Fibe TV available on Apple TV 4 - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 62 (permalink) Old 2016-12-01, 02:07 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,233
That's what I'm looking for but the Apple TV offering does open the door for FibeTV to be delivered over any Internet connection. It will be interesting to see where this goes.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 62 (permalink) Old 2016-12-01, 06:58 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,054
So if you have Teksavvy cable Internet and Bell Fibe running on that line, who you are going to call when tv is down.
No thanks I will stay with both services with Bell, especially that I pay less for the Internet than what third party offer.
Then again it is not clear if Bell will allow any internet or that Bell Fibe customers will be able to get any internet but Fibe tv will still remain on bell fiber network.
One thing for sure, I really like Apple TV option. It works really good and more features are coming soon.

Few weeks ago I had tried Vmedia on Roku when they had one week free trial. What a difference with that service
channels pixelating or completely disappearing for a while. It was good reminder never to consider that company again.

Last edited by bev fan; 2016-12-01 at 08:41 PM.
bev fan is online now  
post #18 of 62 (permalink) Old 2016-12-01, 07:30 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrooloose View Post
That's what I'm looking for but the Apple TV offering does open the door for FibeTV to be delivered over any Internet connection.
That would violate their broadcast licence. They would have to set up a totally new service under the Digital Media Exemption Order and would have to arrange new licences. VMedia just lost a court case when they tried to provide an open internet TV service (different from IPTV) using Roku.

See: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/12-t...ml#post2831241
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #19 of 62 (permalink) Old 2016-12-17, 12:06 AM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,319
Offer details on Bell's page used to say:
Quote:
Live channels and on demand can only be viewed if included in your Fibe TV subscription and may vary if viewed over Wi-Fi at home vs. outside your home.
It looks like they are cracking down on account splitting. It now says:
Quote:
Live channels and on demand can only be viewed if included in your Fibe TV subscription. Viewing with Apple TV only available within your home.
This could be an issue for those people that use their own router for internet and have a separate network from their Fibe TV receivers.

They also updated the number of channels on Apple TV from 450 to over 500.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #20 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-01-13, 12:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 52
Bell Aliant Fibe guy here. VIP2502 and an ATV 4 sitting on my entertainment stand. Can't wait to ditch the STB. Hoping this service is extending to the Maritimes soon..
Craigwell is offline  
post #21 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-01-26, 09:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 12
I'm using an ATV4 connecting to my projector and when compared to my wireless receiver the video quality is terrible. Anyone else seeing this issue?
boojew is offline  
post #22 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-01-31, 09:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
I have two ATV4 hooked up to 2 Sony TVs and haven't had a problem. The ATV4 are running over Wi-Fi.

I have a wired remote receiver for second TV so cant compare to your wireless unit.

I am using Google's Hub for my Wi fi network as the bell router didn't provide very good Wi Fi,

I don't use the ATV4 for watching TV very much as we seldom watch live TV only recorded programs.

Once Bell (coming soon) gets the ability to watch recorded programming, I will probably use the ATV4 exclusively for watching TV.

I am not sure what they mean be coming soon. To me coming soon means at most several weeks, NOT months.
techwjd is offline  
post #23 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-02-19, 07:37 AM
Eug
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Now in Scarberia!
Posts: 1,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by techwjd View Post
Once Bell (coming soon) gets the ability to watch recorded programming, I will probably use the ATV4 exclusively for watching TV.

I am not sure what they mean be coming soon. To me coming soon means at most several weeks, NOT months.
I've been told it could be as soon as this month. Hopefully it works well. If so, I will return my third receiver, which costs $7 per month and which is connected to a little used TV, and then will put my Apple TV there.

If I had known the ability to watch recorded programming from the PVR was coming so soon after I got Fibe TV (last month), I wouldn't have bothered getting that third receiver. Installation for Fibe TV was $200, and during my negotiations with them for my trio package deal (Fibe FTTH Gigabit internet + Fibe TV + Home Phone Lite) they said they could give me a credit for $200 for 1 or 2 receivers, but only would give me a credit for $150 for 3 receivers. So essentially I paid $50 for installation of that third receiver.

The stupid part is Bell charges exactly $0 for installation of an Apple TV whether you buy it from them or not, but charges $50 for their own TV receiver.

BTW, TV quality looked fine on the Apple TV, but it was on a 43" TV from 12 feet away, so even if it were lower quality it'd be hard to notice. My main issue is that just after first launch there was a pause of about 5 seconds, making me think it locked up. Does everyone notice pauses with the Fibe TV app?
Eug is offline  
post #24 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-02-19, 08:42 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,014
Question?

Bell restricts you to 6 receuivers /account. With this Apple TV thing does that count towards your account or you can add as many of these Apple TV thing to your TV's?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
post #25 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-02-21, 07:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
if you are using Apple TV, it uses the internet and it counts as part of your internet usage. That is why the say you should add unlimited usage to your download cap.

This makes me think the number of devices for TV doesn't count, but your download speed could be a problem if you are streaming a lot at the same time.

I have Fibe 25 and can stream 2 MLB games from MLB.TV on 2 TVs at the same time. If try to do much more you can get a lot of buffering.
techwjd is offline  
post #26 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-02-25, 07:36 PM
Eug
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Now in Scarberia!
Posts: 1,614
The bandwidth and usage are not issues for me. I have unlimited Gigabit Fibe. I get 932 Mbps on the home network side, but the modem actually gets 1.29 Gbps.

According to the installer technician, the account for my Gigabit service is provisioned for 1.4 Gbps. I'm not sure why it's provisioned so high, since Gigabit Ethernet usually maxes out around 940 Mbps anyway, or 932 in my case.

It seems unlimited plans are much more common from Bell these days than they were a couple of years ago. In my neighbourhood they were pushing unlimited for everything 50 Mbps and up: 50/10, 50/50, 150/50, 300/100, and 1000/100 (which is what I have).
Eug is offline  
post #27 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-02-25, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eug View Post
According to the installer technician, the account for my Gigabit service is provisioned for 1.4 Gbps. I'm not sure why it's provisioned so high, since Gigabit Ethernet usually maxes out around 940 Mbps anyway, or 932 in my case.
The wired ports are gigabit ports, but if you use more than 1 port, the combined traffic for all devices can exceed 1 gigabit.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #28 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-04-04, 12:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Using Apple TV 4 in place of a Bell wireless unit

Bell has made an App available for the Apple TV so you can use it to stream Fibe TV to your TV.

It appears to work ok but not all subscribed channels are available. You cannot use it to stream recorded programs.

Since the App became available, streaming of recorded content function says coming soon. It has been several months and it is still not available. To me coming soon means a couple of weeks at the most.

So the question is, is the delay a technical issue or do they need to get approval from content owners to proceed.

I noticed that Rogers Sports Net is one of channels unavailable for streaming.

I already had an Apple TV so it's not that big a deal for me.

Wonder how people who bought an Apple TV in place of renting a wireless unit from Bell feel about this situation?

Last edited by 57; 2017-04-04 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Moved To Existing Thread
techwjd is offline  
post #29 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-04-04, 04:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,054
Personally I prefer Bell's box than Apple Tv4. It is a lot easier to use, faster and it has more options. Hate swiping thumb all the time to change channels.

Last edited by bev fan; 2017-04-04 at 06:44 PM.
bev fan is online now  
post #30 of 62 (permalink) Old 2017-07-22, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 53
Two weeks ago I picked up an Apple TV for watching FibeTV outside in my gazebo... like bev fan, I prefer the STB for many reasons. My biggest beef with Apple TV is its remote control, not the easiest to get use to. Would of also like to have the replay option. I tried to find if there is an android app as a substitute to the Apple TV remote control but not luck. Sorry to all you Apple Lovers, one star for ease of use. I prefer the ROKU remote control but Fibe TV is still not available for this box. Last month I sent an email directly to Bell's Executive office to push for more compatible streaming boxes for their FibeTV... they replied that they are looking at other platforms...😎
control is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome