How to wake up a Bell Box automatically, without pressing the select key - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-18, 10:34 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
How to wake up a Bell Box automatically, without pressing the select key

Is there a way I can automatically wake-up a Bell box that is in stand-by mode (ie. after 4 hours of inactivity), without pressing the Select key manually?

Say I go to sleep mid-night and I want the Box to wake-up automatically at 7AM, because my TV has a timer for a morning wake-up at 7AM. Without the bell box feed, my TV will show the blue press select button screen at 7 am without any sound, and thus cannot Wake me up from the bed.

I have tried to connect a timer to the power of the bell box to on/off reset it at 6:50am. But, to my surprise, after reboot completed, the bell box will stay at stand-by mode without the green power-on light up (ie. remain at the last status-quo before it is reboot).

Any idea? Thanks.
torontoguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-18, 11:20 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
No.

You might be able to setup a Logitech programmable remote to press the select key once in a while, but what you're asking for can't be done otherwise.
nitra is offline  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-19, 07:53 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 615
Why not just set a normal alarm to wake yourself up like everyone else does?
ticky is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-19, 08:57 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,634
to answer your question, yes you can also use the "POWER" key instead of the "Select/Ok" button to wake up the receiver. As for HOW to turn it on in your situation, i would have no idea, sorry man.
17671 is offline  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-19, 04:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,419
A lot of PVRs and receivers have wake up timers. Can the Fibe TV boxes not do this? If not, then the suggestion of using a programmable remote to turn it on is an option. Another way may be to set the TV to tune into another source, like local OTA station, on wake up.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-19, 05:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
These systems are locked down to the provider, and have no customization capability. Besides a 3rd party remote, you could use a phone (I have a Samsung Galaxy S4) which has an infrared emitter and there are apps that make your phone a remote control. However, I'm not sure if these apps have a feature that would do this.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-20, 06:29 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 826
What if you were to set up an auto-tune timer for 7 am so it will wake up and tune to the channel in the timer?
congo is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-01-20, 02:21 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 757
If this is anything like MTS Ultimate TV, it's a microMicrosoft Mediaroom platform and does not have an autotune feature.

Authorized Service Provider (Contractor) for MTS Allstream. Any views expressed are my own.
Macman is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-01, 02:35 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by nitra View Post
No.

You might be able to setup a Logitech programmable remote to press the select key once in a while, but what you're asking for can't be done otherwise.
Thanks to Mr Nitra's reply (post #2) above. I checked Logitech website and there are many more than 10 models of remotes available, some cheaper and some real expensive. Can someone recommend which cheaper one can simply work the way out as I posted (ie. be able to program to auto press the Select key once in a while, say every 4 hours)? I do not need it to work any other functions eg to control several devices etc. Just simply to keep the Bell STB on, without going into stand-by mode after 4 hours.
torontoguy is offline  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-01, 02:42 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
I'll make sure this will work in the morning and reply back.
nitra is offline  
post #11 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-01, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 188
It's an IP enabled device. Doesn't it have Wake on Lan?
Wetware is offline  
post #12 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-01, 11:34 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,796
Wake on LAN isn't a solution since the box is "awake". It just isn't requesting any data from the head-end, since no one is watching it.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #13 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-01, 05:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
Won't work.
It is possible to override and add a delay, but it does very weird thing, keys get out of sync etc.

As an FYI, part of the reason for this, when the TV is active, it's data transferred over the network, if they add a timeout, it keeps traffic down.
nitra is offline  
post #14 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-03, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
How about programming to press the "Vol+" button every other 4 hours (my STB is already at maximum volume) so as to keep the Bell STB from going into standby? Is this easier and do-able?
torontoguy is offline  
post #15 of 15 (permalink) Old 2015-03-03, 01:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,419
How to do this is quite evident. The main issue now is to identify a remote control or similar device (IR blaster?) that can be programmed to send a keypress every few hours.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome