Fibe TV 4K discussion - Page 29 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 107Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #421 of 559 (permalink) Old 2016-11-19, 11:17 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,192
@stevewireguy "pairing" involves connecting 2 Bluetooth devices. I looked up the PRO Control -- Pro24.r (v2) and it's not a Bluetooth remote, so you will have to follow the instructions for a universal remote. It looks like your remote can only be programmed by the dealer.
Dr.Dave is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 559 (permalink) Old 2016-11-19, 11:18 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,192
Using a learning universal remote with your 4K Whole Home PVR

1. Revert the Bluetooth Slim remote to IR mode. To do so, you will need to power off the 4K Whole Home PVR by unplugging the power cord.

To be compatible, third party universal remotes require command learning and/or direct code entry such as those from URC and One For All. Bell universal remotes such as the NOVA and MxV3 are not compatible with the 4K Whole Home PVR.

2. Using the universal remote and the instructions provided with it, program the remote to work with your 4K Whole Home PVR.

Ensure you PRESS and HOLD the buttons on the Bell Slim Bluetooth remote while teaching the commands to your universal remote.

3. Power on your 4K Whole Home PVR by inserting the power cord and ensure your TV is powered on.

4. Both the Bluetooth Slim remote and the universal remote can be used to operate the 4K Whole Home PVR.

Source: Using a learning universal remote with your 4K Whole Home PVR

Notes: This procedure should also work for Harmony remotes. You only need step 2 if your remote doesn't have a code for Arris VIP5662W.

EDIT: Other useful links:
How to pair your Bluetooth Slim remote with your 4K Whole Home PVR

Bluetooth Slim Remote: Complete List of How-tos and Tutorials from Bell

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2016-11-19 at 11:49 AM.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #423 of 559 (permalink) Old 2016-11-22, 09:38 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 5
Hi Chezbruce
Sorry for the late reply. After a week of trying everything under the sun including calling Sharp tech support, we returned the unit back to Costco. After some research we decided on Samsung UN75JU7100FXZC and purchased it 3 weeks ago. Could not be happier.

Cheers
Dr.Dave likes this.
Russkii is offline  
 
post #424 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-16, 11:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Fibe 4K PVR & Univerisal Remote

Hi everybody, I have a Sony 4K TV, Sony 4K AV Receiver and want to get a Logitech Harmony universal remote control to control all 3. Bell are telling me the 4K PVR will not work with anything but the Bell Bluetooth Remote. Anybody had any luck with a universal remote working with the 4K PVR.

Thanks
Kimber Clothing is offline  
post #425 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-18, 07:21 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 954
My Harmony One runs the 4K pvr just fine.
vmpv is offline  
post #426 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-18, 02:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Great thanks for letting me know.
Kimber Clothing is offline  
post #427 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 08:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 9
So I have had Bell Fibe 4k PVR since July and never have been satisfied with the picture quality for regular HD broadcasts. So last night I decided to connect my regular HD Box from my bedroom to the TV with the 4K box and the quality seems much better? I called Bell and they said that they could not find any issues and it may just be the upscaling from the 4K that softens the picture.

ANyone else have any experience with this? I am debating just downgrading the the regular HD PVR since there arent many 4k channels anyways at the moment.
mastermixer is offline  
post #428 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 09:57 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,192
Have you tried setting your 4K PVR to 1080p?
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #429 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 10:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 9
Yes... still looks soft and see a lot of colour banding. The regular HD receiver I have looks noticeably better.
mastermixer is offline  
post #430 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 02:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 5
Does anyone know if the Bluetooth can be disabled on the 4K PVR. I cannot get a universal remote to work with the pvr. I can get it to everything except the volume up and down. Bell are no help.
Kimber Clothing is offline  
post #431 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-01-24, 04:37 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,192
If the universal remote is able to control the Fibe TV menu and guide, then it is working as it should. You probably need to configure the remote to control the TV volume.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #432 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-02-07, 04:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
wireless 4k working?

Hi everybody, i had an install of Bell Fibe 4k PVR, with Gigabit internet and home phone.

the tech had trouble installing the 4k PVR and said wireless wasn't currently supported. He could not run a ethernet line to the 4k box, but eventually got it working with a powerline ethernet. Everything worked fine for about a month and then after a power failure, I lost all services (internet, phone, TV).

I had another tech come in and he switched out my Home Hub 3000, which seemed to be the problem. However, he could not get the 4k working with the power line. It seemed the HH3000 would continuously reboot when connected to the powerline. He mentioned that using power line isn't recommended as it hasn't been the most stable. In the end, he had to downgrade me from 4k to HD.

I'm somewhat disappointed as I had switched from rogers to bell, and I had no problems with Rogers 4k. I see some of you seem to have the wireless 4k working with Bell. Should I be able to get this working?
pod818 is offline  
post #433 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-02-07, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 954
I was surprised on my install to find they installed the 4k receiver via wireless.
I already had 1 wireless receiver but they insisted on switching out the VAP for some reason. I didn't upgrade the modem however and still have the original Sagemcom 2864 so perhaps that is the problem? I still have landline for phone...
vmpv is offline  
post #434 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-02-07, 05:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
so then it seems to be a problem with wireless 4k and the HH3000 perhaps
pod818 is offline  
post #435 of 559 (permalink) Old 2017-02-15, 09:48 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
I have my 4K receiver connected wirelessly to the 2000 modem via VAP. Bell continuously told me this could only be done with the 3000 modem, but the tech could not install the 300 modem last month as it was on technical issue hold so he made it happen with the 2000 modem.
Newtvfanatic is offline  
Reply

Tags
4k link light wifi , 4k tv , app , bell , bell canada , fibe tv , pvr , youtube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome