Internet Fibe 15 (without Fibe TV) - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-05-10, 06:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 81
Internet Fibe 15 (without Fibe TV)

Hi,
Bell installed fiber optical cable near my house (15ft or 5 meter) for Fibe service !|

Note: I don't want TV Fibe, I prefer my satelitte receiver !

1- If I choose Internet Fibe 15, does Bell will install a fiber optical cable until my house or another type cable ?
2 - Does this modem allow me to change my IP when I want as my ADSL modem can ?
3 - What is a response time (as PING) to nearest router inside Netwok Bell ?

Thanks
nm55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-05-11, 12:53 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
Although you can now get FibeTV without internet - via a circuitous subscription/cancellation procedure, I'm not sure if you can get Fibe Internet without TV. They are really designed to be used together.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=136086

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-05-11, 01:33 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 81
I asked to one person of Bell, and said me that I can keep Bell satelite for my TV !
But, often, these person say many error ! I will ask again to another person to be sure !

Last edited by 57; 2015-05-11 at 10:48 AM. Reason: Unnecessary Quote Removed
nm55 is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-05-11, 10:57 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,829
You can definitely get Fibe internet without TV. Fibe is Bell's brand name for high-speed internet.

You will get either fibre to the home (FTTH) or fibre to the node (FTTN) depending on the technology deployed in your area, regardless of the speed you choose.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2015-05-11, 11:00 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,333
Sorry about the incorrect information in my previous post. I thought that TV and internet were "tied together" with Fibe unless you applied for both and then called retentions to remove one. I see that getting Fibe TV by itself may require the additional effort, but getting Fibe Internet by itself (if it's available in your area) is no problem.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome