Fibe TV Picture Quality Issues - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 02:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Fibe doesnt get 1080i? Are you sure about only 720p to the STB? Anyone else can confirm this?
Traktion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 04:25 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
Confirmed. See post 4 and the link there. (other than OD, mentioned below)

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #18 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-02, 05:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Question

I can't comment on all the channels but their On Demand some movies are in 1080i or is it 1080P

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
 
post #19 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-03, 09:41 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 342
There are a lot of movies in 1080p. You can keep it at 720p and switch to 1080p when you want to watch at that resolution. I just keep it at 1080p.
betterthancable is offline  
post #20 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-21, 11:51 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by 57 View Post
Confirmed. See post 4 and the link there. (other than OD, mentioned below)
You are the same guy who posted this info in the other thread, do you have any proof of this?
Traktion is offline  
post #21 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-21, 01:17 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
The "proof" is in the form of feedback from forum members who have measured the input signals to their STBs, as well as industry insiders and Bell insider knowledge regarding their satellite signals. See the FAQ on Formats below:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/30-5...v-formats.html

Quote:
Bell/Telus

The latest information we have, is that Bell (Sat) is converting all of the channels to 720P to save bandwidth. Bell Fibe, Bell Aliant, as well as Telus Sat and Optik get (most/all of) their signals from Bell - some (local area channels) may be direct from the "broadcaster".
Since they are short on bandwidth, there is no reason to believe they switched back to 1080i for some channels that broadcast 1080i since that takes additional bandwidth. Of course the channels that are listed as broadcasting in 720P in the first part of the FAQ would not be changed by Bell to 1080i.

So, the only programming that isn't 720P is programming that is OD, or the occasional local channel that the providers listed above may receive directly rather than through Bell Sat, and transmit as 1080i. Until someone disproves the above information gathered over the years, we will maintain that Bell non-OD is 720P.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #22 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-22, 05:26 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: saint-amable,qc
Posts: 65
Have finally tried 720p again and everything is fine... can't say that the channel switching is faster but I guess the pvr is not converting the signal anymore.
PierreRanger is offline  
post #23 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-31, 01:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
When I moved 2 years ago, Bell had FTTH in my new area but I continued on with Rogers for the first year, then changed to Bell last summer. Hands down I prefer the picture quality from Rogers. But also hands down I prefer the user experience with Bell's system (definitely not Bell as a company though!). On Fibe, gradients show easily noticeable banding, especially in darker scenes. It can actually get pretty bad.

57, I don't doubt that regular broadcast channels are sent as 720p but Bell does advertise some PPV material as 1080p so if you set your output to 720p, you'll never "benefit" from these 1080p broadcasts (benefit in quotes as I have no proof there is any benefit, and I've watched at least one move in "1080p")
JohnnyG is offline  
post #24 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-07-31, 02:30 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
Welcome back @JohnnyG . I respect your opinion and you're correct that you'd need to set the output for 1080P if you wish to benefit from 1080P OD programming. It probably doesn't matter much if you use 1080P or 720P for regular TV programming, but it's probably best not to use 1080i.

One of the main questions in this thread is "what is the incoming signal to the STB" and that's 720P for regular channels and can be 1080P for OD. There is little or no 1080i coming to the STB.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #25 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-02, 11:04 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 10,415
Thanks 57 I have always popped my head in here every once in a while, but don't post too often. Always nice to see some familiar names when I come back though!

I agree with what you're saying, although its difficult to say for sure that any given TV will upconvert better than the set-top will. As well, I've got the output from the Fibe box going into an Xbox One, and then the output of that going into my receiver, both of which have their own conversion in them, so I just put them all at 1080p and calibrate the final output. Not enough ROI on my time to test all the possible combinations!
JohnnyG is offline  
post #26 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-03, 09:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Question

The issue with PQ all depends on one's point of view?

The TV does make a difference.Depending on your make can make all the difference how you compare PQ between TV competitors(cheap vs expensive)?

An individuals eye site. Not all individuals have the exact same eye sight (Vision IE 20/20 etc)?

Type of set top box.

Sat,Cable IPTV,Antenna?

Your provider?

How its connected to your TV(HDMI vs S-Video vs Coax)?

There are many factors that make up PQ?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
post #27 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-04, 12:05 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 45
An interesting find from HighDef Forum.

These are the real uncompressed numbers of HD. Not broadcast but the true bandwidth it takes to move an HD signal around before it gets squeezed down for broadcast.

Raw uncompressed bandwidth of 1080i HD? - High Def Forum - Your High Definition Community & High Definition Resource

SD is
858 * 525 * 29.97 * 20 = 269,999,730 bits or 270Mbps

720 HD is
1650 * 750 * 59.94 * 20 = 1,483,515,000 or 1.4835Gbps

1080 30 frame HD is
2200 * 1125 * 29.97 * 20 = 1,483,515,000 or 1.4835Gbps

1080 60 frame HD is
2200 * 1125 * 59.94 * 20 = 2,967,030,000 or 2.967Gbps
BassLake is offline  
post #28 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-04, 12:18 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
Yes, but let's not confuse this thread which is discussing broadcast TV and also, more specifically, what Bell sends. For those circumstances (what Bell sends), the number are 1280x720; 1920x1080, where 720P will "save" about 10% of the bandwidth compared to 1080i, the reason Bell uses 720P for its transponders (and where Fibe gets all/most of its signals).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #29 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-04, 12:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 45
Sorry I thought it was about picture quality and compression.
BassLake is offline  
post #30 of 101 (permalink) Old 2015-08-04, 12:53 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,027
No problem, it was interesting, but I just wanted to clarify, again, what Bell is doing.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome