Rename HomeHub 2000 wireless network? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-08-20, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 138
Rename HomeHub 2000 wireless network?

Can I change the name/password that came on my new router to something else?

I recently replaced my Fibe router/modem: a Home Hub 2000. It came with a network name and password printed on the label on the back of the device.

Everything worked fine and my various wireless devices were easily taught about the new network...

Except for my HP1102W wireless laser printer. Every time I've replaced the modem, I've had a terrible time getting the printer to use the new network. And since HP printers seem to outlast Bell routers by a large factor, the problem just keeps repeating.

So... would it cause any problems if I used my Ethernet connection to go into the router and change the name/password to the ones on the old, dead router? The printer was communicating just fine with this router.

I've got two laptops that need to print wirelessly, and I'd rather not involve HP Support if I don't have to...
John769 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-08-21, 09:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,943
It's an extremely good idea to change the passwords from the default to something else that is long and secure, at least 12 random characters or a random phrase at least 6 words long with numbers and both cases. That goes for both the login and the wifi passwords. Leaving them as the defaults is a high security risk and is not recommended. It should also be possible to change the wifi name (SSID) without any issues.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2017-08-23, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 138
Problem Solved!

Thanks! I'm now connected wirelessly to my printer using the old router name/password. I can print again!

Moreover, since I have access to the printer through its IP address, I could (I think) put a new secure name/password into the printer; and my router, my laptop, my smartphone(s), my smart TV...
John769 is offline  
Reply

Tags
networking , router

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome