Fibe TV 4K discussion - Page 9 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 107Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #121 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-24, 05:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,031
What I like to know is the area your in is able to get 4K signal? I got 50/10 for internet(actually getting 61/10) and FTTN? I don't want to spend $2,500+grand & 4K receiver if I can't get the signal?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-24, 06:28 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
So if there is $15 credit towards rental of the 4K receiver then you are really paying $5 a month. Why would anyone ever buy one for $599?
Newtvfanatic is offline  
post #123 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-24, 07:07 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgb66rgb View Post
Does this change for HDR models that will appear this year? Not referring to 2015 and older 4K models.
Boodaddy is offline  
 
post #124 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 12:44 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oakville Ontario Canada, Bell-FibeTV, VIP-2262, Toshiba 46XV540U
Posts: 253
What about High Dynamic Range on a 4K set? Assuming the signal supported it, would that affect the choice for picture quality between a 65" HD or 65" 4K?

(Please move to TV forum if best asked there)
Rich Chambers is offline  
post #125 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oakville Ontario Canada, Bell-FibeTV, VIP-2262, Toshiba 46XV540U
Posts: 253
Just got ANOTHER call from Bell asking if I want to buy the new 4K STB.

This must be a really big push. I told them $599 was way-to-expensive, she agreed with me, and said there will be rentals beginning end of February.....
Rich Chambers is offline  
post #126 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 02:57 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,567
@Rich Chambers did you sign up to be notified when 4k was available?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #127 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 02:59 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newtvfanatic View Post
So if there is $15 credit towards rental of the 4K receiver then you are really paying $5 a month. Why would anyone ever buy one for $599?
Does the $15 credit only apply for triple play customers?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #128 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 03:00 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCIBUS View Post
What I like to know is the area your in is able to get 4K signal? I got 50/10 for internet(actually getting 61/10) and FTTN? I don't want to spend $2,500+grand & 4K receiver if I can't get the signal?
Bell should be able to give you an official answer since they've launched in Ottawa.

My unofficial answer is probably yes, especially if you can get 4 HD streams right now.

My understanding is that 1 4k stream will use about the same bandwidth as 3 HD streams, so you can watch 1 4k and 1 HD stream or 4 HD streams.

I've heard Bell will be increasing the number of HD streams later this year, based on the maximum speed that the FTTN line can handle, so it will vary depending on your location. Since you getting more than 50/10, your line may have headroom for another 1 or 2 HD streams. If you do another speed test while recording 4 HD channels and still get 61/10, that will confirm you do have more bandwidth available. If not, it means that your profile is set up so that the internet uses the TV bandwidth when it's not used by a TV stream.

Whether you want to jump into 4k before HDR is standardized is probably a better question. Most people probably won't sit close enough to a small 4k TV (say 65") to see the difference between 4k and 1080, assuming you have normal 20/20 eyesight.

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2016-01-25 at 03:20 PM.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #129 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 05:51 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,031
Thanks for the info Dr Dave. I'll try what you said. As for eye sight well since I have a visual disability(glaucoma)it may not be as beneficial to me, but I stiil have the rest of the family to consider?

Is possible to change this profile(internet/TV) that you mentioned?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #130 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-25, 09:47 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,567
@MCIBUS officially, you aren't supposed to get much more than 50 Mbps, so if you have Bell change your line profile, that's what you may get. The line profile controls how much bandwidth is allocated to TV and how much to internet, but it can't make the line go any faster than it is physically capable, based on the length of copper wire from you home to the fibre optic node. Four HD streams use about 25 Mbps and you are on the 50 Mbps internet plan, so your line has at least 75 Mbps of bandwidth.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #131 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-26, 01:20 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,959
So, um, did anybody in this thread actually see the 4K broadcasts and care to comment on the experience, production values, etc? Was this the same broadcast as the HD version of the game?

This reminds me of the earliest days of HD, when those of us who were early adopters devoured every tidbit of information that was available, compared notes on the quality of HD material, tried to keep a running tab of the number of HD production trucks available, and we were absolutely enthralled when providers like Bell finally made HD broadcasts from live sporting events available on their omnibus demo channels. Early HD broadcasts of the Super Bowl and Winter Olympics used separate announcing crews and offered different camera angles than the standard broadcasts, usually to our consternation. Is early 4K following a similar arc?

Sadly, not even a whiff of 4K implementation yet here in Western Canada
Nels Stewart is offline  
post #132 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-26, 10:01 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Oakville Ontario Canada, Bell-FibeTV, VIP-2262, Toshiba 46XV540U
Posts: 253
Yes, Dr.Dave, I did. It only took 2-3 days before the calls started.

Next time I will try to ask what the rental fee is and what credits will be available.
Rich Chambers is offline  
post #133 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-26, 10:39 AM
tlb
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 102
What is this about 4 HD streams. I thought Fibe was limited to 3 HD and 1 SD. Has this changed ?
tlb is offline  
post #134 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-26, 10:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 31
@Nels Stewart . I can't comment on Bell specifically, but I did see it on Rogers on a 4k without HDR. I would say there was a big difference in quality which you really notice when you flip between the 4k broadcast and regular HD. This was the Raptors game in England. That being said, I'm sure the quality with Bell will be equivalent.
KevinK15 is offline  
post #135 of 566 (permalink) Old 2016-01-26, 02:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Chambers View Post
Yes, Dr.Dave, I did. It only took 2-3 days before the calls started.

Next time I will try to ask what the rental fee is and what credits will be available.
I live in Oakville and I received 2 phone calls from Bell yesterday as follow up to my web site form submission for 4k information. Neither person had any rental or credit information and said it would be late February before the units are available for rent. I told them the current $599 purchase price was not reasonable at all and they both agreed lol.
Rich Chambers likes this.
Newtvfanatic is offline  
Reply

Tags
4k link light wifi , 4k tv , app , bell , bell canada , fibe tv , pvr , youtube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome