Connecting Fibe directly to AV Receiver - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-02-25, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 3
Connecting Fibe directly to AV Receiver

At the moment I have a setup where my Fibe PVR is plugged into my TV's only HDMI port through an HDMI cable, and into my (rather old) AV Receiver through RCA cables. This works fine for getting surround sound from the PVR.

I'm considering buying a new AV Receiver that would use my TV's sole HDMI input, but I'd like to confirm that I can go PVR -> AV Receiver -> TV. Surprisingly, I couldn't find any instructions on the Bell site for doing so.

Thanks in advance.
Springheel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-02-25, 03:50 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,862
PVR -> AV Receiver -> TV using HDMI should work. There are isolated cases where it doesn't due to minor compatibility issues.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-02-25, 04:03 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 188
Yes, it will work, and most receivers also allow the signal to pass through itself and into the TV even when the receiver is turned off, so you can watch the TV with HDMI audio without the receiver turned on. This allows you to do things like watching the news without having to turn on the receiver to hear audio.
elyk is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 2018-02-25, 04:30 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,037
Although HDMI passthrough is possible with some AVRs when off, they use more power this way (almost as much as when on in some instances) and I believe you usually have to turn on HDMI-CEC, which can cause other issues. Here are a few helpful FAQs:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...ts-issues.html

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...-tvs-avrs.html

I would simply connect the way you outlined in post one and use the AVR all the time, but that's just me. (I do realize that some people sometimes wish to utilize the TV's speakers)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome