Fibe Availability Discussions - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 98 (permalink) Old 2017-08-11, 09:14 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 449
I'm frustrated with how slow it is taking bell to put fiber lines in my area. We have been "slated" for fiber the last year and yet nothing has happened. Does anyone know if Amherstburg, more specifically the Kingsbridge subdivision will be outfitted with fiber anytime soon?
cptcarter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 98 (permalink) Old 2017-08-11, 03:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptcarter View Post
What part of Windsor are you in?
I live around Central and Tecumseh....just a couple of blocks north of Tecumseh. The card I received was from Bell but the contractor doing their work is a name I have seen before and have seen doing work in Windsor on a regular basis...but darned if I can remember it. And the card specified Fiber Optic and I believe it mentioned Fiber to the home....but as was mentioned prior...until it is in it could mean anything. And thanks for all the information in the above post. Cogeco is our local cable company and their promotion right now is hard to beat...but I am curious to see if Bell pushes hard once fibe is in.
JJOcean is offline  
post #93 of 98 (permalink) Old 2017-12-18, 03:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 20
Bell fibe 100/10 with Fibe TV

I currently have bell fibe tv, internet (50/10) and home phone. My neighbours across the street are able to get internet 100/10 with their tv service. the highest speed I can get with internet and TV is only 50/10 with dual bonding. I assume this could be related to the cable run on the street? I was told I can get 100/10 but No TV service.

Thanks
Matt
matdaj is offline  
 
post #94 of 98 (permalink) Old 2017-12-18, 05:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,019
Question

Not sure where you live, but I had 50/10 and upgraded to 100/10 double bonded -Internet,Home phone & Fibe TV. So it possible you can gewt it. I'm in a older section of the city and I got it, so maybe you can to?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is online now  
post #95 of 98 (permalink) Old 2018-04-05, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 449
Amherstburg, ON Fiber Build

Hey Guys,

Living in Amherstburg, in an area with no cable, we are stuck with very slow 2 mbps DSL. Prior to the new year, Bell along with the town announced that every home and farm in Amherstburg will be fitted with fiber to the home! Living in the Kingsbridge subdivision I haven't seen any work going on however checking with the mayor and with Bell's website, homes behind me that are a year or so old (that were fit with fiber) have access to ftth!!

I figured that if there are enough people that use DH from A'burg, we could all be spotters and report any activity that we see from bell.
cptcarter is offline  
post #96 of 98 (permalink) Old 2018-06-15, 02:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by cptcarter View Post
Hey Guys,

Living in Amherstburg, in an area with no cable....
They've been installing FTTH in the Pointe West subdivision in Amherstburg. It's been pretty steady work for the past 1-2 months in that subdivision with some days being busier than others. Crews have been running the conduit and pulling the fibre lines. You can see coils of fibre on the sides of some of the houses as well. Hopefully they'll get to Golfview and the 'older' parts of Kingsbridge soon. I feel your pain!

Last edited by 57; 2018-06-15 at 03:11 PM. Reason: QS
koryrenaud is offline  
post #97 of 98 (permalink) Old 2018-07-18, 02:38 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 449
A bell guy just came to my door yesterday to inform me that installation of ftth will be starting soon! FINALLY! I recently moved over from dsl to Lime Telenet, which offers 20mbps.....not fibe speeds but much butter then dsl. Their speeds are consistent and I'm happy with the service, I only wish I switched over earlier. However, once bell finishes fiber here, I will be making the switch!
Grimspoon likes this.
cptcarter is offline  
post #98 of 98 (permalink) Old 2018-08-18, 06:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
cptcarter,

Has there been any movement on the installation of ftth in Kingsbridge neighborhood? I'm moving in next week and am currently faced with Lime Telnet as the best option. Currently on a 120Mbps with Cogeco in LaSalle so leaving that for Lime is...upsetting.

Want to jump on fibe as soon as possible.
Grimspoon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome