Fibe in Apartment Buildings - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 10:38 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
Yep. All is good. She found the router and the default credentials on the sticker all work. I believe now that what I was seeing for the extra connected devices were probably "ghosts" from previous tenants (some showed ethernet connections, some showed wifi - the actual connected WiFi clients screen only showed three devices which is correct - laptop, tablet and PVR). I've changed the router's admin password, but leaving the WiFi passwords for the time being until my next trip up. I don't want to mess with things until I'm actually back on site in case something goes sideways.

Thanks, everyone. I (and she) feel a whole lot better now. Things are working the way they should be and she's all secured.
can3gxw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlanticRebel View Post
Looks like they did Option 2 from my earlier post. If you can get into the R3000, change the WiFi settings, and disable WPS as it's enabled by default(all the BA equipment(R1000/R3000/HH3k) comes with it turned on, even though WPS has long been compromised), it will still be turned on for the TV setup.
Yes - and this is exactly what she's got here. Ethernet into the WAN port and out from there.
can3gxw is offline  
post #18 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-30, 02:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,496
Were those other devices active or inactive? It's possible that the previous tenant was "sharing" the internet.
ExDilbert is online now  
 
post #19 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 08:37 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
They were inactive. They were still in the list of devices but when I went to the actual WiFi SSID page, there were only her three devices.

4 of those devices were hard wired - they had the PC icon, not the Wireless one.

In any event, even if someone is still sharing the internet we're not worried at this point. I'll be making a trip up around Thanksgiving and will tighten the screws down completely and removing ALL traces of the default SSIDs and passwords. I don't want to do anything like that right now because I have no way to correct the problem if anything goes sideways.
can3gxw is offline  
post #20 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 09:22 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
One other thing about this (not directly the same question) but I'd like to also change her IP scope. I haven't used the 192.168.2.0 scope on home networks for a while for various reasons.

Will this have any effect on the TV service? If I change the router IP to, say, 192.168.68.1? How is the receiver provisioned on the account?
can3gxw is offline  
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 448
STBs just use the normal DHCP assignments, changing your IP scope won't hurt them, but I always recommend giving them a power cycle after changing it.
AtlanticRebel is online now  
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 01:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
Kewl thanks. Yea, everything would get a reboot just to make sure.

What about the SSIDs though? Would we have to assign it to the new wireless network or just pair it using WPS?
can3gxw is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 02:23 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,133
^^^^
Don't use WPS. It has security problems. Just pick a good password and use WPA2.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
Is there somewhere in the receiver that I can enter a password? Or no? I've never had to set up a receiver before and want to make sure I don't break it.
can3gxw is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-07-31, 09:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,496
Quote:
Don't use WPS. It has security problems.
True but some devices don't offer an option. Devices like mesh repeaters and wireless TV boxes may use WPS automatically and provide no alternative.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-08-01, 07:55 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
I found the pairing and setup instructions for the 4K boxes on BA's support page. It says to specifically use WPS, but when I'm there I may set up the wireless in case she wants to move it, but I'll jack it into the wall instead. Ethernet > wireless
can3gxw is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-08-01, 10:25 AM
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 448
Normally, there is a special SSID for TV that has WPS enabled, even if you disable it on the other one. I have my WPS disabled, and the STBs work fine.
AtlanticRebel is online now  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 2019-08-01, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pictou County, NS
Posts: 458
I do now recall seeing something along the lines of "IPTV" in the SSID list. I would have to double check that and leave that one alone, but otherwise I'm good to go.

Thanks everyone! It's always fun to mess around with your own network, but someone else's (in this case my senior mother's) is a different story when you're also 4 hours away.
can3gxw is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome