Fibe TV 4K discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 105Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 03:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
There are new boxes coming.... HEVC will be hardware based.

Can't go into further details, but the Ericsson boxes line up perfectly with expectations.
nitra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 03:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Assuming a new box comes out, i wish it has these features:

1) Displays time on front of receiver panel.
2) PVR can record more then 4 shows at a time(6-8 would be fine)
3) Has dual tuner to feed two TV's(PVR)
4) Has addressable remote(like Bell TV remote)
5) Has bright back lighted keys on remote for visual impaired users & dark time use.
6) Price be reasonable either to buy, rent or rent own.

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #18 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 03:48 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
Without Fibre to the Home they cant offer a PVR that can record up to 8 programs, not enough bandwidth.
thenewdc is offline  
 
post #19 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 05:04 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
Not correct, current boxes on business accounts can record 8 streams.
If there's not enough bandwidth, they can bond 2 connections.
nitra is offline  
post #20 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 07:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
Ya but it requires bonding. I can get 2 PVR's on 1 Rogers connection and record 16 different programs.
thenewdc is offline  
post #21 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-02, 07:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
And? That's Rogers, a totally different beast then Bell's IPTV offering.
If you're line is fast enough, and you have a business connection, current hardware has no issues with 8 streams.

I have a single line, not bonded and my Sync rate sits at 130 megs down, bonding is not required, but if you're at a distance, it can help.

Last edited by nitra; 2016-01-02 at 08:00 PM.
nitra is offline  
post #22 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 11:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
These new boxes look interesting.. VIP5602 IP Set-Top Box | ARRIS it appears coax input / HPNA support is being dropped? I hope not.. my 2262 PVR is in the basement family room connected via existing coax to the Home Hub 2000 on the second floor. Perhaps the new 5652 PVR doesn't need a hardwire connection and uses AC wi-fi? VAP3400 Wireless Video Access Point | ARRIS
Deanoyyz is offline  
post #23 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 02:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Question

Nice boxes but I thought Bell uses Motoral Boxes?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #24 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 02:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Deanoyyz is offline  
post #25 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 03:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Thanks Dr Dave So I guess all of Bell's receiversnow say Arris instead of Motorak even the 2262's PVR's & HD Receivers assuming they no longer have Motoral receivers instock?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #26 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 205
Those do look like nice boxes - if that's what they are going with. Wireless AC is quite capable of a a lot. It has limited range, but that's nothing that a few additional AP's or extenders couldn't fix for larger homes. It's probably the trend most vendors will be pushing going forward. It just makes things usually a lot easier from a cabling perspective. I'll stick to my CAT6 though.

Panasonic TC32LX60 | Denon AVR890 | Klipsch RB-61 / RC-10 / RW-10D | Motorola VIP 1232 (Bell Fibe)
secotton is offline  
post #27 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 05:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
Bell won't have SHOMI though, and they have promised 100 hours of 4K Content to start.
thenewdc is offline  
post #28 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 05:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,037
But Bell has Netflix on their boxes which has way more 4K content than Shomi.
bev fan is offline  
post #29 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-03, 08:17 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2,152
4K reminds me of HDTV all over again... back in 2004 I bought an HD set but there was little content or channels in HD at that time. The only channel running 24/7 in HD was PBS from buffalo. NBC had some shows in HD including the 2004 Olympics and the that was my main reason for getting an HD set at that time. Everyone came over to see the 2004 Olympics in HD.

In 1968 my father bought a 28 inch color TV. It was the first color TV on our street and all the neighbors kept coming over to see it... and we were party central for the 68 Super Bowl II.
HDTV101 is offline  
post #30 of 556 (permalink) Old 2016-01-04, 04:48 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 188
I'm a bit confused by the 4K popularity, since we really haven't come to terms with 1080P yet.

Certainly all the shows I watch on FIBE TMN, sports networks, and basic network television is all transmitted in 720P. I realize there are a handful of On-Demand shows that are in 1080P, but it sure ain't mainstream. It's an anomaly.

I anticipated in a few years that eventually 1080P would migrate to all channels on FIBE, and then once that was old hat, then perhaps a new format would emerge.

Nope, we bypassed 1080P and have a new 4K display technology for you to waste your money on, even though the source information hasn't even caught up to the present 1080P technology.

Oy vey.

elyk
elyk is online now  
Reply

Tags
4k link light wifi , 4k tv , app , bell , bell canada , fibe tv , pvr , youtube

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome