ExpressVu for Condos - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 83 (permalink) Old 2008-11-29, 12:24 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Longueuil, South Shore of Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 2,654
If he installs a dish on his balcony he would therefore have a regular, not MDU account

MDU are those larger dish, installed on the roof that feeds big apartement bulding
If he installs a dish on his balcony it would be a regular dish, therefore he would have the regular Bell TV service, not MDU

I answer based on what I learned when I was working at BEV...it's possible that somethings have changed since then
Ex Agent EV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 83 (permalink) Old 2008-11-29, 01:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Whilst you are technically correct Ex Agent that MDU are "Larger" Dish's, they are normally 75cm as opposed to the 51cm for SFU (Single Family Unit) I know of several buildings that are using 51cm Dish's and these are feeding a "Backbone" in the buildings, it is all about the Singal To Noise Ratio.

The other point is that without a Balcony he is stuck with the VDSL that is inside the building.
Pinza is offline  
post #63 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 04:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 11
confused!

I live in a condo having bell express vu digital service. I am planning to upgrade to hdtv, when I called bell the first time, he asked me to check with the building management whether hdtv is enabled, did speak to management today and he(mgmt) informs me that this is the first time he is hearing this type of question...again called bell, bell says the building is having some optic cable and do not have a dish at the terrace?...the building is fairly new(around 3/4 years)..should i call bell again? are my hopes of watching hdtv dashed?
quest is offline  
 
post #64 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 05:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Sounds like you could have iPTV.

If you can give me your Post Code I will look into it for you. Send a PM if you do not want to put the Post Code on the Forum.
Pinza is offline  
post #65 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 05:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 11
L5B 4M2
I do have a balcony, but we are not allowed to install any satellite dish in balcony, moreover it faces NW,which I believe is not a good location
quest is offline  
post #66 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 05:18 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
You do have Bell Tv in the building but it is VDSL, that means NO HD for you......Also means no PVR.

Sorry.
Pinza is offline  
post #67 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 05:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 11
can i move to rogers? (i am on contract with bell for 2 years)
quest is offline  
post #68 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-01-13, 05:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Sorry that is something I cannot answer for you.

Did you just move into the building.?
Pinza is offline  
post #69 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 12:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Bell TV over telephone lines for condos

We are moving from our house to a condo and we are not allowed to put a dish on the balacony. I have read on the bell site under condo TV that Bell has the ability to provide programing through the bell land line. I can not find any info on this as a working technology, even though it was announced in 2004. Is anyone here familiar with this technology?
Thanks
naysmitj is offline  
post #70 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 06:11 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 826
You could call Bell and ask about it but I'm pretty sure the whole condo complex has to be set up for this type of distribution. It is not a service you can have installed on your own. My sister's-in-law father had this service at his condo. I don't think HD was available though but that was a while back.

Congo

Panny TC-P60GT50, Vizio SB3651-E6 Soundbar, Harmony One, Android Box
congo is offline  
post #71 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-02-21, 11:01 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,949
There are numerous threads here on the condo service. To see if your building is wired for this service go here.
www.connectyourspace.com

Bell is also doing a beta rollout of their new IPTV service with more advanced features. To see if you're eligible you can call this number.
entertainment.bell.ca

There is also this thread discussing the new service.
www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?p=795071
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #72 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-03-30, 10:33 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 93
BellTV Condo

Anyone know how this works? Bell has sent out tons of flyers that our building works (with no dish???)

I'm more confused than anything else how it can work without a dish.
What is it using? Cable outlet? Phone line?
kav2001c is offline  
post #73 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-03-31, 07:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Are you sure that a Dish has NOT been installed.?

Otherwise it will be a Fibre cable into the basement (Telephone Room) and from there it will connect to the existing Telephone Lines.
Pinza is offline  
post #74 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-03-31, 09:01 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 196
Bell installed a dish on the roof of our condo building a month or two ago, which is able to serve Bell TV to everyone in the building with full HD service.

Works the same as having your own dish as far as I can tell, the receiver is telling me the signal strength is at 96 and the HD seems to be piping across just fine.
OldScotch is offline  
post #75 of 83 (permalink) Old 2009-03-31, 05:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Good. That is how it is suppossed to be.
Pinza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome