MTS Advanced HDTV Now Available in Winnipeg - Page 19 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #271 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-08, 10:40 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
Clipse, the new channels won't be added until Oct. 26. However according to this post you will NOT be required to get the SD timeshift to order the HD timeshift.
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...757#post987757
Dr.Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-08, 11:16 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Quote:
The harmony isn't much help. I have to sometimes hit a button on the remote several times before the MTS box recognizes it. Sometimes it doesn't ever recognize it at all. The only way it works like it's supposed to is if I'm 4ft from the tv which isn't practical.
Have you tried moving the box away from the TV? How close is it now? Maybe try moving it to the side of the TV, or infront of, etc depending on where you have it now?

The Harmony remote 100% helped me, so I'm not sure what to tell you.
Mozza is offline  
post #273 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-08, 11:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba Canada
Posts: 113
The MTS box is on a shelf below the tv and I have tried moving it forward but it didn't seem to do anything. I can't move it to the side because there are other components in the tv stand. After doing some reading online there seems to be an issue with the Motorola box and LCD and Plasma tvs where the tv's IR interferes with the Motorola box getting the signal. I have a large LCD tv so this may be the issue.
cjob68 is offline  
 
post #274 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-08, 10:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba Canada
Posts: 113
I found a fix. I turned off digital noise reduction on my tv and the remotes now work perfectly.
cjob68 is offline  
post #275 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-08, 11:25 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
GREAT TO HEAR. Hopefully others having the same problem happen across this.

Did you call MTS and let them know?
Mozza is offline  
post #276 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 01:31 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 35
Hey guys, just a random question about cables, which I know absolutely nothing about. Just moved to a new house and MTS hooked me up with HD again. The installer ran an ethernet cable from the main hub receiver to our main 52" TV and a coax cable to my little 27" tv in the bedroom. (There's only one coax spot out on this main receiver.) My husband seems to think that coax would have been better for the main TV. Yes/no? What do you guys think? Would it make any noticeable difference going with coax for the main TV? (Just trying to make him feel better about it.)

** Oh btw, for those going through old posts here, the problem I was having with audio drop outs completely went away one day! I'm thinking it was after firmware update. (I noticed a change in the grouping of my recorded shows at the same time the audio was fixed for me.) So that's great news. It's SUCH A RELIEF not having the sound cut out every 30 seconds!!! Almost had to go back to Star Choice.
plum is offline  
post #277 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 04:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba Canada
Posts: 113
No I didn't call MTS about this.
cjob68 is offline  
post #278 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 04:43 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
The system works like this: The main receiver (Motorola VIP 1216, the one with the hard drive in it) is fed with Cat 5 from the 2WIRE hub. All the other tv's in the home are fed with coax off the 2WIRE hub, using a technology called HPNA. This is the way all homes are supposed to be wired up, to meet MTS's standards. The main reason being that there are only 4 ethernet ports on the 2WIRE hub, but a home can have up to 6 set top boxes (including the main PVR, the VIP 1216). So TV's 2 through 6 are run off coax since a splitter can be used, thus keeping 3 ethernet ports on the 2WIRE open for internet.

I'm guessing the main TV could run off coax, but there wouldn't be any difference in picture etc as those wires are just carrying digital data, not analog pictures.

IMO, just leave it as is.
Macman is offline  
post #279 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-18, 10:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Available in my area, but not??

So I live in an apartment with three buildings. Each building has its own postal code. According to MTS' web site the two buildings which I do not live in have the HD TV available, whereas my building does not.

Has anyone else had this happen to them? I plan on calling them tomorrow but curious what other people's experiences are like this.

Thanks,

Kelly
GraphicsPro is offline  
post #280 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-19, 02:45 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
I'd say it's probably just a glitch, and that all 3 are probably fed off the same telephone line coming from the pole.
Macman is offline  
post #281 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-19, 08:02 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 1,106
Agreed - best to call in and verify.
Mozza is offline  
post #282 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-19, 11:25 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
Not my building

So I just called, they said that HD is not available to my building. Might be because it is running off a different pole than the other two. She said to check back in the new year.

I find it funny that one building out of the three is connected differently, but I wasn't involved in wiring the complex so whatever.

Good luck to everyone else wanting it.
GraphicsPro is offline  
post #283 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-19, 02:38 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman View Post
The system works like this: The main receiver (Motorola VIP 1216, the one with the hard drive in it) is fed with Cat 5 from the 2WIRE hub. All the other tv's in the home are fed with coax off the 2WIRE hub, using a technology called HPNA. This is the way all homes are supposed to be wired up, to meet MTS's standards. The main reason being that there are only 4 ethernet ports on the 2WIRE hub, but a home can have up to 6 set top boxes (including the main PVR, the VIP 1216). So TV's 2 through 6 are run off coax since a splitter can be used, thus keeping 3 ethernet ports on the 2WIRE open for internet.

I'm guessing the main TV could run off coax, but there wouldn't be any difference in picture etc as those wires are just carrying digital data, not analog pictures.

IMO, just leave it as is.
Thanks Macman! Yeah, I had no clue about which cable would be better for the main TV (coax or ethernet from the main hub device to the pvr) but like I say, my husband was thinking coax. Hopefully this will ease his mind. All I know about the installation is that there was a lot of fishing envolved!

Either way, I'm happy over all with the picture quality of MTS HD. Coming from Star Choice HD, I still think it was a little better, but unless I had both services side-by-side I don't think I could say that for sure. MTS definitely has a big leg up with the pvr rental options.
plum is offline  
post #284 of 284 (permalink) Old 2009-10-26, 01:23 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjob68 View Post
No I didn't call MTS about this.
Are you Brian Barkley?
donovanfromwpg is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome