Bell Fibe TV Installation Discussion and Questions - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 10:43 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
There are a few HDTV channels missing (i.e. CNN HD)
What is the fascination about CNN HD.? It does NOT exist on ExpressVu so why would you expect it on iPTV.?

Quote:
You connect to the service using FTTN (Fibre to the node). In other words, the fibre terminates in the box at the end of your street
Unless you are in one of the 50 individual homes testing iPTV, your Fiber will terminate in the Building, not down the street.

Quote:
every box has both SD and HDTV capabilities
In other words each receiver is an HD receiver, all HD receivers also show SD shows.

Quote:
I'm very excited to be part of the pilot
The iPTV system has been active and in use for well over 2 years now in Condo's in Toronto, you you are NOT what I would include as part of the "pilot" scheme.

As the major stumbling block to the roll out is being re-worked and made more stable, the iPTV system will become more and more common. Although with the huge number of building that have had a "backbone" installed this year, they will most likely not be in any major rush to implement widely until all the bugs are ironed out.
Pinza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 11:54 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
I know they don't provide CNN HD but is the regular CNN included? I also couldn't find CP24 in the channel lineup. I'm getting IPTV installed on Friday and I'm concerned that these 2 channels aren't included.
plavka is offline  
post #18 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
CNN isn't available yet (SD OR HD) but it will be shortly (according to the install guys). Every other 24 hour news station is there including CP24, Fox, CTVNN, etc. There are quite a few new/extra channels that are included that I haven't seen on competing services...so there is no shortage of content.

The service is really quite good and its exciting to try someone new out. Believe me...I'm a very fussy person and have not been a big supporter of Bell in the past. I decided to come back to Bell (after ripping everything Bell out of my house 2 years ago) just to try the new IPTV service. I'm one of the 50 who is testing this in their home.

J.
Jagadis is offline  
 
post #19 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 02:56 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
Thanks for the info Jagadis, very insightful!

Interesting comments about the service, especially since we are talking about Bell here?! I hope once the service is fully rolled out they offer some competitve packages (i.e. cheaper then Rogers or satellite) and I hope the packages are different then Bell TV. This is still in a test phase so don't go complaining about channels missing. Once the service is made available to the public, because right now its not, then the channel selection will increase. Actually they mention this on the website, that they will offer more channels and more packages by the end of the year.

Quote:
The iPTV system has been active and in use for well over 2 years now in Condo's in Toronto, you you are NOT what I would include as part of the "pilot" scheme.
I think you are confused here, the service being discussed here is not the same as the one in condos. Bell TV for condos is only offered in large apartment complexes and well condos! This IPTV service is an alternative to cable and will be available to everyone- meaning in homes and apartments not just condos. Therefore since this is a different service then yes Jagadis IS part of a pilot project!

It seems people are jumping the gun here a little. This is a test project that is in beta mode, which means that they are currently testing the service and seeing how it works and identifying any problems. This is why it is only available in a few homes, they are the ones who have volunteered to test it out and see how the service works.

I noticed that they are actually charging you a monthly fee, why would I pay for something that is still in test mode?! When a new piece of software comes out you don't pay for it if its a beta release only when the final release comes out are you charged. I guess that is typical Bell, making you pay for something that might still have problems.

Does anyone know if you have to have Bell Internet service in order to subscribe to this or can you use any ISP??
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #20 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 04:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
PlayitSimple, I am NOT wrong, this is iPTV we are talking about, NOT VDSL. Bell TV for Condo's is VDSL.

There are to my knowledge several Condo's in Toronto with iPTV and they have had it for some considerable time I believe at least another 25 or so Condo's in Montreal have iPTV too.

Jagadis is part of a small trial area using iPTV in residential SFU's (Single Famaily Units).
Pinza is offline  
post #21 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-14, 07:51 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
I stand corrected, regardless I am interested in the residential aspect and when/if this IPTV thing will be available for people who live houses/apartments. I don't live in a condo so I could care less about condos.

Bottom line here is it appears this service will FINALLY start to be rolled out to 'regular' folk, meaning non-condo people.
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #22 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-22, 09:30 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Peterborough, ON
Posts: 27
STB

What Set Top Box (STB) are they using for this service?
bbuchana is offline  
post #23 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-22, 10:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I think it is a small Motorola one but could be wrong. They are all HD.
Pinza is offline  
post #24 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 11:23 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Two different units are supplied. All units have both SD and HDTV capabilities built in. I have four televisions running on the service. Bell supplied one Motorola VIP1216 which includes a PVR. The three other TVs were supplied with non PVR units (Motorola VIP1200). You can download a manual for these boxes from Motorola's site but basically they all have HDMI, component, digital optical audio, USB, etc. They are running Microsoft's IPTV software.

Jagadis.
Jagadis is offline  
post #25 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 11:32 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
Jagadis,

Do you know when Bell plans to make this available to the general public?! Also will this be available Ontario-wide at first or just in Toronto?

Thanks.
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #26 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-25, 01:03 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
The only insight I have is from discussions with the installation techs. They indicated that the current plan is to open the service up to the public in early 2009 (Jan?). They also indicated that the service has been running rock solid stable over the last 6-8 months and they are pleased with the performance, etc. The main limiting factor is whether your street is currently wired with Bell's FTTN (fibre to the node) service. Not sure how you check this.

Jagadis.
Jagadis is offline  
post #27 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-29, 03:09 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 844
I called Bell to inquire about this service and it is currently limited to select neighbourhoods in Toronto but as Jagadis mentioned, their plan is to launch the service commercially (available to everyone) in the first quarter of 2009.

Also I noticed that the website has been updated and they have now added more package options. According to the tech I spoke with, the package price includes a reciever, high-speed internet access (you need around 24Mbps) and whatever channel options are included. Its a little pricey but looks like a good deal based on what you are getting.

I wonder how much of a threat this will be to Rogers as Bell will now be able to offer tons of channels with this IPTV service?!
PlayitSimple is offline  
post #28 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-30, 02:00 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 731
Could I possibly solicit responses from those who have had the iPTV system installed to the following queries I have after having talked with the BEV representative:

1). Where are the consoles located ? a) anywhere you designate, or
b) close to the where the phones are located.

2). Are you still able to use a WiFi router ?

3). If you already have BEV satellite dishes, can they be dismantled ?

4). Are there any provisions made for selecting individual channels v. entire theme packages, as presently available ?

5). I have two PVRs now, can they still be used with this new system ?

Thanks for any responses.

Last edited by jgvp; 2008-09-30 at 02:07 AM. Reason: hit wrong button by mistake
jgvp is offline  
post #29 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-30, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Let me see if I can help...

1). Where are the consoles located ? a) anywhere you designate, or
b) close to the where the phones are located.

- The consoles can be placed anywhere you want as long as you let the heat escape properly (just like a Rogers cable box). The box takes its input from your house's coax and then uses either a video, component or HDMI connection to feed the TV. You probably don't want to make the cable length to the TV too long or you will have to buy expensive cables.

2). Are you still able to use a WiFi router ?

- The service comes bundled with a Wireless G router. I had an existing Wireless N router that I wanted to keep (because of the faster speed) and they connected up my N router directly to their G router so that I could use both. Make sense?

3). If you already have BEV satellite dishes, can they be dismantled ?

- You don't need the dish with this service. Just disconnect it or have something remove it. I don't know if they will do it for you especially if it is located in a hard to reach place.

4). Are there any provisions made for selecting individual channels v. entire theme packages, as presently available ?

- Right now I have all the channels turned on except the porno and foreign language channels. I think they are going to offer a bunch of different bundles. The issue in Canada has always been that the CRTC requires you to subscribe to a minimum of Canadian content, etc. My thinking is that you can probably choose to add individual channels as long as you keep the ratio ok. The bundles will probably be cheaper.

5). I have two PVRs now, can they still be used with this new system ?

- I don't think you can use your existing PVRs as the technology is different than Expressvu. They gave me a PVR as part of the service and they are planning to push out an upgrade shortly that lets you access the one PVR from any of the TVs in your house.

Jagadis
Jagadis is offline  
post #30 of 96 (permalink) Old 2008-09-30, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 731
Thanks, Jagadis, for taking the time to respond.

1). I presently have BellExpressVu satellite TV so the coaxial cables that I have are some Cogeco cable TV coaxial cables which were run through the house by the previous owner. Then there are the BEV coaxial cables that I have either threaded through parts of the house myself or had BEV install them through other parts. However, I was under the impression that IPTV used the current phone lines and expected to learn that BEV would use the wall phone outlets in some form or another, which wouldn't you know it, are never near where any of the TVs are. Fortunately the lengths involved would not entail having the added expenditure for expensive cables to ruin the equation.

2). Good news about the wireless 'N' router (faster,) for I am using the Apple Airport Extreme with the Apple TV and wouldn't want to lose it.

3). I suppose BEV would prefer that you leave the dishes where they are anyway, the same as they do when you sell your house.

4). Yes, I see that they now have four different selections when it comes to program packages, but I don't see any mention of being able to select individually priced channels from some theme packs, which is possible right now. I'd hate to lose Setanta right in the middle of the soccer season.

5). Too bad about the PVRs being made redundant. I just hope those consoles ( aka STBs,) are as good if not better than the 9200 series PVRs. That PVR upgrade certainly makes a lot of sense, and yet they are pricing additional consoles at $5/mo. Anything that doesn't add to the 'rat's nest' of cabling is a definite winner in my book.

Thanks again, Jagadis.
jgvp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome