MTS HD Networks - Problems? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-11-03, 11:04 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 83
I noticed the black flashes on The Scored HD last night.
wpgjets2004 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-11-04, 08:11 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Well - the black flashes were gone on NBCHD last night... so maybe they worked on something?
Mozza is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-11-09, 11:07 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
I noticed the black flashes were back last night. I was watching the CTV-HD National news.
bimbamboom is offline  
 
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-11-25, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
I have some on certain stations too. MCHD is one......I'll wait a bit to call
tobe is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-11-27, 07:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomGuy View Post
has anyone called in to let MTS know? I don't see this so it may not be the same for everyone. I wouldn't wait hoping MTS reads it hear and fixes it, best is to call and give them the details like time and date and channel of the problem so they can track it down.
I called yesterday.....so far (cross fingers) the problem is gone sine I got home from work.

They said they are getting a lot of calls about it.......and are working on it.
tobe is offline  
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-12-07, 10:55 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
The black flashes were back last night, during the CTV National News on CTV-HD. I thought this had been fixed since I haven't experienced it for a few weeks.
bimbamboom is offline  
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-12-07, 10:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
yup......rather annoying now. Obviously the randomness of this tell us they have no clue how to fix it.
tobe is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-12-08, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobe View Post
yup......rather annoying now. Obviously the randomness of this tell us they have no clue how to fix it.
FOLLOW-UP

I called today and they said it was most likely a "feed" issue and will be dealt with by Friday. They would not have to come to my home to fix it.

Somehow...(and maybe Macman can help with this)......The tech guy was able to see the black flashes while I was speaking to him. Right when we was asking if I had it on the channel it happened and he saw it. ...weird

Its a real issue and I will let you know if its resolved.
tobe is offline  
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 2009-12-09, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
I'm guessing they can see the data going through the line. Cool anyhow.
Macman is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-01-03, 12:28 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
I've been noticing that the black flashes are still happening. Saturday night on NBDHD during SNL. Also last week on the movie channel free preview. Should I bother to call MTS about it or are they aware of it already?
bimbamboom is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-01-03, 02:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Winnipeg,MB
Posts: 94
the more that call, the more likely they will get a handle on this. I have not noticed it lately, but I did not watch any of the stations you are referring too....

So yes I would call!
tobe is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-01-12, 11:34 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Can't seem to watch NBCHD tonight - the little preview PIP in the guide shows the picture, but if I select the channel it comes up black. Anyone else?
Mozza is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-01-13, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
Can't seem to watch NBCHD tonight - the little preview PIP in the guide shows the picture, but if I select the channel it comes up black. Anyone else?
never had a problem with NBC last night myself.

I seem to recall a while back a channel did the same thing, I could get the PIP but the full channel. I just went into Settings and Reset the box and everything was fine.
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-01-15, 12:03 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
I seem to recall a while back a channel did the same thing, I could get the PIP but the full channel. I just went into Settings and Reset the box and everything was fine.
I'll try that next time, if it comes up.
Mozza is offline  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 2010-03-31, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 68
I've noticed that people aren't reporting the black flashing problems anymore. I'm not sure if that is because it is not a problem anymore, or people have gotten used to it. As for myself, I still get the flashing occurring on random HD channels, so I put it a call to tech support. He said he's never heard of the problem. He wanted to do a complete reset of my PVR, but mentioned I would lose all my recordings. So I'm going to live with the black flashes for now. Just wondering if other people have had the problem fixed with a complete system reset?
bimbamboom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome