Fibe TV Picture Quality Issues - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
@jphccfc : You may wish to try turning the sharpness setting on your TV down somewhat (or a lot) and it may help with the halos, stair-stepping, macroblocking, etc.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...-new-hdtv.html

Is the original programming available in HD? Many of the programmes we get from Europe are SD (576i) or similar... I've seen a lot of this on (the little) soccer (I've seen) or other TV from Europe that's not HD to begin with... Other people would have more insight than I, since I don't watch soccer myself.
I was actually watching it on the HD channel
jphccfc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 04:57 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
Yeah, but if the original material is SD, you could be watching it on a 4K channel and there would still be issues. Garbage in, garbage out.

Not everything on HD channels is HD to begin with, so any SD material is just upconverted. Not only that, but Fibe sends all the channels (that are not OD or 4K) as 720P to your box.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...v-formats.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #93 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 05:25 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 193
This thread is consistent with my feeling that the hardware is light years ahead of the available source material.

When 4K television came out, I remember scratching my head that the source material that I watched still hadn't caught up to 1080p hardware. Everything was transmitted as 720p, except for a few on-demand 1080p movies, and even some of those were suspect.

I could go into Best Buy and watch 4K in all its glory, fed by a proper 4K loop, and sure, it's fantastic. But that not the reality. The reality is poor consumers with nice 4K TV's watching 720p compressed sources, at best.

What happened to 1080p? Why were the sources never upgraded to offer everything we watch in 1080p, so we could take advantage of our nice 1080p TV's? It never happened.

I can load a 1080p Blu-Ray disc into my player at home and it produces jaw dropping clarity on my 1080p television. A lot better than any compressed 720p source fed to a new 4K television.

All this new 4K hardware is basically a money maker for manufacturers. It does little to nothing for the consumer in my opinion.

elyk
elyk is online now  
 
post #94 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 06:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,654
Bell Fibe

Yes I agree Bell Fibe has poor picture quality compared to a Blue-Ray or Netflix.They need to step up to compete.I wish they had just stepped up all channels 1080p instead of just offering a sports feed in 4K.Is it time to drop SD duplication ?? The STB can handle conversion down for an analog TV.

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .
rob50312 is offline  
post #95 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 06:34 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by elyk View Post
What happened to 1080p?
1080i is very easily deinterlaced to 1080P for 1080P TVs, or 4K for 4K TVs.

1080P requires a lot more bandwidth than 1080i (for OTA and "broadcast"), for very little improvement in PQ. Yes, BDs and 1080P from OTT has better PQ, but often because there's more bandwidth in the material "broadcast/sent to the TV".

Now, when Bell takes 1080i and downconverts it to 720P, then the user has the box set at something other than 720P, then the TV may upconvert again, that's not good.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #96 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 07:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,654
So why is the source material sent out of less quality/bandwidth then Netflix.A 5MPS feed from Netflix is far better then a Bell Fibe channel showing the same movie.Even some OTA channels are better then Bell fibe.

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .
rob50312 is offline  
post #97 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 07:41 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 193
So if they can't even transmit proper 1080p to my 1080p television, why would anyone need a 4K television?

elyk
elyk is online now  
post #98 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 07:47 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
A 5MPS feed from Netflix is far better then a Bell Fibe channel showing the same movie.Even some OTA channels are better then Bell fibe.
The compression type of the various streams varies, so it's not simply a matter of comparing bitrates. Of course OTA is better than Fibe, the bitrate is significantly higher and there's no conversion of the signal. You'll find though that some of the Netflix/YouTube material is higher than 5Mbps, with some 4K material approaching 100 Mbps.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #99 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 07:54 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by elyk View Post
...why would anyone need a 4K television?
In many cases in the larger sizes, that's all that's available now. "Need" of course is relative, perhaps more to do with advertizing and "want", than "need".

I can tell you though, that my 4K TV has superior picture quality to my 1080P plasma from 8-10 years ago. I wasn't expecting it to be significantly better, but it is. I have absolutely no macroblocking or stairstepping or halos after I properly optimized my TV. The writing on CP24, for example (which is 1080i input to my Rogers PVR), I can stand a foot away from my 75" screen and see no artifacts whatsoever. Rogers does send the signals through to my box without downcoverting.

When I was performing optimizations for 10 years, almost everyone who switched to Fibe from Rogers Ontario could see the poorer picture quality. However, many people were willing to put up with it for the "superior" IPG/features/interface, etc. Each provider has advantages and disadvantages.

Of course, with a 4K TV you can stream 4K which is fantastic, as well as tune into the select few 4K channels.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #100 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-08, 08:30 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: derry + winston Mississauga
Posts: 1,654
So why cant Bell improve their picture quality ??? With gigabyte speeds available some channels look worse than even a good DVD.

Attic CM 4248 at Buffalo,M4 at Buffalo.VHF yagis at Toronto .
rob50312 is offline  
post #101 of 101 (permalink) Old 2018-04-09, 12:20 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
So why cant Bell improve their picture quality ???
They could, but it would cost (a lot of) money and they'd (Fibe) have to change their infrastructure completely. Most people probably are "happy enough" with the 720P picture. There are lots of threads regarding Bell PQ...

As for Bell Sat, who currently supply the signals to Fibe, they're not going to pay the additional money for additional satellite space on a "dying business".

People who want better quality and have access to high speed, unlimited internet can go OTT (streaming) for some of their programming.

Edit: One more comment I'd like to make is that a good 720P signal can look very good on a properly optimized TV.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome