Aliant TV Remote Control Questions - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 01:24 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Saint John, NB
Posts: 298
How to kill "Press OK to Watch TV" message

I keep getting a "Press OK to Watch TV" message which is screwing up the programming of my Harmony remote. Is there a way to kill this?

VIP5662W/2202,SamUN55KS8000F/46C6300,BDK8500/C5500,Denon3805,ParadigmMon9,CC370,MiniMon,PS1000/HWK650,HarmUlt1,WDLiveTVs
Lenster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 2013-08-29, 01:48 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
Lenster, the Aliant STBs are never truly "off" - they are always in standby, which is why you see the "press OK" message.

It sounds like your power on/off is getting out of sync with what the Harmony thinks it is. Make sure when you power on or off you point right at the STB. I think there's a power light on the box that will confirm if the power on/off worked correctly.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 2013-09-03, 10:45 AM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Saint John, NB
Posts: 298
Light is off when I try to Power On.

VIP5662W/2202,SamUN55KS8000F/46C6300,BDK8500/C5500,Denon3805,ParadigmMon9,CC370,MiniMon,PS1000/HWK650,HarmUlt1,WDLiveTVs
Lenster is offline  
 
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 2013-09-03, 11:47 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
Lenster, so to sum up:
1. The STB power light is off.
2. You press the TV button on the Harmony remote.
3. The STB power light always turns on.
4. Sometimes the STB says "Press OK to watch TV" even though the STB power light is on.

Is this correct?

When this happens, can you press OK to watch TV?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 2013-09-25, 08:37 PM
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Saint John, NB
Posts: 298
Well, a previous poster stated correctly that the receiver never powers off completely. So when the Harmony doesn't turn the receiver on (the light doesn't come on), and the TV comes on, I get the Press OK to watch TV message. I press OK and the light and receiver come on and I'm back in business.

Initially, I thought this was a remote issue when in fact this is the way it works. The message should say Press OK to turn on receiver, as the TV is already on in this case. A bit confusing, but I get it now. In fact, when it goes astray like I described, I now prefer to press OK to turn the receiver on which is quicker than going through the Help menu on the remote.

And as per your previous suggestion, I specified VIP1216 as my PVR when programming my remote which worked beautifully. Harmony don't have the proper setup for the VIP2262 box yet, but the older one works. Thanks for the replies.

VIP5662W/2202,SamUN55KS8000F/46C6300,BDK8500/C5500,Denon3805,ParadigmMon9,CC370,MiniMon,PS1000/HWK650,HarmUlt1,WDLiveTVs
Lenster is offline  
post #21 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-15, 03:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Bay, Ontario
Posts: 107
If you are using the Harmony remote as a 2nd remote in the same room (say one for you and one for the wife). I called Bell Aliant and had them send me a 2nd Bell Fibreop remote. They told me it was $8, but they have yet to bill me for it yet.
greatger is offline  
post #22 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-19, 10:10 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
Has anyone figured out a way of getting the master power (simultaneous power on) going for the receiver in addition to the TV and STB on the MXv4? I've run into some guides online, but each has something slightly different. From what I gather, the remote code is 9-9-5 and then pressing the devices in sequence for the power on.

I did do something and made it work through the AUX button. I reset the remote, and can't get anything going at all.

Any ideas?
badget is offline  
post #23 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-20, 08:21 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
badget, I found this for MXv4. It should work if you add AUX at the end of Step 4.

Configuration - Master Power Lock

Step 1 - Press STB
Step 2 - Hold setup till the red light flashes twice.
Step 3 - Enter in code 995
Step 4 - Press Power, Press TV, Press Power, Press STB, Press Power
Step 5 - Hold setup till the red light flashes twice.

If that doesn't work, you can try Sasktel:

http://support.sasktel.com/app/answe...ail/a_id/12141
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #24 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-24, 11:28 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
I tried that, but it seems to not want to co-operate. The AUX never lights up as you would expect it to during the sequential power on of the other devices.
badget is offline  
post #25 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-24, 11:45 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
Is your AUX button programmed to control your receiver? I.E., can you press AUX, then POWER to turn your receiver of and on?

There are a few different models of MXv4 - does yours have a LEARN button?

Have you tried the Sasktel instructions?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #26 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-24, 08:20 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 32
There's no learn button on my remote. I did the process again, and tried the AUX in different parts of the sequence in Step 4. It remapped the power button to the device button. The last button pressed in Step 4 seems to bind the "power-on" macro to that button.

Sasktel instructions don't seem to work, unfortunately. The remote doesn't seem to enter that programming mode.
badget is offline  
post #27 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-09-24, 09:03 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,299
Quote:
The last button pressed in Step 4 seems to bind the "power-on" macro to that button.
Have you tried pressing AUX, then POWER in step 4?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #28 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-10-04, 12:24 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fredericton
Posts: 738
Harmony 880 and skip forward

I just bought a Harmony 880 from a friend because I'm tired of replacing the AAAs in my Harmony 520. I can't get the jump forward button to work. I have jump forward working on my 520 and the 770 on the other TV.

I've been through the setup, and researched online. I've even tried to "learn" the jump from the Aliant remote to the "advance" button, and nothing works.

Has anybody had any luck with this?

Thanks.
Bdub is offline  
post #29 of 37 (permalink) Old 2014-10-27, 12:19 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fredericton
Posts: 738
Update on my Harmony: the physical button on the remote didn't work! I mapped "advance" to another button and it works fine.
wmjfoley85 likes this.
Bdub is offline  
post #30 of 37 (permalink) Old 2016-01-09, 06:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,815
Remote control power button multiple device

Hiya. I got a new Denon receiver for Christmas, and managed to program my FibreOp remote control to change it's volume and such. I found MTS has a better guide for this than Aliant does, so I used that: https://www.mts.ca/file_source/mts.c...ence_Guide.pdf

I can turn it on and off if I switch to AUX and press power. The one thing I haven't figured out how to do is change it so when I press the power button in STB mode, the receiver turns on along with the STB and TV. Haven't been able to find anything on how to do this, except one vague reference that it might be impossible on the mxv4 (which going by the pictures on the Aliant site, is the remote I have).

Anybody have any idea how to do it? Thanks!
Tridus is offline  
Reply

Tags
2262 , app , harmony , power , remote

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome