MTS from SHAW - Likes & Dislikes - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-22, 10:14 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In front of my keyboard
Posts: 31
Not sure on the exact release of the galaxie title and track app to the general public but Ive seen the beta version and its pretty cool and from what I understand this is just first version
mediaroomrocks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-22, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In front of my keyboard
Posts: 31
MTS Ultimate Tv is based on the same platform at at&t u-verse Microsoft Mediaroom. Remote PVR is an application Im aware that MTS is pretty keen on seeing perhaps 2010. Im aware that some people who may have some influence on this app and some others might be reading this forum so we should post some things people would like to see on MTS unltimate TV ;-) Make some suggestions and you just never know what might turn up.
mediaroomrocks is offline  
post #33 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-22, 10:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In front of my keyboard
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowkey View Post
I have had the MTS HD TV for about a week.

TV/HD/System

+Interface - slicker than Shaw's.
+Can search by actor
+Can watch recorded shows on other TV
+Extra $ for time shift channels
-Missing quick view by Category Sports, Comedy, Action etc
-No channel or time display on the front of system
-No display of total storage used/remaining

Internet
+Free wireless router
-Slower D/L speeds average 6mbps vs +20mbps on Shaw
-Terrible connection - signal drops, unreliable! Constant reseting of the router in order for it to work.

Customer Service - Tech
+ Friendly, knowledgeable staff
-Long, long wait times - called MTS more this past week than I have called Shaw in the 4 years I have had them.

Phone
=Same as Shaw


So far pleased with the bundle, not a fan of the internet at all. For the price I am paying it is a good deal, but not sure how long I can deal with the poor internet service.
I agree with you on the categories on the guide. MTS ultimate Tv as cool as it is , its just the beginnning. Microsoft mediaroom which mts is based on has some really cool things coming down the pip in the next year or so. Keep the suggestions coming and maybe MTS will be listening.
mediaroomrocks is offline  
 
post #34 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-22, 10:31 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In front of my keyboard
Posts: 31
Some app ideas for MTS ultimate TV

Given what at&t have been doing and from what I know about other telcos around the world with mediaroom here are some things that may just find their way to MTS ultimate tv

Better title and track info for music
Caller Id perhaps from multiple phone lines
Flixr for tv
Twitter for tv
Facebook for tv
More than one pip on the screen next to the full screen video ( Mediaroom supports up to 5)
Email, voicemail
Photo and music sharing on the home network
Remote control of the pvr

and given what Microsoft has in store for the next release this is just the tip of the iceberg. AT&T are really leading the game in the US and MTS seems to be catching up really quick.
mediaroomrocks is offline  
post #35 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-24, 08:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Mediaroom also offers a feature in which you can go back in the guide (say 1 hour rolling on select channels) and watch the program. The way it essentially works is on the network side, each show is recorded into a Video on Demand asset, that's available for 60 minutes from the time it aired. Pretty cool feature when you think of how many times you "just missed" a program.
davidb1 is offline  
post #36 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-27, 04:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 18
Quote:
Guide Day +/-
When in the "Guide" screen, press the "Enter/Zoom" button on the remote. This will bring up a side menu allowing you to jump to later times "tonight, tomorow, etc".

4:3 Over-ride (STRETCH)
When the set top is outputting in HD (720p/1080i), press the "Enter/Zoom" button on the remote. This will bring up a side menu allowing you to "stretch" the 4:3 pricture on SD channels so they fit the full screen.
Bless you, Bless you, Bless you!!! I had even programmed my TV's aspect controls into the MTS remotes in an attempt do do this easily. Now that was a Christmas gift!
HoggerJeff is offline  
post #37 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2
The one thing that my wife and I really miss is the ability to page up/ page down in the channel guide. I'm currently finding it next to impossible to browse the channels in an efficient manner. am i missing something?
SterlingBlue is offline  
post #38 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 03:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by SterlingBlue View Post
The one thing that my wife and I really miss is the ability to page up/ page down in the channel guide. I'm currently finding it next to impossible to browse the channels in an efficient manner. am i missing something?
Simple! Use the channel/page +/- button!
justywusty is offline  
post #39 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-30, 05:36 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2
Thanks for the advice, I didn't notice those buttons on the MTS remote.

I'm going to check the harmony config tool and see if there if those buttons exist. i didn't see them last time I checked.

Worst case I can always teach it.

Thanks!

EDIT

lol My bad. I never even tried using the channel button as I was so used to using the Dpad to browse! Thanks soooo much!
SterlingBlue is offline  
post #40 of 47 (permalink) Old 2009-12-31, 12:12 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 32
Is there a fast way on the remote to turn closed captioning on and off as well?
btrupp is offline  
post #41 of 47 (permalink) Old 2010-01-13, 11:01 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,325
Does MTS-Ultimate TV Service do sim-subs with their US Network channels?

Do you think the SuperBowl will be broadcast from Minneapolis-CBSHD with US commercials?
dm_4u is online now  
post #42 of 47 (permalink) Old 2010-01-13, 05:05 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,940
It looks like MTS doesn't sim-sub U.S. HD networks since there are no HD stations in Winnipeg... yet.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #43 of 47 (permalink) Old 2010-01-13, 07:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
1080p???

Does anyone know why there is no 1080p setting on the set top box?

I have it at 1080i right now. Does this mean quality is suffering?
tobe is offline  
post #44 of 47 (permalink) Old 2010-01-14, 01:58 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
For C.C. try the bottom right button (enter/aspect button on the silver remote, or enter/zoom on the black remote) and then press the right arrow to see what else is there. Might be something under audio

There isn't a 1080p setting because it's not capable. I'm assuming progressive scan needs a lot more bandwidth
Macman is offline  
post #45 of 47 (permalink) Old 2010-01-14, 06:43 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman View Post
For C.C. try the bottom right button (enter/aspect button on the silver remote, or enter/zoom on the black remote) and then press the right arrow to see what else is there. Might be something under audio

There isn't a 1080p setting because it's not capable. I'm assuming progressive scan needs a lot more bandwidth
as I understand most broadcasts are shot in 720p......I wonder if MTS will ever have 1080p capabilities....
tobe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome