2 fibe receivers in one room, no 2nd remote address ? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 2016-05-01, 01:12 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
2 fibe receivers in one room, no 2nd remote address ?

Hi Guys, I finally installed a second tv to the basement, and I realized that I can not assign a second address to the second remote to control the second receiver, as I could with my older satellite boxes.
That is obviously a pain as both receivers would change at the same time.
Only thing I am doing now is turning one sideways and only get close to change it and leaving it at that..(Game on etc)

I get that this is the reason I primarily got it for,meaning putting it on a second channel and leaving it there on the background, but I was wondering if anyone has a way of improving that ? Any other way to control the 2 different receivers ? And no, I can't really place the second one anywhere else as my equipment and tvs, are in specific locations, wires through walls, and all that..

Thanks.
Elgreco3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 2016-05-01, 02:35 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,321
Similar thread but since it's Rogers, all of the suggestions may not apply. See posts 2, 3, 12 of the link below.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/203-...same-room.html

An interference cover/blocker, as mentioned in the above thread should work for the one STB you wish to leave on the same channel.

Also, check out the following post, useful for those new to the forum:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/14-h...ing-forum.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 2016-05-01, 03:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,726
Bell has a Fibe TV app for Apple and Android devices that allows you to control any of your TV STBs, among other things. It's not an infrared controller so line of sight doesn't matter.
Quote:
Turn your tablet and smartphone into a remote control. Play, pause, rewind, fast forward, change channels and access the guide
http://www.bell.ca/Fibe-TV/Fibe-TV-App

If that's not suitable, Motorola makes an RF remote that MTS and Sasktel sell if you have friends in Manitoba or Saskatchewan (I don't think Bell sells it.) You may also be able to find it on eBay since AT&T in the U.S. sell it.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome