What's next for MTS Advanced HD? - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-25, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
Did you ask about the degrading picture quality?
Hey Mozza,
I didn't ask, i should have but I forgot since I haven't seen any macroblocking on my TV. I watch a lot of sports and I just haven't seen it.

But I am dropping my the Home Show after work, I will drop by the MTS booth and ask
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-25, 11:05 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Winnipeg - Bell-Satellite
Posts: 2,325
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman View Post
Yeah, I guess that's just a design flaw/limitation. I hear that all the time. With the classic system, there were a few times where I encountered a house where I set up two MTS TV services in it! So they had 6 streams in total.

I think there was only one time where the CSR gve them the 2nd account at no charge (I bet they got in trouble for that!) but I think the second stream was locked onto basic + 9 with the 9 most popular themes only available.
I would be VERY happy if they allowed me 6 total streams, with only HD on the second PVR!
dm_4u is offline  
post #78 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-25, 07:36 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
They have Aspect Ratio settings already, somewhere else in the menu. What we need is Aspect ratio changes "on the fly", using just one button.
I just got hooked up with the HD system and the tech told me that MTS will be upgrading the firmware on the boxes next week that will fix the 4:3 bars on the SD channels.
greeniguana_01 is offline  
 
post #79 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-25, 11:03 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeniguana_01 View Post
I just got hooked up with the HD system and the tech told me that MTS will be upgrading the firmware on the boxes next week that will fix the 4:3 bars on the SD channels.
What do you think would be a fix?

I don't want MTS or the STB manufacturer or TV manufacturer deciding on my behalf to either distort or cut off parts of a picture so that a 4:3 broadcast fills a 16:9 screen.

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #80 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-26, 09:20 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally Posted by dschell_2000 View Post
What do you think would be a fix?

I don't want MTS or the STB manufacturer or TV manufacturer deciding on my behalf to either distort or cut off parts of a picture so that a 4:3 broadcast fills a 16:9 screen.

Dave S.
They have the new software at the Home Show, I posted a run down on what htey showed me in a new thread, but basically the enter button now lets you change your aspect ratio from normal to stretch to zoom. you can choose what you want and it sticks to all channels until you change it. it works really slick.
SomeRandomGuy is offline  
post #81 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-26, 11:11 AM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomGuy View Post
They have the new software at the Home Show, I posted a run down on what htey showed me in a new thread, but basically the enter button now lets you change your aspect ratio from normal to stretch to zoom. you can choose what you want and it sticks to all channels until you change it. it works really slick.
What about on HD channels that are already strecthed? I use my aspect button on my tv to stretch to Sd channels, but the guide and the channels that are already strecthed don't look right. Will this change affect them?
greeniguana_01 is offline  
post #82 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-26, 11:12 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeRandomGuy View Post
They have the new software at the Home Show, I posted a run down on what htey showed me in a new thread, but basically the enter button now lets you change your aspect ratio from normal to stretch to zoom. you can choose what you want and it sticks to all channels until you change it. it works really slick.
I suppose this could be useful on older TV sets.

My Panasonic already has a button for this, so MTS replicating that function doesn't do much for me.

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #83 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mozza View Post
That's an amazing uncompetitive package they've got there. Why split the US networks off of "free HD"?

Nice bait and switch, MTS. I'm interested to see what my sign-up promo turns into after this. By my calculation, I'll have to spend $7 more a month to get what I get now, and what I was promised to get when I signed up.

At least they added Discovery HD though. That's nice. I wonder if these added channels are why the quality is starting to suffer, though...

EDIT: Just noticed TSN2 in there, contrary to what I was told last month... and History HD? That's somewhat exciting.
Yah it already cost way more than Shaw's HD package which is only $9.00 and includes all these channels expect the time shift and HiFi channels. Not sure why MTS is going this route will have to wait and see I guess.
greeniguana_01 is offline  
post #84 of 106 (permalink) Old 2009-09-30, 07:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeniguana_01 View Post
Yah it already cost way more than Shaw's HD package which is only $9.00 and includes all these channels expect the time shift and HiFi channels. Not sure why MTS is going this route will have to wait and see I guess.
Do you mind spelling out how you get that $9 figure?

I just looked at Shaw on the web, and it looks like I would have to pay $69.95 for a HDTV package that includes the same channels.

Dave S.
dschell_2000 is offline  
post #85 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-07, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 83
Has anyone heard a release date for the firmware that will give us on-screen caller ID? It seems like it was 3 or 4 weeks ago that MTS said it was coming soon.
wpgjets2004 is offline  
post #86 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-08, 10:59 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
Memo said a phased roll out is planned for march.

Macman is offline  
post #87 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-08, 07:47 PM
tux
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,329
I personally have Shaw Digital Basic ($35.95/mo) with an HD PVR. The HD box automatically entitles me to ch 200-209 (PBS HD,NBC HD,ABC HD,CBS HD,FOX HD & timeshifts + CBC HD Toronto).

I don't get any of the SD channels listed on the Shaw site as Tier 1, Tier 2, or Tier 3 (such as SHOWCASE, SPIKE, CNN, HISTORY, etc), but the HD Plus add-on for $9.00/mo entitles me to most of channels 210-231 (incl. CTV HD, SCORE HD, TSN HD, TSN2 HD, WGN HD, HISTORY HD, Encore Ave 3 HD, etc)
tux is offline  
post #88 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-08, 11:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
dschell - Shaw's HD packages are as follows, basic HD which is included with the box and HD Plus which currently covers all the other specialty HD channels and only costs $9/mo. Of course for MC HD or SC HD you need to subscribe to them. It only costs $69.95 if you have the 3 digital tiers. Basic $35.95/mo and HD Plus $9/mo should cost about $50/mo total.
vjose78 is offline  
post #89 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-09, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
What's new? We gots our own forums, we dids!

(Finally!)
Mozza is offline  
post #90 of 106 (permalink) Old 2010-03-09, 12:25 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,318
Yes finally MTS has its own forum. There certainly is enough posting and threads to warrant it.
vjose78 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome