Bell Aliant Gigabit FibreOP Discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 30Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-29, 11:13 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,509
Compare that to Google gigabit FTTH in major US cities for $70/mo and $130 for internet plus TV. In response, Comcast is rolling out 2Gb internet at comparable prices. Now, compare that to what is available here and many other cities in SW Ontario. That's 5Mbps DSL with a 140GB cap for $54/mo or 60Mbps cable internet with a 200GB cap for $75 (plus undisclosed extra fees.) Bell hasn't upgraded their lines or service in over 10 years. You call that competition? Their are a couple of faster cable internet plans but they jump to $85+ for 100Mbps and $95+ for 250Mbps. Service reliability and response times are pitiful as well, typically taking 3 to 6 days to fix outages.
ExDilbert is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 06:31 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverview, NB
Posts: 965
I've said this elsewhere and I'll say it here:

Competition doesn't inherently bring change, a company willing to take a risk and do something different brings change.

I'd say that's even happened here - just not completely in the pricing front. Rogers originally didn't have unlimited, then it was an option, now it's standard for almost all tiers. Why? Not because they wanted to. Because BA has been different since the beginning with no caps and Rogers had to change. Would they say that? Probably not. They'd probably say "we were always planning to move to an unlimited model for the benefit of our customers".

As well - people always throw out the Google Fiber thing. Google isn't trying to compete. They're just trying something out and being different to try to instill change elsewhere. Are they making money? Maybe. In the big scheme of things Google Fiber is a drop in the bucket to them. They're an anomaly. Just because they can do it doesn't mean other companies can at a scale.

Don't get me wrong - I like the idea of Google Fiber and the price point. I have a friend who has it and he loves it. Do I think that the idea is plausible for a company that isn't Google? I'm skeptical. Do I think we'll see it? Doubt it. Do I want the Bell Aliant side of things to continue to change? Yup.

But *shrug*. We'll see what the future holds.
reets likes this.
file is offline  
post #18 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 07:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
Service reliability and response times are pitiful as well, typically taking 3 to 6 days to fix outages.
As opposed to American cable customer service, right?

My best friend is American, and he's envious as hell of what BA offers up here. Google Fiber has a tiny footprint, and huge swaths of the US are covered by a cable company and nothing else above ADSL. Verizon stopped expanding FiOS to new areas, so Comcast owns that territory, and they act like the monopoly that they effectively are. There's a reason so many municipalities want to start up their own ISPs, and why the big telcos bribe state politicians with campaign donations to ban it.

The grass is actually pretty green for home Internet in the Maritimes, if you compare what we're getting to what the majority get elsewhere, rather than to where Google feels like throwing it's cash pile around.
file and reets like this.
Tridus is offline  
 
post #19 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 51
Just read a financial report that indicated that Bell will have to maintain pricing discipline to maintain a reasonable return on investment, indicating an ARPU of $20 per customer is required, so once the dust settles 1GPS may become the new "normal". It also indicated that Rogers can ramp up to 1GPS with relatively little cost.
doscott is offline  
post #20 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 10:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,509
That's my point exactly. Rogers can ramp up to higher speeds and unlimited plans in many areas quite easily but often choose not to unless another company like Bell Aliant comes along. Similarly, Bell Aliant (really Bell now) doesn't upgrade its networks either unless Rogers ramps up it's plans. I'm not saying the US is better but it does serve as an example of how market forces work. There are lots of examples, especially in the US, where competition has lowered prices and improved service. Bell Aliant's Gb upgrade is a good thing but there has to be competition to maintain the rollout to underserved areas and keep prices in check.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #21 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-06-30, 12:31 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 1,159
Rogers can ramp up, but do you want to live in the neighbourhood shared with a 100 homes? No thanks! At least with BA you are pretty much assured you are going to get what you pay for with the slow downs outside of the BA network.

Rogers may have attractive plans and pricing but they have a history of over subscribing their service. Right now, there are areas in Dieppe that are oversubscribed and people are leaving Rogers to BA and paying more money.
habskilla is offline  
post #22 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 02:00 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 153
Isn't Fibe FTTC and FibreOP FTTH ?

Does it mean they plan to offer Fibe to other regions besides Qc and Ont?

If so, this would be good news for a lot of people who can't get FibreOp in appartment buildings...

It's time they get rid of DSL and offer a hybrid/fttc solution
Stefer is offline  
post #23 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 02:20 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverview, NB
Posts: 965
Fibe is both FTTC and FTTH, they are under the same umbrella. There's just higher tiers on the FTTH.

I don't understand what you mean by getting rid of DSL. FTTC is DSL, just closer to the homes so that the loop length is shorter.
file is offline  
post #24 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 03:17 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Moncton, NB
Posts: 153
Hmm i didn't mean to get rid of the DSL technology per say but to upgrade it to FTTC. Right now you have a choice of old DSL product tiers, modems that can't handle much more than 30Mbps, etc., OR FibreOp.

So people that live in apt buildings that won't allow/pay for FibreOp have only once choice if they want more than 10-15Mbps, its to go with big red.
Stefer is offline  
post #25 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 03:26 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Riverview, NB
Posts: 965
I don't see that as a problem. Rogers can pick up those customers. The end goal shouldn't be to service everyone. It should be to service the places where it makes financial sense. That's just me, though.
file is offline  
post #26 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 04:46 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 16,140
I think Aliant stopped rolling out FTTN/FTTC when they started FibreOP, since the cost is about the same. They may make an exception for apt/condo buildings where the management is being uncooperative, but it's hard to say.

You can expect new installations to be FTTH and gigabit.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #27 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 05:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
I think running pure FTTH without any active equipment is now cheaper than installing copper,amplifiers, couplers, power supplies, etc.
thenewdc is offline  
post #28 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-03, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NL
Posts: 199
The process of rolling FibreOP to MDUs ( Multi Dwelling Units) is moving along in St. John's NL, I assume as MDU owners get more requests from their tenants FibreOP will be more readily available to those folks. Eventually even those with underground wiring will get it as there is a project to erect poles in those areas so overhead services will be available, seems its cheaper to erect poles and run service lines rather than dig up existing underground services...only time will tell I guess.
chr67 is offline  
post #29 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-10, 11:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
@chr67 There is discussion about going above ground in underground sections of Mt.Pearl, St.John's and Paradise between Bell, NALCOR, Rogers( Cost sharing ). Also we are getting to most of the buildings now with fiber/invisalight . There is almost 40 MDU's completed already .
m00se709 is offline  
post #30 of 155 (permalink) Old 2015-07-12, 07:52 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
It should be to service the places where it makes financial sense. That's just me, though.
Back when we had just a telephone monopoly, servicing unprofitable areas was just part of the deal. If you wanted the high profit areas, you also had to do the unprofitable. Internet access is now approaching the utility status that the phone has long had, in that it's becoming an essential service, for both home & business.

Quote:
I think running pure FTTH without any active equipment is now cheaper than installing copper,amplifiers, couplers, power supplies, etc.
One thing to bear in mind is that installing the cable tends to cost more than the cable itself. So, if a company has copper pairs installed, they'd be in no hurry to replace it. Also, a copper pair that's used for voice only can go quite a distance, without any equipment other than loading coils.
khx73 likes this.

I haven't lost my mind. It's around here...somewhere...
JamesK is online now  
Reply

Tags
gigabit ethernet

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome