Fibe TV 4K discussion - Page 37 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 105Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #541 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-07-30, 09:02 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 136
Question Second remote for the VIP5662w?

Does anyone know if it's possible to pair a second "slim" Bell remote with the VIP5662w? The Bell satellite receivers used UHF remotes, so a second (or third) remote would work. But I don't know if the VIP5662w allows pairing with a second Bluetooth remote. (The VIP5662w works with an IR remote, as my Harmony One works happily with it.)

Thanks
PaulH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-08-20, 09:20 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 136
Question VIP5662w Reboots

I've had Bell Fibe TV for about 2 months now. While the VIP5662w receiver works well, mine has a tendency to reboot unexpectedly. This can happen while watching live TV or one of the apps (YouTube), while recording, or even when idle. The reboots are sporadic. The VIP5662w might go 10 days without a reboot, then it could reboot itself 4 times in one day. (I know there's been a reboot when I'm not around, as the "Digital audio output" setting always reverts to stereo from surround sound after a reboot.) My receiver is hard-wired to the HH3000 via Cat6.

Has anyone else had this problem? Is there something wrong with my receiver, or is it just a fact of life with the VIP5662w?

Paul
PaulH is offline  
post #543 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-09-13, 09:03 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 136
I finally contacted Bell tech support about the rebooting problem. After trying (unsuccessfully) to re-install the firmware based on instructions from the tech, he decided that my receiver was defective and he ordered a replacement for me. The replacement arrived yesterday, and so far it's working as expected. The replacement included a new power supply (wall-wart) as well. While my PVR recordings and channel guide customizations were lost as they cannot be transferred to the new unit, the recording schedule was preserved.

Paul
Michael R. likes this.
PaulH is offline  
 
post #544 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-09-13, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
I have the VIP5662w and had to send mine back as it would freeze. I would get audio from the show I was watching but the video would freeze up and come back then freeze again. They sent a new one after failing on a firmware update and so far no issues (except I had to lose my PVR recordings in the swap). Has anyone else had the same issue?
mgut is offline  
post #545 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-09-13, 05:28 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 41
Any news on when the new 4k pvr is coming out? I'm picking up a 4k tv soon and not sure if I should call in to upgrade to the current 4k pvr or wait for the new one they announced?
llamasmurf is online now  
post #546 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-11-25, 12:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 1
4k broadcasts on Sportsnet. Leafs games. Please help

I cannot find an answer anywhere for this. Bell doesn't know. I've emailed Sportsnet, no answer.

Does anyone know how it is determined what games are broadcasted in 4k and which are just an upscaled feed of their HD channel?

TSN4k broadcasts vs Sportnet4k is not even in the same realm for Leaf games. Before I signed up for Bell Fibe, I was under the impression that all leaf games would be in 4k, but I haven't seen a single leaf game on Sportsnet broadcast in a true 4k res. Their blujays games do. Their raptors games do. Leaf are no where near that quality.

In the past I've seen Sportsnet release a schedule for their 4k games but there is nothing for this season. Have the stopped doing this? Has something happened? I'm pretty disappointed. I got cable for the first time in years hoping to watch sports in 4k with my new TV and virtually all of the games are just a normal feed on their 4k channel.

Last edited by 57; 2018-11-25 at 10:03 AM. Reason: Moved to existing Thread
Leafsfan8915 is offline  
post #547 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-11-25, 09:54 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,069
Start reading the following thread regarding what's on in 4K. The last few pages discuss how little is on in 4K and how to find out what is in 4K.

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/192...ml#post3064155

If you click the SN link I provided there you'll see that the next Leafs 4K game is Wednesday at 7:30PM.

The next one appears to be Raptors on Dec 3. I then clicked the dates and didn't find any other 4K programming up to Dec 24. I may have missed something, but it gives you an idea of how little 4K there is.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #548 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-11-25, 11:57 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,922
TSN posts a monthly schedule of the TSN 4K channel at
https://www.tsn.ca/tsn-4k-broadcast-schedule-1.900579

Bell posts a 4K sports schedule - scroll down to "sports in 4K" and click the link.
https://www.bell.ca/Fibe-TV/Promotions/4K-Receiver

It's up-to-date now, but sometimes they forget to update it. As an alternative, the MTS site seems to be regularly updated, but the time zone and channel numbers are different.
https://www.bellmts.ca/personal/tv/4k#

The next 2 NHL games on Sportsnet 4K after that are the Ottawa Senators on January 2 and 16. The Raptors games on Sportsnet One 4K are November 25, December 3, 5, 21, January 3, 6, 11.

As an additional note, this season's CFL games have been on TSN 4K, including today's Grey Cup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leafsfan8915 View Post
Does anyone know how it is determined what games are broadcasted in 4k and which are just an upscaled feed of their HD channel?
Only Sportsnet can answer that. Live productions are handled by Dome Productions (co-owned by Bell and Rogers) and will depend on the availability of mobile 4K production trucks. I know they have 2, but I'm not sure beyond that. Here's a 2016 article if you're interested:

https://www.sportsvideo.org/2016/01/...rts-in-canada/
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #549 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-26, 06:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
I'm still not able to use the Sony Remote and the VIP 5662W. Does anyone know of a good universal remote that would work with the Sony Bravia and the VIP5662? I'm not a fan of logitech, i've owned several and they crap out easily. Not worth the price in my opinion
Pmonte is offline  
post #550 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-26, 06:42 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,069
I was going to mention that the Harmony 650, 655 are on sale this week (Boxing Week) for around $50. I haven't encountered any issues during my decade of Optimization travels, but if you don't like, that's your prerogative.

The only Harmony I recall that people didn't like as much was the 880, which didn't have a good button feel since they were all flush, but that was years ago.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #551 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-26, 07:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 5
I had a couple of the Harmony One remotes and some of the older ones without the screen. The harmony kept crapping out (screen would stop working) and i had a lot of lag issues switching between devices. I was also told that the Arris VIP 5662 is bluetooth only and that its not compatible with a lot of universal remotes.
Pmonte is offline  
post #552 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-26, 09:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,930
The Harmony 650 is an good remote for the $70 or so that it usually goes for. At $50 it's a good deal. Logitech's other remotes are overpriced. The 880 had a bad button layout which probably explains its lack of popularity. The Harmony One has a great button layout but the build quality was not good. Until something better arrives, I'm buying the Harmony 650.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #553 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-26, 10:04 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,922
I copied the instructions for using the Harmony remote with the 4K PVR from the Bell site a couple of years ago. I haven't done that personally, but others confirm it works.

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/188...ml#post2846993

To program any Harmony model, use BELL FibeTV for the manufacturer and VIP5662W for the model.

I set up a Harmony 650? for a family and it lasted about 5 years of very heavy use before the buttons started acting up. They couldn't live without it because it controlled all their devices with a whole bunch of input sources, so they bought a new one. Because I like to tinker, I took the old one apart, cleaned the contacts and it works perfectly.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #554 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-27, 11:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
I now have a second 4k television. Is it possible to watch 4k programming on both tv's simultaneously? As well do I need to switch my standard wireless receiver for another 4k receiver? (I already have one 4k)
brentmac is offline  
post #555 of 556 (permalink) Old 2018-12-27, 12:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,930
HDMI 4K splitters are available. Beware of vendors advertising basic switches as splitters. They won't power 2 TVs at once. You probably want to search for something like "HDMI Splitter 4K 60HZ 4:4:4 1X2 Port powered." The ones I found cost about $50.
brentmac likes this.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Tags
4k link light wifi , 4k tv , app , bell , bell canada , fibe tv , pvr , youtube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome