Fibe TV 4K discussion - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 105Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-04, 05:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Question

I'm just skapical about investing $$$ in a 4K TV, Is here here to stay or is it "Fad" like 3D TV was?
TVNut01 likes this.

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-04, 06:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
It's not going anywhere, it's nothing like 3D was/is.
Deanoyyz likes this.
nitra is offline  
post #33 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-04, 10:54 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 50
Quote:
I'm just skapical about investing $$$ in a 4K TV, Is here here to stay or is it "Fad" like 3D TV was?
There are alot of unknowns right now that you may be missing out on if you just get a basic 4k TV, and its not just the spacial resolution of a TV that you have to take into account if you will be investing in Fibe 4K. Rogers announced that it will be broadcasting in High Dynamic Range, so one would expect Bell to as well. And this could be more important for the picture quality than resolution, especially for modest screen sizes and further sitting distance. So if you need to take advantage of this feature, you need a HDR compatible TV that has the latest HDMI 2.0a input. Additionally, if Bell goes with Dolby Vision HDR, than you may want a TV that can support that. With HDR comes 10 bit colour depth, so you would want a 10 bit panel. The other unknown is wider colour gamuts, will we be getting a wider colour space than Rec. 709, for instance DCI P3 with 4k programming, if so then that's another feature to be looking for in a tv.

Right now Im still just waiting for the dust to settle, before jumping into 4k
remush is offline  
 
post #34 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-05, 08:08 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 671
Last night the UHD Alliance released standards. http://http://m.highdefdigest.com/news/show/games/uhda/twentieth-century-fox/Warner_Bros./Samsung/launch-date/hdr/ultra-hd-premium-is-revealed-as-the-fullfeatured-uhd-standard-which-includes-the-uhd-blurays-that-will-launch-this-spring/28690
I can see the Rogers Logo on the right and they are listed as a member. http://http://www.uhdalliance.org/members/ Not seeing Bell. That being said, I also think it's best to wait before buying a new 4K TV as Rogers will certainly have minimum standards for their broadcasts.

Last edited by 57; 2016-01-05 at 09:42 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
Boodaddy is offline  
post #35 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 04:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,231
There was a very quick ad on the radio this morning (Q107) that I believe said 4k coming to FibeTV this month or next. Did anyone else hear it?

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is online now  
post #36 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 04:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
I didn't here the ad, but if your going to need new receivers, I can't see Bell offering 4K programming with out first releasing the box, and even then I would assuming there wouldn't be enough boxes out there to justify the programming cost of 4K programming for few boxes?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #37 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 04:32 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 69
Telus is rolling out Fibre Optic to all households in Edmonton for no cost...you can accept doing the rewiring but do not have to subscribe - which puuts the fee at something like $150 per mth more than the current highest internet speed.
TVNut01 is offline  
post #38 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 04:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
It's all marketing hype to be competitive with Rogers.Bell hasn't even mentioned HDR.
thenewdc is offline  
post #39 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 07:39 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 55
I also heard the advert on Chum fm.... Interesting that they are yet to publish any further information
jphccfc is online now  
post #40 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 07:44 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
What programming will they have other than an upcoming Leaf game that Rogers will be airing in 4K HDR.
thenewdc is offline  
post #41 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 09:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
Interesting that I called Bell about a week ago to ask why the Netflix picture using the Bell box was not 4K. Answer was that the existing box does not have the capability to handle 4K as well as recording multiple shows at the same time, so a new box would be needed in order for the Netflix show to be available in 4K. He had no idea when that might be. If Bell launches 4K in a small market because they have to roll out new boxes on staged basis that will mean their teaser ad saying January availability has been disingenuous to say the least!
Newtvfanatic is offline  
post #42 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 09:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,037
You should have asked why Bell is not providing Netflix in 1080P since their boxes could handle that.

Besides needing new boxes to run 4K, most likely customers will need fiberoptic cable not copper connected to their home and that is not gonna happen any time soon.
bev fan is offline  
post #43 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 10:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
I currently access Netflix through my Tv using Bell Internet. I told them the picture and sound were both far superior via that connection even on non 4K content versus through the Bell box. The Netflix picture through the Bell box is also out of focus for a few seconds when you first connect.

Last edited by 57; 2016-01-06 at 11:17 PM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
Newtvfanatic is offline  
post #44 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-06, 11:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by bev fan View Post
You should have asked why Bell is not providing Netflix in 1080P since their boxes could handle that.
That's a question that you should ask Netflix, since they wrote they app.

I'm sure when Netflix ports their app to the 4k box it will on par with the other 4k devices they run on. The hardware specs on the new Arris box are pretty impressive.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #45 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-07, 10:12 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,037
I do not think so. All my media players are able to play Netflix in 1080P. Why would Netflix write the app for Bell only capable of 720P picture quality, unless requested by Bell.

I think that majority of Bell fibe tv costumes are on FTTN connection so making the hardware capable of playing TV service , Netflix and Crave tv in 1080P would affect stability of the service
bev fan is offline  
Reply

Tags
4k link light wifi , 4k tv , app , bell , bell canada , fibe tv , pvr , youtube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome