9241 Update Fails to P.O.S.T. with out front panel reset - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-09-12, 07:14 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Question 9241 Update Fails to P.O.S.T. with out front panel reset

Wondering if anyone else has encountered this. My 9241 Receiver fails to power on self test after the daily updates unless I do a front panel reset. I have changed my update time to later on in the morning so I can skip the restart option. It seems to fail about 98-99% of the time. This is my 2nd 9241 with the same issue and I've been living with this for years now. The issue started after the last firmware update back in 2010.

Issue: 9241 Fails to self boot after checking for daily updates - No way to disable this feature.

The restart message appears and if I don't catch it on time the receiver will attempt to reboot. The TV screen goes black and the cooling fan spins at a lower speed and just sits there. I've waited over a day to see if anything would change but it didn't. The only way to get it back is to perform a front panel reset (FPR). If everything in the universe aligns right.. it will actually reboot like its suppose to. Most days I either catch it or do a FPR. Its annoying because when I go away because I know that my scheduled recordings will get missed due to this frozen state.

As I said this is my 2nd box with this issue. I swapped out the first because of this issue and the hard drive was starting to fail. My setup is pretty standard. Dual horn feed, going into SW44. I have 2 receivers in my home 9241 and 6131. Only the 9241 is effected. I know that I am missing Sat Feed 82 due to a large tree in the way and I don't feel like playing Paul Bunyan. Sat 91 has 98% Signal strength. The receiver works if i do a FPR, but the self reboot just hangs. The tech I had out thought it may have to do with the SAT 82 missing but I don't see how that would effect it other than limiting my ability to get HD channels and my 6131 is also set to reboot and it's never had an issue. The other annoying thing is that you can't disable this feature on the 9241. This is leaving me to conclude the 2nd 9241 I have is also funky. If you know different please let me know.

James.
JamesP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-09-12, 10:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,268
It might be a capacitor issue which is common on early 9000 series PVRs. There is a thread around here somewhere on how to replace the capacitors. I couldn't find it. Maybe someone can point it out.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2018-09-12, 11:13 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,270
Telus use the same as Bell. Here's the capacitor thread:

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/58-...locations.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome