MTS IPTV/HSI and 3rd party routers help. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-09-18, 08:14 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

MTS IPTV/HSI and 3rd party routers help.

Hey,
I'm getting the IPTV installed and am not sure what to do about my wireleess part for the internet. They said they are not responsible for 3rd party routers as they supply you with a router/wireless router. I have an Apple Airport Express that I'd like to use, but I'm unsure of how to hook it up/configure it with this new DHCP system. Would the MTS supplied wireless be 811.n, and will it work with my iPod touch as well as the Airport Express? I wonder if the installer would set it up for me.
Thanks for any replies.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-09-18, 12:11 PM

Hi, I'm a contractor that works with the new system daily, so I'll give you my 2 cents.

It is a G router, not N unfortunately. But internet speeds aren't anywhere near G yet, so unless you're gaming or transferring large files between computers, i think its a moot point.

MTS is not responsible for setting up your router, but some installers will anyway. Most likely not, with it being mac. That scares a lot of them away. Google "MTS 3rd party router" and look at the first result. That should help you a little. I think the "Airport Admin" program (under applications, then utilities) or whatever its called has a setting called "Bridge mode". Put it to that, and also try and change the IP of the airport to 192.168.100.200

The MTS router will work wirelessly with the touch, and it should work with your existing router, but you could probably just pack away yours for now, unless yours is N and you are set on still using it.

HTH! Good luck
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2009-09-18, 12:52 PM
Member #1