DVR. Does MTS support this feature?

I would be able to program my DVR from my phone or remote PC. That would be great!

Dice1111
dice1111 is offline  
post #15 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-11, 11:45 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
I don't believe MTS offers that feature as of yet.
vjose78 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome